Steve G.

A sucker sucked in

In Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Politics on November 14, 2008 at 5:50 am

Well, my half-baked attempt to take a break has failed. Libertarian politics is just too damn entertaining for me to sit out, especially now that both baseball season and election season are over. Bob Barr (who I did ultimately vote for) didn’t do much worse than my team the Orioles, so I’m not too disappointed.

I don’t have much to write about at the moment, but I am resuming my claim to LFV contributor status. I miss hanging out with the cool kids, and I miss being called an idiot. (My sons aren’t old enough to start calling me that yet.) I’m happy to see Angela Keaton and Tom Knapp in the arena, though it’s weird having several friends running for president and having to decide which one, if any, to support. This must be what it feels like to be a senator. At the risk of angering everybody, I also have to say I’m still a fan of Wayne Allyn Root, which I’ll explain at some point in the future. I think the LP/BTP will have several good choices in 2012. (I’m hoping for a joint LP-BTP candidacy under the BLT label. Mmm… bacon.)

Speaking of candidacies, I will not be running for any public office any time soon. For one thing, I realized I have absolutely no desire to do so. For another, I couldn’t do so and keep my present job, which is a good gig that allows me a lot of time with my sons, whom we are homeschooling. If I do ever run for anything, it might be D.C. delegate to Congress. I am considering running for Libertarian National Committee in 2010 or 2012, but that’s a good ways off yet.

  1. This is like the Hotel California: you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

  2. Bad analogy Gene. Hotel California is a song about suicide from what I gathered. Of course being associated with the LP in general is like suicide, the longer you stay in the more likely one may kill themselves.

  3. “Hotel California is a song about suicide from what I gathered”

    Now I never caught that vibe.

  4. “Hotel California” is about being trapped in your own habits.

    Peter, I thought I was going to take several months off from the LP when my son was born in 2003.

    The hiatus lasted three days.

    My wife went into labor at an LP county meeting, of all places, and I had him in two at meetings, outreaches, and other things ever since.

    So don’t feel bad about ending your break. You aren’t the first and not the last.😀

  5. A song about suicide? That’s a new one on me.

    When I was a teenager back in the early 1980’s Christian preachers were claiming it was a song about the Church of Satan. I’m curious about what the “warm smell of colitas” has to do with Satan or suicide though.

  6. Hotel California (says the old broad, LOL) is about the foils of a hedonistic lifestyle, and is also interpreted as describing the excesses found in the underbelly of the proverbial American dream. I heard that in an interview with Don Henley a zillion years ago, so I don’t have an exact source, but it’s probably on the internet somewhere if anybody cares enough to look.

    I still have that 7″ single, by the way. Great song.

    Glad to have you back among us cool kids, Peter, but I just can’t bring myself to fulfill your fantasy of being called an idiot. LOL 😉

  7. I must withhold from getting suckered into calling Peter Orvetti an idiot again here because out of context it would just make me sound mean-spirited. Welcome back, sucker.😉

Leave a Reply

