Steve G.

CALL TO ARMS: LNC trying to censure Angela Keaton for writing on blogs

In Activism, Constitutional Rights, Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics 2008, Politics on September 6, 2008 at 5:46 pm

I just received a call from Angela Keaton, and the LNC is attempting as I write this to censure her for writing on the blogs.

I heard their bullying of her for myself, with my own two ears (well, one ear, it was on the phone).  They clearly didn’t want me to hear what was going on, but as she openly pointed out to them, she needs to protect herself.

Why should the LNC care what Angela Keaton does, unless of course they really are hiding something as many have suggested?

If Angela Keaton is censured for exercising her First Amendment rights in the so-called “Party of Principle”, the LP should be censured by its members.  No money, no support for the Gestapo organization that it has become.

I will keep readers updated.

  1. Tell them from me that if they don’t stop bullying Ms. Keaton (or any other LNC member) I will not send any more money. I don’t send much, but they don’t have much.

  2. I figured they’d try this sooner or later.

    Can’t have someone questioning The Powers That Be, can we?

  3. I’m guessing Mr. Starr and Mr. Redpath?? Only whiners with something to hide, don’t want someone telling the people who elected them, what is going on in a public meeting.
    This is better than T.V.

  4. AK just said Sullentrup wants her kicked off LNC

  5. […] reports hearing with her “own two ears (well, one ear, it was on the phone)” the LNC […]

  6. “Sullentrup, Flood, Starr, Karlan voted to remove from the room.”

  7. Sullentrup, Flood, Starr, Karlan voted to remove me from the room. It failed.

    The motion is to have me removed.

    Sullentrup made a scene regarding my calling Knapp.

    Referred to me as “swamp.” Or something. MO has weird terms.

  8. “Called Knapp. Sullentrup told the room that he was a felon.”

  9. Good show.

    Now we have a list of the four LNC members who need to have a vigorous campaign for their replacement organized against them for the next regional elections, don’t we?

  10. Here, Brian Miller and I agree.

    This is how you know how evil the criminal gang is.

  11. AK’s updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/AngelaKeaton

    Her email is slow so I’ll try to keep up. And I was about to go back to bed… stupid weekend night job.

  12. Hawkridge/Ruwart are providing some intelligent alternatives. And yes, the Admiral is cute.Kraus is pissed about everything-Years of abuse. 5 minutes ago from web

    Kraus is right. We do treat employees harshly. 3 minutes ago from web

    Hawkridge wants Starr and me to read a book called “Why Marriages Fail.” Starr is going to have to buy one hell of ring. 3 minutes ago from web

    Internet connection is barely moving so I can’t really use hotmail. P.O., please keep updating. Wrights says, “going to war doesn’t work.” 2 minutes ago from web

    Some body tell G.E. that someone printed it off IPR. They are reading that site. Keep it up! less than 20 seconds ago from web

  13. “The charges that I violated ExSession and that I sexually violated two employees. Yes, you read that right.”

  14. hmm, Sullentrup will have to find a new webmaster. Attacking Angela is a mistake.

  15. The charges that I violated ExSession and that I sexually violated two employees.

    That would be libel, and if printed in the records of the meeting, slander.

    The comments about Mr. Knapp also strike me as legally actionable.

  16. If there is anything I can do, PLEASE call/email/post.

    Sending good luck wishes.

    Can we convince Mary or Lee to add their perspective?

    Who are Hawkridge and the Admiral?

  17. AK: “Starr: Motion to direct Angela Keaton to apologize two the sexually violated employees. Wrights and Hawkridge think this is merely muscle flexing.”

  18. Ooops, make that “that would be slander, and if printed in the records of the meeting, libel.”

    Need coffee.

  19. Who are Hawkridge and the Admiral?

    Rachel Hawkridge and Admiral Colley, both members of the LNC.

  20. The charges that I violated ExSession and that I sexually violated two employees. Yes, you read that right.”

    Buahahaha. If that means you walked by them in one of your usual devastating outfits then they need to get a good screw.

  21. AK: “I noted that Casey Hanson and Austin Petersen are attractive. That’s a problem.”

  22. Mr. Sullentrup is technically incorrect as to my status with the criminal justice system — and he knows it. Details on request.

    Our personal disagreements aside, I’ve always supported Sullentrup as secretary because he’s a good, well, secretary. Unfortunately, the fact that he is now fully and flagrantly aligned with the Stalinist Destroy-the-party-at-all-costs faction now outweighs that consideration. He needs to go.

  23. AK: “I spoke about something in open session that was said in open session.”

  24. Mr. Sullentrup is technically incorrect as to my status with the criminal justice system

    Then you need to initiate a civil lawsuit against him and the LNC Inc. for defamation.

    False accusations of felony status are a serious form of damage and a fully actionable tort.

    If it was me in your place, my attorney would be on the way to the courthouse right now.

  25. Ummm, Mike just raised the point that someone in the Starr chamber is probably reading this and using it to formulate new problems for Angela.

    This is not good.

    Be careful everyone.

    And to Aaron– Get a life. Ditto to M-whatever-his-name-is.

  26. I have no doubt the jokers are reading this.

    Tom, call your attorney.

  27. AK “Starr makes a very bizarre apology to me, very patronizing. I say nothing.”
    “I voted with the @ssholes. Why not? They’ve destroyed the party with the Barr/root.”
    “Dixon pisses off Ruwart by appointing her as the mediator b/t me and Starr. The look on her face on priceless.”

  28. Why is Mary mad about mediating? Is it she just wants to stay clear of conflict?

  29. AK “Wrights and Hawkridge want me to accept the apology. As long as M Carling in his life, there will never be peace. Can’t do it. Won’t.”
    “The Admiral says he is thrilled to discover that I have a sense of humor. Makes a speech about the First Amendment.”

  30. Brian,

    Note the word “technically.”

    In 2004, I accepted a plea bargain on charges of “felony non-support” (getting behind on my child support payments). The plea bargain included a suspended imposition of sentence — as long as I stay out of trouble for five years, no conviction is entered, and I am not a felon under Missouri law.

    Since I cultivate a gonzo/”maverick” image anyway, being accused of being a felon doesn’t necessarily damage me at all.

