Steve G.

LPMass to consider severing all relations to LSLA

In Libertarian on September 6, 2008 at 9:49 pm

The following statement was written and distributed by George Phillies.

I received an ad “We’re giving away 100,000 signs to support every campaign in America.” followed by various html links on how every campaign in America can get signs. I have no idea whether the ad is real, or whether Obama or McCain has already ordered the 100,000, but http://www.buildasign.com/ appears to be real. I forwarded this to the state chairs list, assuming that the average Libertarian candidate can find someone who can cut through the mystery code and line up signs for their people.

I thought I was being generous and helpful.

I instead receive from Steve Gordon a message cutting off my access to the LSLA list, for advancing my Presidential campaign. His message follows.

At the moment I *am* the LNC’s choice of candidate in Massachusetts, because of a decision *they* made. Indeed, I have asked several LNC members to include as a discussion topic support for my campaign as their candidate, should our suit fail.

I observe that there is no identification of the complaint, the complainant in best Soviet informant style is anonymous, and I am given no chance to defend myself against the lack of accusation.

Instead of courtesy, I am given a response that in my opinion is more fit to have emanated from the Alabama KKK.

Accordingly, I will offer at tomorrow’s LPMASS State Committee meeting, under our bylaws, a motion ordering and directing that LPMass sever all relations with LSLA, calling upon all officers and members to do the same, and making clear that individual LPMass members pursuing Federal or LNC office are in no sense discouraged from attending LSLA meetings.

I will not take it amiss if our exact position relative to the substitution suit is called up for reconsideration.

RE: The e-mail correspondence below

Dear Dr. Phillies,

Due to complaints regarding your recent promotion of a political campaign, one which is in opposition to the campaign of a legitimately nominated Libertarian Party candidate, I am placing your access to this e-mail list on the “moderation” level until some time following the upcoming presidential election.

Should you have any questions pertaining to this communication, please feel free to attempt to contact me at any time.

Regards,

Stephen Gordon
Chairman, Libertarian State Leadership Alliance

ENM notes:  George can “attempt to contact” you for questions?  Does that mean you foresee that he will not be able to contact you?

  1. Speaking as LPMA Operations Facilitator:

    I will second the motion…

    I would have to say that anything connected to Steve Gordon seems rather suspect in the first place considering the stuff it is alleged he was involved with in Denver and prior / post…

    I also will probably have no problem seconding a motion to reconsider our position in re: The Barr Substitution suite…

    Speaking as myself:

    While I’ve previously agreed (read I was outvoted) to sign off on substituting Barr if possible, I have never been enthusiastic about it, I’d really far rather see George on the ballot, (or possibly a more Libertarian candidate; *I* see George as a moderate minarchist at best, an acceptable compromise for now, but would really prefer an LNS-style anarcho-capitalist…)

    I see a distinct possibility that we may well have a motion at our next State Convention to have the LPMA disaffiliate with the LPUS entirely… (A motion I am inclined to support, if not make myself!)

    ART

  2. Let me attempt to mediate here (no delusions that I will be successful) since I consider both George and Steve to be friends.

    1. Not clear whether the complaints were in relations to the message about signs or another message(s).

    2. Anything in that message, including sig or previous messages for anyone who may be reading in digest mode, to have caused confusion in readers that George was distributing signs for his campaign or some such?

    3. Steve is placing George on moderation, not cutting him off completely.

    4. Steve tends to get very overloaded with work, so “attempt to contact” was not necessarily facetious.

    5. Steve has told me that negative personal reaction to KKK activities was what motivated his involvement in politics. I don’t think George was implying any such thing with the KKK comment, but I don’t think Steve is in any way a racist.

    I really hope they resolve their differences.

  3. Maybe Barr should be banned too, having supported Republican candidates in opposition of Libertarian Party candidates in multiple races…

  4. To clarify several issues…

    1) Dr. Phillies will not be stopped from using the LSLA e-mail list for the normal business of the Libertarian Party state chairs. He will not be allowed to promote the Obama, McCain, Nader, Baldwin, McKinney or Phillies presidential campaigns using the resources of the LSLA, however.

    2) The link provided in this article to buildasign.com is not the one which was in the e-mail Dr. Phillies sent to the LSLA list. Here is the link he provided in the e-mail message to the list: http://www.buildasign.com/campaign-signs/National/Presidential/George-Phillies?temcid=1005

    As of the time I am writing this comment, the linked signs read “Elect George Phillies President.”

    Here is an example of one of the signs depicted: http://www.gordonunleashed.com/philliessign.jpg

    3) If anyone (including the national chair, presidential nominee, executive director, board member, paid staffer, or a state chair) uses the LSLA list to promote a candidate who is opposing an LP candidate, his or her e-mail account will be placed in moderation, as well. However, most of these people don’t have access to the list.

  5. Dr. Phillies will not be stopped from using the LSLA e-mail list for the normal business of the Libertarian Party state chairs. He will not be allowed to promote the Obama, McCain, Nader, Baldwin, McKinney or Phillies presidential campaigns using the resources of the LSLA, however.

    Excellent. This is as it should be.

  6. Thanks to Steve for the clarification.

    I thought that something like this was what was likely to have I happened when I read this.

    I think the issue of contention is that the Phillies for President signs were just an *example* of what buildasign was saying it could do, but those reading the list could reasonably have interpreted it as a solicitation to order Phillies for President signs rather than signs for their own campaigns and/or those of other candidates in their respective states, especially if not reading carefully.

    It sounds like a misunderstanding.

  7. “3) If anyone (including the national chair, presidential nominee, executive director, board member, paid staffer, or a state chair) uses the LSLA list to promote a candidate who is opposing an LP candidate, his or her e-mail account will be placed in moderation, as well.”

    Will this apply to Barr as well, since he is opposing an LP candidate in NH?

    That would be consistent with the principle, after all…

  8. It is somewhat of a moot point – as of this afternoon the LPMA is no longer affiliated with the LSLA. While individual LPMA members may choose to join the LSLA, the LPMA State Committee discourages it, and prohibits the use of LPMA ex-officio status to claim LSLA eligibility….

    I will let George post the full text of the resolution passed.

    Given that communications between state parties can be useful at times, we will shortly be setting up a Forum area on the LPMA website in order to provide an alternative to the LSLA lists.

    Aside from filtering out blatant spam (if any) this area won’t be censored except by majority vote of the State Committee, and unlike the LSLA, there will not be a charge to participate.

    ART

  9. You know I thought Steve Gordon was a decent guy until the whole LibertyMix debacle. Granted, Steve gave me some in-roads to many Libertarian activists through the Russo campaign. I haven’t talked to Steve since after the National Convention and would care less if I ever heard from his backstabbing face again. I still wonder if him and Van Dyke just squandered the money that many Libertarians contributed to and to this day has not seen it come to existence. Either way, knowing that Steve is a Bob Barr hack, don’t trust him on any future campaigns or projects again.

  10. I still like Steve. He’s always treated me with respect.

    That being said, I have a growing respect for George Phillies as well and I can understand what this action was taken.

  11. errr…meant to say I understand “why” this action was taken.

    I almost wish I hadn’t gone out of town this weekend. Getting caught up on all the drama is shorting out my brain cells.

  12. That being said, the way I understand it (correct me if I’m wrong), but right now, all Stephen is doing is Moderating comments.

  13. I should really read everything twice before I comment on an issue. I took a second look.

  14. […] LPMass to consider severing all relation […]

Leave a Reply

