Steve G.

Photoblog of historic same-sex marriage scene in San Francisco

In Libertarian on June 17, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Jacqueline Passey‘s brother Jameth has been photoblogging the excitement in California at San Francisco City Hall, as LGBT couples are finally are allowed to marry; he is also photoblogging the protests, which include the Westboro Baptist Church, best known for its “God Hates Fags” motto.  The blog is definitely worth a look.  Here is my favorite photo thus far:

  1. All right, who let Freddie Phelps out of the asylum again???

    This may sound unlibertarian, but this guy is a waste of food and oxygen. So is most of his “church” (his immediate family of ignoranuses).

  2. I might add for everyone else’s benefit.

    We actually met and fell in love about 60 miles from Topeka in a little town called Atchison. So certain more colorful aspects of Kansas politics (like Phelps) we know all toooooo much about. I actually was IN Kansas during the big abortion protests of summer 1991 visiting a college friend.

    I am not surprised that he’s in SF today, but I will be surprised if he gets out of there without pelted tomatoes or dead fish from the docks. He’s not too well liked up there.

    Me, I heard the news that the marriages were proceeding today and just contentedly grinned. Almost makes me want to renew my vows in sheer solidarity. Hey I’m hetero but this is about love. right?

  3. Their God is Satan.

  4. Just say the word, Lidia my love, and we’ll renew again, even if it is a few months early!

  5. Christian Says:

    June 17, 2008 at 4:56 pm
    Their God is Satan.

    Then, “hail Satan”, I say.

  6. Tropser, Huh? You want to hail “God hates fags?”

  7. Christian: It took me a minute to realize that you weren’t saying the god of gays is Satan, so it’s likely that Gene Trosper also misread your original statement.

  8. Nah, I just suspect Gene T. is feeling a little left-handed today is all. (Weather got ya down, friend? I DO understand)

  9. Lid, I think Gene got his pronoun references confused. He probably thought “their” referred to the couples, not Crazy Freddie.

  10. Why on earth do these morons WANT to get permission from the state to “marry”?

    Idiots.

  11. Satan is surprisingly broad-minded. He lets everybody in, after all. Not like that OTHER guy…

    In the words of Sir William Joel, “I’d rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints.”

    PJO, church-goin’ Catholic

  12. wow whoever believes that god actually hates gay people are absolute idiots.

  13. Fags?God?A TRUE GOD WOULDNT JUDGE ANYONE.
    Ur aspect on godis nuthing buht a veiw point of stoopidity.
    Buht we have different god veiws.urs seem evil;and pethetic.
    mines;and every one that has a heart; our god is a a person with love for everyone and anyone ; even people like urselves, that judges someones ways.

Leave a comment