    Thing is, Sullentrup knows he’s incorrect, because he tried to have me removed from my county LP committee on the basis of me being a felon (he sent a letter to the Secretary of State, and probably doesn’t even know that I know that), and got told “bzzzt … wrong answer.”

    I try to cut Sully as much slack as possible. For one thing, there have been times when I was in the wrong and he was in the right. For another, he was hit by a car a few years ago, took a nasty knock on the head, and has been increasingly visibly mentally unstable ever since. And no, I’m not kidding.

  31. She probably thinks it’s a big waste because it never should have started in the first place…

  32. Note the word “technically.”

    That’s all that matters.

  33. just out of curiousity, who exactly would remove AK? Henchmen? Hotel security? D.C. police?

  34. I want them to read it. It will be much easier for them to drop this stupidity now, than it will be to clean up the mess they will leave behind if they remove an elected member of the LNC without the knowledge or consent of the people she represents.

  35. BTW, who is “M Carling”? Is this his name, “M”? Like in Bond movies?

  36. This has all of the makings of a best seller—-drama, deceit, name calling, sex and SECRETS!! Woops–that line has been used before…..ask Mr. Wrights.

  37. Starr would love to try because that’s the closest he’d ever get to touching her…

  38. Nothing new from AK in past 15 mins — things settling down?

  39. All I know Peter is that I managed to meet M in San Diego and he wouldn’t tell me what his name is. I don’t know why. It’s definitely a sore spot with him and I chose not to pursue it since I had a variety of issues on my plate at the time.

  40. Knapp: If someone is called a “felon”, it has certain connotations with regard to the allegations against them, than it would ever have if he had just told the truth and said it was a child support matter.

    Shame on Sullentrup. Shame on every damn one of them.

    I know exactly what Angela said about those two guys. Hint to LNC: nobody cares. Nobody. You used it as an excuse to remove someone who you find problematic, and we all see right through it for what it really is.

  41. I’m going to assume his name is “Mildred”.

  42. Peter, nobody knows. And we’ve asked nicely before, too.

  43. It’s definitely a sore spot with him and I chose not to pursue it

    Perhaps it’s time that changed?

  44. Peter,

    M Carling is this guy who used to be on the LNC. Yes, M is apparently really his first name.

    If you watched the LP convention on C-SPAN, or actually made it out there, Carling was the toad-looking creature up on the stage that kept walking up behind Bill Redpath, putting his hand up Redpath’s ass, and making Redpath’s mouth move.

  45. AK: “The Admiral believes in free speech.”

  46. Carling was the toad-looking creature up on the stage that kept walking up behind Bill Redpath, putting his hand up Redpath’s ass, and making Redpath’s mouth move

    I just snorted Cherry Coke Zero. Hard.

    Ow.

  47. I’ll back you too, Angela! Tell Aaron I am NOT on his side and he might be surprised that many of his past lovers won’t back him (whether he started me in the party or not!)

  48. The LNC has become more and more simultaneously shrill (“how DARE you question the ruling clique?”) and secretive (“trust us to decide what the members need to know”) over the last six years or so. The bullshit going on at today’s meeting was the kind of outcome that had to happen sooner or later.

  49. Mary, Rachel at al.: Bite your tongues and let them commit political suicide. It is for the good of the Libertarian Political Movement.

    And if someone is talking to Angela, please forward this advice.

  50. Brian,

    Cherry Coke Zero? That has to be the nastiest idea I’ve ever heard.

    Anyway, sorry, but it’s true. I came to Denver prepared to give Redpath another chance, but watching Carling frog-march him around up there convinced me that he’s neither in charge nor deserving of being left free to pretend he’s in charge.

  51. Cherry Coke Zero? That has to be the nastiest idea I’ve ever heard.

    Why do you think I like it?!?

    I came to Denver prepared to give Redpath another chance

    Not I. I think he blew it a while back.

    Look at the ballot access situation today. I believe the technical term is “clusterfuck.”

  52. Starr hasn’t quite completely alienated me personally. He gave me the courtesy of a reply stating “It is too late.” possibly regretfully.

  53. I couldn’t see much of the details from the back of the room in Denver (I didn’t mind considering I had a fireball to keep a tab on) but I could tell that Redpath needs to learn how to use a gavel.

    He is useless, worse than useless considering he is Chair. We need someone in there (like Ruth) with vision.

    I have to second the opinion on Cherry Coke Zero. *cringe*

    **goes to grab sun tea**

  54. Actually, I think it’s “clusterfubarfuck”…

  55. Brian,

    Oddly enough, one of the reasons I was willing to give Redpath another chance WAS ballot access. He’s had a strong record on that in the past, and I figured he’d do a good job of it this year.

    Instead, he seems to have delegated it to poorly equipped subordinates, and it went south.

    All of which is neither here nor there: Denver made it obvious to me that Starr, Carling or both have been the de facto chair(s) of the LNC for some time. Redpath is just their beard. Don’t know how it came to that, but that’s how it looks, anyway.

  56. George, they’re doing that without our help. Heckling from the e-gallery just makes them more flustered and commit more snafu moments, and each one digs their own graves further.

  57. Oops! I meant to post under my pen name. My time with Aaron was TWENTY years ago! I’ve refined my taste since then.

    GO Angela!

  58. I think they might have adjourned? It’s what, 7:20 out there now? Does anybody know?

  59. Yes, it’s 7:20 pm EDT in DC.

  60. I assume they will resume tomorrow.

  61. At least Hanna will be gone by tomorrow. Can anyone give me a ride to D.C.?

  62. Sweet Mary, time to show some balls?

  63. Just talked to Angela on the phone for a second–they’re not in session at the moment.

  64. Ditto. She seems in good spirits, all things considered. She also knows she’s got a broad base of support.

  65. Yeah. I told her that “she was hot on teh web over this” right now.

    Of course, she’s normally hot anyway… LOL!

  66. More drama … now Wayne Root’s feewinz is huwt.

  67. I saw that about Root too. WTF? LOL

  68. It’s probably just that he can’t sell her any Ginzu knives– she’s already plenty sharp enough– or any scamcapping services– because she already knows the score.

