Steve G.

‘How can you throw your vote away?’

In Libertarian on September 17, 2008 at 8:05 am

In response to that all-too-common question, I’ve written a detailed reply. Since the argument is made in favor of any alternative candidate, not just liberty-minded ones, I put it over at Independent Political Report, not here.

  1. Nicely said. Nonetheless some of us live in the other 26 states that are “competitive.” Because our one vote is highly unlikely to be the difference, we too should vote our conscience. There is no prize that I know of for having voted for the winner. And great psychological pleasure from telling our colleagues, disappointed somewhere down the line, that
    “I told you so.”

  2. Your vote counts twice. Read Richard Rider’s comments:

    http://cmlc.org/methodsamerica5.htm

  3. Peter Orvetti is an idiot.

    I voted for Bob Dole in 1996 even though I despised him. That’s how you throw your vote away!

  4. Peter Orvetti is an idiot.

    Last May I forgot to early vote in the local elections. On election day (and for that whole weekend), I was fishing and doing other things down near South Padre Island, TX. That’s how I threw another vote away.

  5. No matter that you say it twice, it’s still not true. Ad hominem is ugly, pointless and ultimately not persuasive.

  6. George, I think Wes is joking (it’s a reference to something Peter wrote earlier). You’ll note his comments AGREE with Peter’s.

  7. My mistake then, I guess.🙂

  8. Yep, Wes is just giving me a noogie based on this post — https://lastfreevoice.wordpress.com/2008/07/16/peter-orvetti-is-an-idiot-part-one-of-many/ .

    It was actually part of a cunning plan on my part, to quote Blackadder. If Wes ever actually DOES think I’m being an idiot, no one will know if he means it. (Or maybe he does already… hmm…)

Leave a Reply

