Steve G.

Restore04: Every Child Gets A Pony

In Libertarian Party-US on May 20, 2008 at 9:25 pm

(5th in a series of images found in the curbside recycling bin outside Restore04 HQ. Reliable sources claim that this slide will be distributed on the floor in Denver, but are not sure by which side.)

  1. Ok – this is a little bit much. You have posted what – like 4-5 of these in the past 24 hours.
    Give me a break, we get your point and it’s not funny anymore (and to me, never was).

    If the Restore folks were posting this on TPW they would have been deleted already. Chill out with your mockery.

  2. I cleared this with ENM and Paulie ahead of time. Also, Eric Garris just posted to TPW a response graphic that, instead of tackling specific Platform issues as I’ve been doing, just gives a raspberry about “Demopublicanism”. It won’t be deleted, I bet.

    I’ll post any more Platform/caucus-related graphics to TPW myself if anybody has such.

    If I can’t post this sort of satire on “Last” Free Voice, shouldn’t the site be called something more like Yet Another Unchallenging Voice?

  3. Why is this idiot allowed to post here?

  4. I’m not saying that I want to “censor” you – I’m just stating that your posts are becoming repetitious and annoying. If you want to post this stuff every few days or so, fine by me, but seeing the same thing several times in a 24 hour period is just annoying.

    In my opinion this is something that you should buy addspace for.

  5. Oh — Last Paid Voice. OK, got it.🙂

    I don’t see a way to buy ad space on this site.

    Hmm, when three funny photoshops were recently posted here attacking non-radical candidates, your comment was just that they were “pretty funny!”, and didn’t try to shake down the source for LFV donations…

  6. Brian asked me if he could post them, and I told him that he can, just like any other contributor can post without having to ask permission first. Sure, there are a succession of them, but it brings some lightheartedness onto the site which we really need, after I posted such serious information recently about the convention and the candidates.

    Bear in mind, I am not on either side of the Restore04 question. So perhaps I am missing something, and I hope you will correct me if that’s the case, but I just take them at face value and have a little chuckle at the silliness, then move on. I guess I don’t understand why you find it insulting, and I hope you will fill me in since I really don’t keep up with platform issues.

    As for why Brian is posting here, Paulie brought him onboard, and I have complete faith in Paulie’s decisions, as I’m sure we all do. So I’m really sorry if it annoys anybody, but look at it this way. If you ever decide you want to do something similar about an issue, you don’t have to worry about running into problems with me over it. I don’t have any interest in censoring our contributors, and I trust all of you to make the right decisions when it comes to posting here.

    So please, try not to get upset, and bear in mind that you are more than welcome to post the other side’s point as well, in any way you see fit. 🙂

    Incidentally, we have two new contributors as of today. Tom Knapp has joined us, and I’m really honored by that. Also, ElfNino finally got around to joining, and he will be writing about music, and issues gauged for people his age (he’s almost 21, and thus much younger than almost all of our contributors).

  7. Non-radical is a subject term. Like I said, I don’t have a problem with your point of view being represented – I have a problem seeing the same thing OVER and OVER here – if you want to write an op ed and post it fine – but this is getting ridiculous because everytime I go to the site I see the same thing with a different photo shop from you and I’m not the only one who thinks that it’s getting old.

    Whoever posted photo shops from the other point of view didn’t post 5-6 redundant posts in a 24 hour period, that would get old too. And yeah, maybe they appealed to my sense of humor — SO WHAT?

  8. I meant to say that Non Radical is a subjective term.

  9. I’m posting them 3-at-time on TPW. I post them one-at-a-time first here, because LFV may indeed be the last major free voice of the LP if the TPW ecosystem doesn’t survive its change of ownership. There are only 18, so we’re already 1/3 done.

    You can shout me down (“idiot”, “retarded”) on a blog called Last Free Voice. Or you can get another contributor here to post something thoughtful in response. Or you can even exercise your constitutional right to scroll to the next posting or click to the next web page. Freedom is a burden sometimes, no?

  10. I’ve been trying to space them out by at least 6 hours, but I see now that a couple of them still had no other posts in between. I’ll make sure that doesn’t happen again.