  69. “Starr would love to try because that’s the closest he’d ever get to touching her…”

    Actually, not true. They started their affair a month after my dad died and continued through my surgeries and radiation.

    In fact, Aaron brought me home from my cancer surgery (the first one), dumped me the bed and disappeared with Angela for 6 hours or so (I think it was 6; I was still on drugs and pretty woozy. Couldn’t yell at him because of all the bandages). He didn’t even bother to call anyone to stay with me (I didn’t know for sure about Angela then, and I was more concerned about whether the cancer had spread to my lymph nodes anyway).

    For all I know, this may be what this whole LNC fight is about; apparently she dumped Aaron a month or so before I did. Nothing like getting 180# of fat kosher pork pissed at you.

    Wow. I feel better!

    And OBTW, the cancer had NOT spread to my lymph nodes. Prognosis is around 97%. Thanks for asking.

  70. The gallery had to wait out a ridiculously long executive session only to discover that much of the fuss was about two silly comments made in a blog.

    Coincidentally during the executive session while the gallery was shooting the breeze in the hallway, I pointed out the live-blogging to Austin and asked what he thought of being called “The very sexy Austin Petersen”.

    The verdict:
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    No complaints. In fact — gasp! — he seemed flattered by the compliment.

    Due to such time management, the LNC has not yet considered any substantive new business whatsoever… only reports and executive sessions on Saturday. It’s going to be a long Sunday.

  71. Oops, sorry for not closing that italic tag.

  72. Chuck, do you know what their schedule of non-events is for tomorrow?

  73. Just so I’m clear, as I’m often confused. If Angela Keaton is removed from the LNC without the general membership voting to remove her, the people who are not represented properly at that point would be: everyone in the LP, right? Angela was elected an at large representative to the LNC in Denver. So, she is not a regional rep, but an at large rep, yes?

    I also find confusing the idea of destroying records. There is a power in the LP bylaws for the secretary to keep records as necessary. I found no instance of the word “destroy.” Where does the power to destroy records come from?

    Or are we to suppose that the LNC has plenary power to do any thing it pleases?

  74. The LNC web site has a dollar counting clock. The operation of the clock is non-trivial, in that it is the same Terra Eclipse core technology as the Ron Paul dollar clock, and it has to be tweaked from outside to record cash contributions. A long discussion of the Ron Paul dollar clock appeared on one of his supporting sites before his campaign crashed and burned.

    Because you cannot always tell when the clock has been adjustred, you can’t be too gullible in believing the numbers it reports. However, note that at the end of July the Barr dollar clock was within a couple of thousand dollars of matching the Barr FEC report.

    Now note the LNC dollar clock. In July it rolled up a six-digit sum matching the bulk of LNC income. Now turn to August. In the month, the dollar clock rang up about a quarter of the income that it did in July. This might not include the checks by mail, so LNC income might be very considerably larger than indicated, but the number being advertised on the LNC LP.ORG web site indicates that LNC income in August was far below income in July. A board paying attention to its own web site might be expected to have noticed this.

    On the other hand, we wait to see if the LNC spends the rest of tomorrow turning on Angela again.

  75. John, per the national Bylaws, a LNC member can be removed by a 2/3 vote of the LNC (A8, S5). As of right now, they need 10 votes to get it, and they don’t have it. They tried it today and didn’t have it.

    Besides, with this whole thing being aired in public, and the word getting around, I doubt that’ll happen.

    And yes, Angela is an at-large and not a regional rep, elected at convention, tied with Dr. Ruwart for most votes. IOW, she has a lot of support.

  76. BTW, just talked to her, and she seems fine with things at the moment. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

  77. Angela is tough and hard-working.

    She also has a broad base of support across the LP from the center to the radicals. And she knows we’re behind her.

    Anything the bully boys dish out won’t help them. It will just underscore that their agenda is focused primarily on their own egos, and wasting the time of the entire LNC and national Libertarian Party on their petty personal politics rather than on the business of an organization suffering severe crises in ballot access, fundraising, operations, messaging, candidate communications, transparency, and ethics.

  78. Angela Keaton has my full support! What repeat offending politically ignorant morons so many on the LNC are for trying to shut her up only to have it all blow up in their faces and on blogs everywhere!

    Moron: I don’t like Angela Keaton.
    Moron: I want to reduce Angela Keaton’s influence and silence her.
    Moron: I will force her to shut up!
    Moron: Oops, that didn’t work! Now she’s the center of attention and that’s all everyone is talking about! We need a better PR plan.
    Moron: I am not insane. I will try this again!

  79. So, where is the LNC’s authority to destroy records? I can’t find it in the bylaws.

  80. (quote: Chuck Moulton)The gallery had to wait out a ridiculously long executive session only to discover that much of the fuss was about two silly comments made in a blog.9(/quote)

    Chuck – if the exec session you mention had to do with the Sean “Firebug” Haugh / Gary Fincher / Paid petitioners problem, as some of the other comments implied, it was more than just a couple of silly blog comments…

    1. It was due to Firebug’s efforts by both e-mail and telephone call to get the LPMA Political Facilitator to (criminally) destroy signed presidential nominating petititions… (Incidentally those sigs proved to have as good or better validity rates than those collected by other petitioners – no signs of questionable activity was ever detected on our end…)

    2. There is significant evidence that suggests that Firebug’s pissing contest with Fincher and friends may well have contributed to the ballot access failures in WV, ME, along with the close call in NH and possibly elsewhere.

    3. The issue may also have caused the LP to pay considerably more for ballot access than it might have otherwise, IOW Firebug may have caused a waste of LP and / or Barr campaign resources, which it doesn’t seem like we have in excess…

    ART
    LPMA Operations Facilitator
    Speaking for myself

  81. John, it’s not there. My understanding (and it is admittedly not firsthand, so take that for what it’s worth) is that the tape destruction/erasing is supposed to be after the minutes are figured out.

    Naturally, two things jump out on this: 1) Why are they stuck on such old technology? 2) A picture is worth a thousand words, and a video is worth a thousand pictures, so the video should be even better than the minutes, so why destroy the tape?

