Steve G.

Barr TV ad

In Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics, Media, Politics on October 5, 2008 at 10:55 am

Here is the one the campaign produced:

Proposed alternative Bob Barr campaign commercial from Marc Gallagher at Liberty Maven

  1. I’m a bit biased I think, but I liked Badnarik’s ads better.

  2. That was as far back as I could find on youtube. If anyone has pre-2000 let me know.

  3. Borat’s hilarious, of course. My take on the ad is: Not the strongest offering out of the campaign. I REALLY would have liked to see 2 more points: End the Iraq War and Stop the Bailout. This was a bit TOO generic, IMO.

  4. Should have used Thompson Twins’ “Lies” for the chorus, including “they’re gonna getchya!”.

    Otherise, tellingly funny.

  5. This ad is much better than the other crap the campaign is putting out:

    http://outrightlibertarians.blogspot.com/2008/10/14th-amendment-is-part-of-constitution.html

    Mr. Barr has simply got to rein in his staff. He doesn’t believe this nonsense they’re putting out to pander to the right-wing crazies. But if he doesn’t say so publicly, voters will start to believe that he does agree with it. That’s not only bad for his campaign, but even worse for the Libertarian Party.

  6. Mr. Barr has simply got to rein in his staff.

    Bless you for using the (correct) phrase ‘rein in’ rather than ‘reign in’.

    As for He doesn’t believe this nonsense they’re putting out to pander to the right-wing crazies, I’m not sure how you can know that absent that public statement to the contrary that you (rightly) call for.

    I agree Verney is a (poison) pill. He’s got a hell of a lot of nerve asking for money from me using the line “[Obama] has publicly stated his disdain for justices Clarence Thomas, Antonin Scalia, Samuel Alito and Chief Justice John Roberts.”

    Just to be clear, I would like to He has publicly state my disdain for justices Clarence Thomas, Antonin Scalia, Samuel Alito and Chief Justice John Roberts.

    Oh, and Obama too.

    Verney’s got it in his head that this is a two-sided battle, and Barr has done -nothing- as far as I can tell to indicate that he does not hold the same left-right vision.

    How I long for November 5th:-/

Leave a Reply

