Steve G.

Robert Milnes gets an early start on 2012

In Libertarian on October 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm

This is to announce my candidacy for President of the UNITED STATES of America in 2012. I plan to run as an independent on a ticket to be called Progressive Libertarian Alliance Independent. I will also seek the Libertarian and Green party nominations and any other state ballots I can secure. I have learned from my campaign for 2008. The party nomination process is unreliable. The third parties and independents are almost certain to fall into the same old losing pattern of niche tickets and short ballot access again for 2012. An Independent candidacy will guarantee a fusion ticket and maximum ballot access. I will establish a website and organization for vote coordination for progressive independent, Green and Libertarian downticket candidates. I seek a woman libertarian to complement the ticket. It is an interesting coincidence that I believe Teddy Roosevelt was a progressive left libertarian in his campaign of 1912. He came closest to winning as a third party or independent in the past 100 years with a second place finish at 27% in a close three way race with his newly formed Progressive Party. I will need campaign assistance including manager, media coordinator, webmaster, legal counsel and others as well as interested volunteers. Presently my main website is http://www.robertmilnes4president2008.com also http://www.robertmilnes.net but I will be putting up a new campaign website for 2012 soon. I look forward to the campaign and your interest and support.

  1. I seek a woman Libertarian, too!

    Oh. Wait.

  2. “I seek a woman Libertarian, too!”

    I don’t. I’m already happily married to one.😀

    And I’m not organized enough to run for President. Crazy enough, yes, but not organized enough–and I’m usually pretty organized!

  3. Progressive Libertarian Alliance Independent?

    Let’s add “Dumb” to that moniker and Milnes can run (away) on the PLAID ticket!

  4. Robert, you gonna spruce yourself up for a new picture for this one?

  5. Hey, if no one else has announced yet, we’ve got a real story here: “Robert Milnes is front runner for 2012.”

  6. Tom, he’s also running last, too.

  7. Who is Robert Milnes?

  8. Don’t ask! He’s the perpetual Comic Relief Candidate.

  9. My Fellow Americans,

    I’m here tonight to announce that I have no intentions on running for president of the UNITED STATES of American in 2012.

    Thank you for your continued support.

    Jason Gatties

    PS-I didn’t say anything about Vice President😉

    PSS-I’m not doing that either.

  10. Or is that PPS? I always get confused with that.

  11. Knapp,
    Announced Candidates are Jingo, Joy waymire, Root, and Milnes that I know of.

    So the order is
    1.Jingo
    2.Joy
    3.Robby
    4.Root

    Gatties would have been bumped to the top of that list…

  12. Thee-o, I’m so appreciative that you consider me one above w.a.r. Bob-o.

  13. Mike Theodore is a fine American and a snazzy dresser.🙂

  14. Wow…

    Four more years of Milnes? This is almost as bad as the groundhog seeing his shadow. Of course the groundhog has a much better chance of becoming president, so maybe Milnes should find a groundhog and run as his or her VP.

    The rodent/Milnes ticket. Sounds perfect. There’s already lots of information online about groundhogs, so Milnes won’t even need a website.

  15. Jingozian announced for 2012? I did not know that. I’m not sure if I would support him. I have nothing against him though.

    Root …. sorry, I wouldn’t vote for him for any office. He is too much like a used car salesman for my taste. Plus, his incessant name-dropping is annoying, and I honestly suspect he harbors racist viewpoints based upon his Reason interview.

    Who is Joy Waymire?

    I agree, Mike Theodore is a fine American, and (likely) a snazzy dresser. (I’ve never actually seen him, so I’ll just make the assumption on his appearance).

    This reminds me, I need to post about Jason’s BTP win. Sorry for the delay, Jason. I’ve got a lot on my plate right now, it was not an intentional oversight.

  16. Robert Milnes gets an early start on 2012.
    “I seek a woman libertarian to complement the ticket.”

    The early worm catches the bird?

  17. You can report my WIN next Tuesday🙂

    Hows that for over confidence?

    As for the BTP, I’m a small piece of the puzzle. I’m going to be a very quiet Chairman and the less headlines I get, the better. I would love to see BTP as a party get headlines at some point, but the new Nat Com is still getting our feet wet.

  18. C. Al Currier, IMO, my ticket could have won if Ruwart had joined me as vp as Independents instead of deferring to dinosaur fossil Ron Paul and losing to Starr & Barr. My hopes are ENM gets better & changes her mind.

  19. Stuart Flood, fuah again.

  20. “IMO, my ticket could have won if Ruwart…..….Robert Milnes

    My opinions are frequently very un-libertarian.

    1) I think the elections and campaigning go on waaaay too long.
    2) A political campaign that needs two people (like POTUS) should require a marriage license if it goes on for more than a month.

    Yeah, that’s right, a marriage license. Like Obama and Biden oughta need a same sex marriage license before they get to go flying around from state to state, month after month after month doing all the political nonsense talk. As to Mcain and Palin……(who cares).

    Opinion #3:
    Silence is golden, but duct-tape is silver.

  21. Jason wrote, “Or is that PPS? I always get confused with that.”

    It’s PPS. The easiest way to remember (at least for me) is that PS stands for “postscript”, so any additional postscripts would be a “post postscript”. 🙂

    Then Jason wrote, “You can report my WIN next Tuesday. Hows that for over confidence?”

    In my opinion, you already are a winner. You stood by your convictions and followed your dreams by putting yourself in the public eye as a candidate. That’s a winner, in my book, and it’s also far more than most of us (including me) will ever do, no matter how much we discuss what candidates should be doing.

    So you deserve to stand proud, and you deserve to feel confident. Even if you don’t get elected this time, you are building name recognition which will help you achieve your long-stated goal of making a real difference by becoming an elected public servant. And frankly, for all those reasons and more, I’m damn proud to be able to call you my friend. 🙂

  22. Really now.

    EFM: are you certain that this isn’t meant for The Onion?

  23. Awww, thanks ENM!

    Thats probably (no offense to others), the best endorsement I have received thus far.

  24. ENM and Jason, you guys are a warm spotlight of biscuit induced joyfulness!

    “Jingozian announced for 2012? I did not know that. I’m not sure if I would support him. I have nothing against him though.”

    He has repeatedly made the promise that whether or not he won the nomination, he would run again in 2012. I could support him if he won the nomination, and if the field is thin enough, I may support him. Citation: He, Root, Imperato, and Bob Jackson were the known frontrunners when I came in the LP. I was a natural Jingo fan at the time.

    “As for the BTP, I’m a small piece of the puzzle. I’m going to be a very quiet Chairman and the less headlines I get, the better. I would love to see BTP as a party get headlines at some point, but the new Nat Com is still getting our feet wet.”

    I think that’s the best thing a BTP Chairman could ever say.

    “Thats probably (no offense to others), the best endorsement I have received thus far.”

    None taken, since that was definitely the best endorsement I’ve seen.

  25. Does the LP have any rule about being a candidate for the presidential nomination while on the LNC, as Jingozian is now?

  26. Peter, not as far as I know.

    But in any case, worry about that after this cycle is finished first. One thing at a time.🙂

  27. If so, he still has until 2010 to skip out if necessary.

  28. If Milnes manages to get on my ballot(in print) I will vote for him. Screw it……..

Leave a Reply