    From the other thread: (https://lastfreevoice.wordpress.com/2008/09/06/angela-keaton-liveblog-from-lnc-meeting/)

    Sullentrup moves to eliminate the policy that we video tape the meeting.

    Meeting stops. Austin is trying to reload the tape.

    Aaron Starr believes that if the secretary needs to record meetings if he needs it but if he does not need it, we shouldn’t.

    Dixon: very much in favor of having meetings recorded (either tape or video) so people can hear or see them. He would rather guests just bring their own equipment taking a DIY approach.

    Sink-Burris thinks that legally it is bad idea (per Rutherford) to have anything other than minutes recorded as the GOP/DNC could use material against us.

    Ruwart: Distressing that people don’t want this open if for no other reason than we all remember these things differently.

    Wrights: We all remember things differently but notes Sullentrup is the best secretary we ever had. In what has to be the weirdest moment ever, Sullentrup kisses Wrights. Room breaks down. Redpath asks members from refraining from PDAs.

    Starr than says that all meeting should be recorded by destroyed after the minutes are approved. Starr suggests that would be acceptable if the true motive is to only have good minutes. He then makes legal argument. (NOTE: Starr is neither a JD or a member of the bar.)

    Kraus: costs of tape, plus staff member is too much. He doesn’t want to be responsible at meetings for tending to this.

    Vote on Starr’s sub motion. Sub motion 9-5. Starr’s motion is now on the table.

    Now: A No vote keeps policy as it is,

    Starr, Colley, Karlan, Flood, Dixon, Sink-Burris, Hinkle, Jingozian vote to destroy records as soon as the minutes are approved. It passes.

  82. Voting to destroy records, even after the minutes are approved, seems to exceed the authority granted the LNC in the bylaws. As above, there is a specific passage in the LP bylaws providing for the secretary to keep records. There is nothing in the bylaws of your party to allow for destroying anything.

    Now, I suppose the LNC could propose a bylaws change. But, wasn’t it supposed to do so before the convention in Denver? Which rather begs the question, comrades.

    There is more at stake here than just a procedural issue. Destroying records is the behavior of a criminal, or a conspiracy of criminals. It is not the principled behavior of a freedom loving organization. It is the behavior of tyrants, but I repeat myself.

    Naturally, I object to the attack on Angela, who is a brave and decent person. She has taken a principled stand against war. Cool. But, that attack failed.

    The hits on your party’s membership keep on coming. And I think this business of destroying records pretty much sums up who is who in the matter of principles, decency, honor, transparency, rule of law, having the members have insight into what the national party does.

    I would have no truck with any of the 8 who voted to destroy records, any more than I would work with those who voted to throw Angela out the window. (Yes, a defenestration metaphor. Deal with it.)

  83. Tom writes: “Anyway, sorry, but it’s true. I came to Denver prepared to give Redpath another chance, but watching Carling frog-march him around up there convinced me that he’s neither in charge nor deserving of being left free to pretend he’s in charge”.

    And MHW ask why he, M Carling, was up there to begin with.

  84. Mr. Sullentrup is technically incorrect as to my status with the criminal justice system — and he knows it. Details on request.

    Details hereby requested. I have not yet read comments below that one, so I don’t know yet whether this has already been addressed.

    BTW, if you were a felon, why would that matter?

  85. “I voted with the @ssholes.

    On what?

  86. AK “Wrights and Hawkridge want me to accept the apology. As long as M Carling in his life, there will never be peace. Can’t do it. Won’t.”

    NEW ORDER LYRICS

    “Bizarre Love Triangle”

    Every time i think of you
    I feel shot right through with a bolt of blue
    It’s no problem of mine but it’s a problem I find
    Living a life that I can’t leave behind
    There’s no sense in telling me
    The wisdom of a fool won’t set you free
    But that’s the way that it goes
    And it’s what nobody knows
    While every day my confusion grows
    Every time I see you falling
    I get down on my knees and pray
    I’m waiting for that final moment
    You’ll say the words that I can’t say

    I feel fine and I feel good
    I’m feeling like I never should
    Whenever I get this way, I just don’t know what to say
    Why can’t we be ourselves like we were yesterday
    I’m not sure what this could mean
    I don’t think you’re what you seem
    I do admit to myself
    That if I hurt someone else
    Then I’ll never see just what we’re meant to be
    Every time I see you falling
    I get down on my knees and pray
    I’m waiting for that final moment
    You’ll say the words that I can’t say

  87. Look at the ballot access situation today. I believe the technical term is “clusterfuck.”

    Easily preventable. That’s all I’ll say for now.

  88. Instead, he seems to have delegated it to poorly equipped subordinates, and it went south.

    I can’t completely blame Bill for delegating it. Post-2004 the LNC came close to leaving him holding the bag on significant sums (5 figures IIRC) that he advanced us out of his own personal pocket to make things happen in the face of pressing deadlines.

    Naturally he has been much more cautious since then.

    I do agree that Bill was a much better Ballot Access Coordinator and Treasurer than he has been chair, which is disappointing. Ballot Access has suffered because he is no longer directly in charge of it due to his responsibilities as chair. I can only hope that Bill will agree to return to one or both of his previous positions at the end of his current term.

    I do agree that the choices of who he delegated it to have been extremely disappointing to say the least.

  89. “Starr would love to try because that’s the closest he’d ever get to touching her…”

    Actually, not true. They started their affair a month after my dad died and continued through my surgeries and radiation.

    In fact, Aaron brought me home from my cancer surgery (the first one), dumped me the bed and disappeared with Angela for 6 hours or so (I think it was 6; I was still on drugs and pretty woozy. Couldn’t yell at him because of all the bandages). He didn’t even bother to call anyone to stay with me (I didn’t know for sure about Angela then, and I was more concerned about whether the cancer had spread to my lymph nodes anyway).

    For all I know, this may be what this whole LNC fight is about; apparently she dumped Aaron a month or so before I did. Nothing like getting 180# of fat kosher pork pissed at you.

    Wow. I feel better!

    And OBTW, the cancer had NOT spread to my lymph nodes. Prognosis is around 97%. Thanks for asking.

    Wow.