  11. I know he would have convinced me to support Restore04, if I didn’t already. If the authoritards are that scared of it, it must be good!

  12. Mmm, “authoritards”. Yummy. Maybe it’s not too late to edit that into the list of insults I use in our Matrix movie:
    http://thirdpartywatch.com/2008/05/20/no-one-can-be-told-what-the-libertarian-matrix-is/

  13. That pony has a great ass. I love ASS!

  14. (he’s almost 21, and thus much younger than almost all of our contributors).

    Not that much🙂

  15. Brian,
    I have never shouted you down with insults. My thoughts are just that it’s too repetitive and that I’m being marketed to with unwanted pop up adds. It is insulting to me, and to many others however, it seems you be gaining the Restore 04 group more support by offending everyone.

    I’m used to be insulted so this is nothing new – if I wanted to feel this way I would just turn on O’Reilly or just about any show on Faux, they seem to be making the same points on a daily basis that you are here.

  16. Brian, at first I thought the photoshops where cute, but they totally made me want to support Restore04. Not because I believe private ownership of nukes is a good idea, but because they mis-characterize the 04 platform. Anyone going to such lengths to totally misrepresent the 04 platform must have some pretty terrible, statist document that they are peddling.

    Then I read the PlatComs recommended platform. It’s pretty good. I’ll miss the “cult of the omnipotent state”, but that’s more of a stylistic issue anyway. There are a few planks that may get some anarchist panties ruffled, but otherwise it is a wholly libertarian document.

    My point is, letting the recommended platform stand on its own merits may have been a better way to persuade. The photoshops alienate, and only serve to poke a stick in the eye of those already against the recommended platform.

  17. # Chris Moore Says:
    May 21, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    The photoshops alienate, and only serve to poke a stick in the eye of those already against the recommended platform.

    As I said on another “Holtz photoshop” entry, Libertarians aren’t buying your love of the state to “get things right”.

    Holtz, either dementia is setting in, or you have gravely miscalculated the sentiments of Libertarians . . . only you and other Reformers believe in the state (well, maybe the Conservatives who are infiltrating the LP do as well).

  18. One of the very few times I’ve disagreed with TG.

    Ok – this is a little bit much. You have posted what – like 4-5 of these in the past 24 hours. Give me a break, we get your point and it’s not funny anymore (and to me, never was).

    I happen to disagree with Brian, but I like his creativity, and if anyone on “our” side wants to post graphics, videos, or anything else in response, please go for it.


    If the Restore folks were posting this on TPW they would have been deleted already. Chill out with your mockery.

    That’s why this is not TPW. Let’s be better than them and keep living up to our name.

    -p

  19. G.E. Says:

    May 20, 2008 at 10:40 pm
    Why is this idiot allowed to post here?

    Brian appears to be intelligent, even though I think he comes to the wrong conclusions. The idea of this site is that we represent a diversity of libertarian opinion. It was started by Stuart Richards, a moderate /reform LPer, and in its early stages I (a radical left-libertarian) became the most frequent poster, commenter and promoter of the site. I also recruited most of the people who write here, including Brian and (I think) you. If you have other suggestions on who we should ask to write here, please shoot them to ENM, the current owner.

  20. I’m just stating that your posts are becoming repetitious and annoying. If you want to post this stuff every few days or so, fine by me, but seeing the same thing several times in a 24 hour period is just annoying.

    Solutions

    1) Scroll past them

    2) Post your own stuff

    In my opinion this is something that you should buy addspace for.

    I have not no financial stake in LFV and never have. Adspace may be a good idea, but it’s up to ENM now.

    I don’t think we should HAVE TO buy ad space, but it may be a good odea to make that option available. If we do, I recomment that we make it available on the same sort of terms as TPW did.

  21. Incidentally, we have two new contributors as of today. Tom Knapp has joined us, and I’m really honored by that. Also, ElfNino finally got around to joining, and he will be writing about music, and issues gauged for people his age (he’s almost 21, and thus much younger than almost all of our contributors).

    Cool! +1

Leave a Reply