  90. And yes, Angela is an at-large and not a regional rep, elected at convention, tied with Dr. Ruwart for most votes. IOW, she has a lot of support.

    I was one of those votes, but I was young and naive then.

  91. Chuck – if the exec session you mention had to do with the Sean “Firebug” Haugh / Gary Fincher / Paid petitioners problem, as some of the other comments implied, it was more than just a couple of silly blog comments…

    1. It was due to Firebug’s efforts by both e-mail and telephone call to get the LPMA Political Facilitator to (criminally) destroy signed presidential nominating petititions… (Incidentally those sigs proved to have as good or better validity rates than those collected by other petitioners – no signs of questionable activity was ever detected on our end…)

    2. There is significant evidence that suggests that Firebug’s pissing contest with Fincher and friends may well have contributed to the ballot access failures in WV, ME, along with the close call in NH and possibly elsewhere.

    3. The issue may also have caused the LP to pay considerably more for ballot access than it might have otherwise, IOW Firebug may have caused a waste of LP and / or Barr campaign resources, which it doesn’t seem like we have in excess…

    The key word there is if.

  92. wasting the time of the entire LNC and national Libertarian Party on their petty personal politics rather than on the business of an organization suffering severe crises in ballot access, fundraising, operations, messaging, candidate communications, transparency, and ethics.

    True. E.G.:

    As long as M Carling in his life, there will never be peace. Can’t do it. Won’t.”

    and:

    For all I know, this may be what this whole LNC fight is about; – K. O’B

  93. Strike 93.

    AK: Sean Haugh wants you all to know that he wanted an open session discussion on Fincher. We went into exec. Boring.

    p] I concur with Art Torrey (section previously quoted by me in comment 93). Of course, those with a preference for petty personal politics would not.

  94. Art: It turns out that it was over Angela calling two young male staffers ‘sexy’ in her LNC liveblog. (That’s not her exact word, but that’s the gist of it.)

    It is astonishing that they would try to remove her over something which offended no one, including the young men in question. However, it does illustrate quite well what ridiculous lengths they will go to, in order to be rid of her since she refuses to toe the LNC line.

  95. Paulie: “Wow” was my reaction as well.

    I’m glad you are doing well, Kate. 🙂

  96. Now I wonder what Aaron Starr looks like. That normally doesn’t occur to me, but I’m curious given that he apparently sleeps with a lot of women. Does anybody have a pic?

  97. I’m glad you are doing well, Kate.

    Me too.

  98. Art: It turns out that it was over Angela calling two young male staffers ’sexy’ in her LNC liveblog.

    Apparently not only. From twitter website:

    AK: Sean Haugh wants you all to know that he wanted an open session discussion on Fincher. We went into exec. Boring.

  99. Followed by:

    Had great time with Wrights and Haugh. Still very touched by the Admiral’s seriousness about speech. about 15 hours ago from web

    Had one on one with Haugh. We talked about Jesus,Sundwall,Rand and Knapp. He’s one of us. He started the damn LNC blogging. about 15 hours ago from web

  100. Further Keaton from Twitter

    Chuck Moulton and Paulie Cannolie are trying the “fairness” route. It doesn’t work. Nice college try.

    Not sure which comments she is referring to. I’m guessing LSLA/Phillies issue?

    I never realized my pseudonym was so hard to spell. It’s really not that complicated folks. paulIE cannolI. Paulie with an e. Cannoli without. Sheesh 🙂

  101. Hmm… I seem to recall episodes of increasingly bitter infighting on the LNC… every LNC. When has the LNC not descended into “petty personal politics?” Can anyone name a previous chair that they consider “good?” Same old, same old.

    To illustrate my point, I direct you to Carol Moore’s [sadly outdated] compiled history of LNC controversies:

    http://www.carolmoore.net/4secretary/controversies.html

  102. Why, thank you ElfNinosMom! I consider myself incredibly fortunate for a lot of reasons. Even on days when I feel sad (it’s been a rough 2 years), I still know I am one lucky woman.

    Aaron IS good looking, until you get to know him a bit better. I used to have photos, but I think they went out the door with the used cat litter.

    And he can be quite charming when he wants to get into your pants.

    When he was younger he once did 4 women in 1 day. I would name names but I don’t know who all of them are (this was LONG before he and I were involved, BTW).

    FWIW I used to tire him out; being basically monogamous and hot to trot. Not to mention smart and good looking (I hate to brag but I do want to be honest).

    And! One more thing:
    “It turns out that it was over Angela calling two young male staffers ’sexy’ in her LNC liveblog. ”

    When a man talks dirty to a woman, it’s sexual harassment.
    When a woman talks dirty to a man, it’s $3.99 a minute.

    Sex and free enterprise. I thought we were in favor of both of those.

  103. When a man talks dirty to a woman, it’s sexual harassment.

    When a woman talks dirty to a man, it’s $3.99 a minute.

    Unacceptable double standard.

  104. Latest AK Twitter feed

    —————

    Sullentrup counting votes. Karlan is doing some weird demonstration involving folders and counting.

    6 minutes ago from web

    Bylaws selection about to begin. 19 minutes ago from web

    Starr’s decorum motion went down in flames. Keaton still a bitch. Wright’s a wise ass. Sullentrup wants a clean slate. 21 minutes ago from web

    Decorum motion by Starr is about to fail. The Admiral, Dr. Jim and others said NO! Karlan said “present.” 23 minutes ago from web

    I have a right to face my accusers, Shane Cory. about 2 hours ago from web

    Angela Keaton is the reason why don’t have K with Barr Campaign. News up. Wow, this is really getting good. about 2 hours ago from web

    Up next, open LNC lists and Tom Stevens, the man, the myth, the freak. about 3 hours ago from web
    Heavy denial. Denial. about 3 hours ago from web

    Sullentrup and Carling are in the room already playing their small roles but there are no small roles only small actors. about 4 hours ago from web

    Chuck Moulton and Paulie Cannolie are trying the “fairness” route. It doesn’t work. Nice college try. about 4 hours ago from web

    Quote of the day: The one thing evil can not stand for is being laughed at.–Brad Spangler. about 5 hours ago from web

    @bradspangler Gordon is another “play-yah”What kind of loser do you have to be before you think that the LP is going to make you a big deal. about 5 hours ago from web in reply to bradspangler

    Steve Gordon’s talents, Angela Keaton’s sex life. Both mostly exist in the minds of the not very interesting or important. about 5 hours ago from web

    @bradspangler U know the running gag about me and sexual violation is probably what will bring down the Redpath/Starr admin. about 5 hours ago from web in reply to bradspangler

    To Spangler: What kind of freedom organ would as its rep use the desperate and trifling Wayne Root? The symbolism, telling? No. about 5 hours ago from web

    @bradspangler Me or Gordon? about 5 hours ago from web in reply to bradspangler

    You can love “our ticket” all you want. I don’t have to. Take your bullying, your guilt trips and your statism and shove them up my… about 5 hours ago from web

    Live blogging begins in T-90. about 5 hours ago from web

    Tony, yr right. I was going to defend Stewart to the end. Guess I did. Is it too late for me to learn? about 5 hours ago from web

    Steve Gordon isn’t getting enough attention…awww…maybe you should work on activism instead of manipulation. about 5 hours ago from web

  105. Wow, I expected Starr to at least be somewhat attractive. Instead, he looks like Alfred E. Neumann. LOL

  106. Are you the Kate mentioned in Starr’s particularly vile letter discussing your sexual responses? I assume you have seen it by now (I hope, because I’d hate to be the one telling you about it).

  107. Various items:

    Thank you Pauli for your kind thoughts (everyone else, too).

    It’s Cannoli with no “e” right? As in ”leave the guns, take the cannoli?”

    Yes I am that Kate. And I have enough (well-deserved) self confidence to let a lot of things roll off my back. At first I felt kicked in the stomach (who the hell wouldn’t), but I got over it.

    THAT’S who that picture reminds me of – Alfred E. Nuemann!!

    Thanks for the clarification. He was better looking as a young man, BTW. But you could say that about a lot of us.

  108. Thank you Pauli for your kind thoughts (everyone else, too).

    It’s Cannoli with no “e” right? As in ”leave the guns, take the cannoli?”

    The second part is correct. The first part is Paulie, with an e.

    Paulie with e. Cannoli with no e.

    I should come up with some way to help people remember this. Anyone have any suggestions?

    I honestly never thought it would have spelling issues when I came up with it. I’m thinking of using something that is easier to spell, since people are having a lot of issues with it.

    Maybe P Funk. That was one of my gangbanger names, and a great musical group as well.

  109. Latest AK twittering

    Oh for the love of god! I’ve been kicked out the room again.

    8 minutes ago from web
    Resolution passes. 10 minutes ago from web

    Wrights is making good antiwar speech. 14 minutes ago from web

    Afghanistan resolution is up. The Admiral made good get out of everywhere speech and defend this country. 14 minutes ago from web

  110. Are you the Kate mentioned in Starr’s particularly vile letter discussing your sexual responses

    I missed this.

  111. Was Angela actually ejected? Or did she leave in disgust?

  112. Kicked out sounds like ejected to me.

  113. ENM writes: “Wow, I expected Starr to at least be somewhat attractive. Instead, he looks like Alfred E. Neumann. LOL”

    I laughed and read this out loud to my wife. She said please don’t insult Alfred E. Neumann. BTW my wife has met Starr.

    MHW

  114. This is a historic first. LFV is causing delays in the length of the LNC meeting in real time.

    For the next meeting, they should admit defeat, cancel the airplane tickets and just have the meeting at LFV.

    🙂

  115. Keaton twitter update

    I was allowed back into make a brief defense. They are now going to vote to ask me to resign. 13 minutes ago from web

    Just say no, force their hand.

  116. Well, Alicia Mattson was the 6th place finisher. Gee, wonder why?

    So does that mean Alicia takes Keaton’s place on LNC if she is removed by a vote of the committee or agrees to resign, or would they pick whoever they want?

  117. It means they pick whomever they want.

    Man, I go out an paint some eaves and miss all the fun. Damn weather!

  118. Tweaker. I mean twitter update.

    Then it got really WEIRD…the Barr campaign sent message to Redpath to request to keep me on the LNC.

    5 minutes ago from web
    Sitting in exile with Gene Hawkridge. Will I be excommunicated? You get better due process when three rabbis or the holy see meet. 13 minutes ago from web

    @georgedonnelly Didn’t get a chance to mention but yr list is awesome. I was too self absorbed to remember to say that but I just did. 17 minutes ago from web in reply to georgedonnelly

  119. In re 106, I agree with Paulie. I want the $3.99 per minute! In fact, for just $200 per hour….lol

  120. re 111, how about Paulie Pastry?

  121. Re 111:

    how about Leave the Guns Take the Cannoli and St Pauli Girl, except with an additional “e”

    re my name I say Kate rhymes with Great but spelled different. Other than that, the same.

    Who was that kids’ comedian that really got on my nerves; high waters with white sox who got caught playing with himself in a movie theater and ruined his career? Paulie something.

    No wait. That was Pee Wee.

    Never mind

    Re 113: You didn’t miss much. Let it go.

  122. Pee Wee Herman’s real name is Paul Reubens. That’s likely what Kate is thinking about with regard to that issue.

  123. This is the first I’ve heard of Kate’s health challenges.

    I appreciate her good work for the LP and wish her good health.

  124. Re 128:

    Thank you, Lawrence Baird, for your kind wishes. I am doing quite well and expect that to continue

  125. So do you and Keaton get along now?

  126. Best of luck in your recovery and future good health, Kate.

  127. I’ve been watching the LP slow-motion train wreck for years and can only wonder when the damn thing is going to go off the rails.

    My suggestion for the LP is to can the LNC and replace it with Angela, the anarchist without a hyphen. There’s been way too many hyphens for years.

    By the way, I’ll talk dirty to women for only $1.29 per pound. I’ve been boning up on my banter in the produce section of the supermarket. If all goes well, I’ll soon be able to earn commissions on certain vegetables that can be used as meat alternatives.

  128. Re 131: Thank you Chuck! It’s good to know how many people are wishing me well. I know that energy going out into the Universe is having an effect on God(dess)’s plans for me.

    Re 132: If I tell you how much it will cost to talk dirty to me you will know how much I weigh.

    Re 130: Good question. I have not heard from her. I did send her an email that morning when I found out – which happened when I went into Aaron’s office to fax something to a client and saw that he was downloading his emails with GoToMyPC (he was in China at the time). They were popping up as he downloaded and up popped the one from Angela.

    So: Angela: are we getting along or not? Talk to me.

  129. More on 130:

    I’m not friends with Lori Adasiewicz because she has always rubbed me the wrong way. I don’t know if it was because of their affair, which was back when I had the kidney stone and was seriously ill for a few months (and I didn’t find out about that until a couple of days after Angelagate) OR because she is just a naturally annoying person. Who the hell knows. Not me.

  130. Re: 122 – I could be wrong, as I am about as far from the Privy in the Barr camp as I can get (good thing to who knows WHAT they’ve been doing in it…) 😉

    However it strikes me that there were a couple of comments I made here and on IPR last night about the possible impact this mess might have on Barr’s (and possibly even the LP’s) Presidential ballot status in MA, which we all know is in a contentious state thanks to decisions made by the LNC and the MA Secretary of State… I think George also said a word or two…

    It seems quite possible to me that people in the Barr camp read LFV, and decided that it was in their own best interests to have the LNC cool it….

    I am not at liberty to discuss details of the exec session we had at the LPMA State Committee meeting this afternoon, but suffice to say that while Barr isn’t totally hosed at present, (the way he could have been) today’s LNC meeting didn’t help his case any…

    The LNC is treading very close to a line that it will not be OK for them to cross…

    ART
    LPMA Presidential Elector – NOT voting for Barr

  131. So what’s the scoop? Angela still on the LNC or not?

  132. WB: “What repeat offending politically ignorant morons so many on the LNC are”

    Hmm, this from a guy who wants to work for these same morons as their ED????? Don’t they have to approve his selection???? Not politically good politicin’ IMHO! WB, have you removed your self from the selection process yet or is your plan to help us BTP folks in our takeover?

  133. Tom Knapp technically is a felon, and he knows it. He will always be a convicted felon, and I feel sorry for him and the life he leads.

    When Missouri arrest warrant numbers end in ‘F’, the warrants are for felonies.

    When it says ‘guilty’ under ‘judgement’ on the record of arrest and prosecution, it’s a conviction.

    Tom Knapp’s felony conviction occurred August 23, 2004.

    Can Tom Knapp truthfully answer ‘no’ to the question ‘have you ever been convicted of a felony?’. Bzzzt. Wrong answer. He’s on probation rather than having been awarded a $100 gift card to Bed, Bath and Beyond, but he will remain a convicted felon. He’ll never be rejudged innocent on the matter once he serves his sentence, and the crime can never be said to have never occurred. It happened March 6, 2004.

    It’s been a long time since Tom Knapp called me at a tri-state LP convention from jail imploring me to raise bail to have him released — the worst decision I ever made as Missouri Chair. Meanwhile, I’ve advanced to National Secretary. Mike Ferguson, another Missourian and Knapp nemisis, was Denver’s opening speaker and now a principal in the Barr campaign. By contrast, Knapp has remained an unemployed Internet blogger.

    I pity the poor b@st@rd. I really do. Here’s why.

    On September 2, 2006, I walked my daughter Debra down the aisle as Father of the Bride. It was a unique day in my life. Debra handed her bouquet to a junior bride’s maid, put her arms around my neck, planted a kiss and whispered into my ear “Daddy, I love you”. I wanted to say “I love you, too”, but suddenly I could not talk, and for more than 48 hours I could not describe what had just happened without my throat crowding with joy and once again becoming unable to speak.

    After some reflection, I decided that this was nature’s reward for risk, work, and responsibility. When you are irresponsible, or in Tom’s case too insecure to assume responsibility, your daughter becomes willing to participate in a conspiracy to have you ambushed and thrown into the slam. And you never get to walk her down the aisle. And she never whispers anything into your ear. And you’re too much of a stupid, pathetic b@st@rd to know what you’ve missed.

    It’s a pity, and it’s pathetic, but it’s after all condign punishment. [Name redacted by editor] doesn’t hate her father. She doesn’t respect him enough for that. He’s just vacant and irrelevant.

    In any case, Knapp knows what happens on September 28. What he may or may not know is what is likely to happen on or about October 10. When he finds out, and if he does not know already, look for Knapp to go ballistic. Condign punishment once again. I cannot rejoice or gloat. A life squandered is what comes to mind, and sorrow for what could have been for Tom, his family, our Party and for society.

  134. Mr. Sullentrup: Participants’ children are completely off-limits in this forum. I have therefore redacted the name of Mr. Knapp’s daughter from your comment.

  135. Quoth Bob Sullentrup:

    “Can Tom Knapp truthfully answer ‘no’ to the question ‘have you ever been convicted of a felony?’.”

    Yes, he can. No entry of conviction has ever been entered in his case.

    “He’s on probation”

    No, he is not. He is on Suspended Imposition of Sentence — a sentence which will include probation if he ever gives the court an excuse to un-suspend it.

    Now, in point of fact, I did plead guilty to felony non-support in 2004. That’s why I’ve been very careful to state that I am TECHNICALLY not a felon, but to otherwise take full responsibility for my actions. I took a plea bargain; Suspended Imposition of Sentence in Missouri does not result in an entry of conviction. If the defendant completes the court-mandated program for redeeming himself (in my case, paying child support regularly and making up arrears), that’s the end of it.

    Mr. Sullentrup was right to be angry with me in 2004. My arrest, during a lunch break at the Missouri LP’s convention, was disruptive. People raised money to bail me out rather than doing other things.

    Mr. Sullentrup was right to be angry with me for some time after that, too. It took me longer to pay back that money than I had expected and longer than I had promised it would take.

    When Mr. Sullentrup introduced a motion in the state committee to censure me over this matter, I spoke in SUPPORT of that motion.

    Beyond that, Mr. Sullentrup knows very little and is apparently content to lie about what he does know.

    For example, he knows — because I explained it at his request — that the reason I was behind on child support was that both I and my significant other took a significant economic hit when she was laid off from her job and when the main company I worked as a contractor for went bankrupt.

    He also knows — because I explained it at his request — that even in those bad times, I had continued to make partial child support payments, and then had begun to catch up, and that the arrest was an act of desperation on the part of a psychotic ex-wife … one more week and I would have been back under the “arrest threshold” for child support arrears.

    He knows — because I explained it at his request — that I had faithfully made child support payments for 10 years before this particular situation arose, that I had fought like hell (including one court action) to maintain a close relationship with my daughter, and that I had even fulfilled responsibilities (like providing health insurance) that had initially been awarded to my ex-wife, because she wasn’t fulfilling them.

    He knows — because I explained it at his request — that the only reason I accepted the aforementioned plea bargain is that the prosecutor credibly threatened to have my bail revoked and let me sit in jail for as long as she could get continuances for if I took the case to trial.

    I knew I was not guilty. She knew I was not guilty. Mr. Sullentrup knows I was not guilty if he’s read the law in question. I wasn’t squirreling away money and letting my daughter go hungry. Nor was I avoiding work (I was working more hours than you’d likely believe, precisely for the purpose of catching that child support up).

    But the prosecutor knew that the judge would give her whatever she wanted, and I did too, and my option was to plead guilty, smile at the judge and parrot his claim that there was no pressure to do so, and go home (where I could continue to work, to make money, and to pay child support, not to mention help support my two OTHER childred) with a Suspended Imposition of Sentence … or to go to jail, get further behind on child support for my daughter, and abandon my spouse and two sons.

    So far as I know, Mr. Sullentrup knows nothing about my relationship with my daughter since 2004. I’d just as soon keep it that way.

    Mr. Sullentrup may or may not know that far from being “an unemployed blogger,” I probably have more employers than he does (although I work for them as an independent contractor).

    There are also things he would prefer that you didn’t know … about him, and about his allies. But that’s another story. Now I’m off to find out what numerological significance September 28th and October 10th have.

  136. Who fucking cares if Tom is a felon or not, he’s done more for the movement than that asshole Sullentrup anyday. Sullentrup needs to get out of the past and get a life. It’s jerks like Sullentrup that makes the LNC look bad, real bad.

  137. I’d like to know what the author of post 139’s purpose is in making that post. Others may know or have a speculative answer to that question, but I would appreciate hearing it from him.

    Post 139 strikes me as ad hominem, which I don’t generally consider productive or persuasive or motivational.

  138. George,

    Mr. Sullentrup has a longstanding case of redass about me — as you can see, a case not without a real complaint at the root of it, but a case exacerbated by his increasingly visible mental instability over the last few years.

    Presumably the occasion for his outburst this time is the fact that Ms. Keaton put me on speakerphone to support her when the LNC lynch mob Sullentrup runs with was having at.

    Not that he needs an occasion. Over the years I’ve had numerous reports from people whom he’s accosted unbidden and regaled with tales of my diabolical and supernatural powers. I also seem to be the focus of the voices he channels when, as occasionally happens, he just floats up out of reality in mid-conversation and starts talking nonsense.

    Personally, I attribute all that to an accident he had in 2001 (as a pedestrian, he was hit by a car and knocked unconscious). It was after that that he began getting weird. But I could be wrong. He may have always been borderline schizophrenic. As far as his weirdness focusing on me specifically, like I said, there are real reasons for that. I feel sorry for him. Sorry enough that I usually leave him alone, and try to be polite to him when I have to be around him … until he went after Keaton. That’s a line in the sand.

  139. There is nothing “condign” or “adequately deserved” about the punishment in this case. There is nothing about state imposed, coercive “plea bargains” that is deserved, just, decent, or honorable. The state is itself felonious, thieving, murdering, foul, disreputable, and those who curry its favor, as Mr. Sullentrup, are disgusting scum who should be ostracized to the extent that their boot licking doesn’t rise to the level of actually serving the state. And where it does, the wages of sin should be death.

    The tone of Mr. Sullentrup’s statement is rejoicing and gloating. It is one of the most disgusting displays of personal animosity I’ve seen anywhere. And I know quite a bit about personal animosity.

  140. […] at the meeting, one of the victims of Ms Keaton’s alleged “sexual violation” “seemed flattered” and said that “it was no big deal” in response to Ms Keaton calling him “very […]

  141. Holy mackerel.

    All I can say is that instead of Starr trying to censor filming of its deliberations, the LNC should get a Treasurere who can actually count and has an imagination to go for live feed of these melodramas and charge real dough.

    Starr’s moral turpitude goes to screwing members while screwing the LP? Sullentrup makes false felony allegations against people who call him into question? Wow. No wonder they hate the pledge. It makes them seriously legally liable, and is an accusing finger. And that’s just the warm-up.

    Now that is real ‘Reality TV.’

    It could probably fund half the LP projects right there.

  142. […] at the meeting, one of the victims of Ms Keaton’s alleged “sexual violation” “seemed flattered” and said that “it was no big deal” in response to Ms Keaton calling him “very […]

  143. “Holy mackerel.

    All I can say is that instead of Starr trying to censor filming of its deliberations, the LNC should get a Treasurere who can actually count and has an imagination to go for live feed of these melodramas and charge real dough.

    Starr’s moral turpitude goes to screwing members while screwing the LP? Sullentrup makes false felony allegations against people who call him into question? Wow. No wonder they hate the pledge. It makes them seriously legally liable, and is an accusing finger. And that’s just the warm-up.

    Now that is real ‘Reality TV.’

    It could probably fund half the LP projects right there.”

    How come I didn’t think of that?? What a great idea!

    Warning! the following contains an opinion that may not be perhaps entirely objective. Discetion is advised.

    (OK. Can’t say you weren’t warned.)

    As far as good Treasurers go, standard business objective is to hire for character and train for skills. A treasurer with a lot of skills but no moral compass is NOT what you want on your team.

    Are you listening LNC? If you have your knickers in a twist about booting someone off the committee, perhaps you should peruse the ringleaders of the Booting Caucus.

    Or, as we used to say back when I was young and idealistic:

    Who’s watching the watchers???

Leave a comment