Steve G.

Bob Barr’s Stop the Bill of Rights Blackout Petition

In Civil Liberties, Constitutional Rights, First Amendment, Law, Libertarian, Libertarian Politics, Police State, Politics, US Government on July 31, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Petition to the U.S. House of Representatives
Committee on the Judiciary, Congressman Conyers, Chairman

Whereas, the basis for the laws of this great Republic is the Constitution, adopted September 17th, 1789; and,

Whereas, that Constitution provided for a clear but difficult procedure for amending it; and,

Whereas, the founding fathers saw a need for Amendments to guarantee certain civil rights to citizens including the right to a free press, free religious expression, the right to keep and bear arms, freedom from government seizure of their property, freedom from unlawful detention, the right to a prompt and fair trial by a jury, and protection from unreasonable bail requirements; and,

Whereas, these and other rights were considered important enough to be added as the first 10 Amendments and these have become known as The Bill of Rights; and,

Whereas, The Bill of Rights, ratified in 1791 remain untouched by Amendment for more than two centuries; and,

Whereas, the Executive branch of the Federal Government, through executive orders and other schemes has eroded many of these rights and still greater threats loom; Now therefore the undersigned citizens of the United States petition Congress to rise to its responsibilities and enforce and protect the Bill of Rights through any and all means at its disposal including but not limited to Committee Hearings and legal action through the courts.

Click here to sign the petition.

Disclaimer: Jake Porter is the Iowa Coordinator for the Bob Barr campaign

  1. Another great video by Barr. How many third party presidential candidates get to testify before Congress like that. Great job.

  2. Barr seems to be saying the right things this time, though I thought it interesting that he said words to the effect that each new administration uses the previous ones actions as a floor – REGARDLESS OF PARTY…

    From one running as a Libertarian for President, this seems like an interesting statement – perhaps a bit of a Freudian slip – if he’s planning to win, does this mean that he ALSO plans to pee on the Bill of Rights?

    The other two things I noticed was the lack of a “comments box” and the “opt-out” style box to get you onto his mailing list…

    Nevertheless, I signed it – still doesn’t make me want to vote for him.

    ART

  3. Arthur, seriously you are out in right field with your interpretation of Barr’s words. He did not say that, he did not imply it, he did not allude to it, it contradicts most or all of his platform and inferring it involves such contortions and torture that no reasonable person would reach your conclusion.

    I know you don’t like him, I know you’re an MA elector but you won’t vote for him, etc. I got it.

    Opposition is one thing. This borders on misrepresentation.

  4. Do they have the date wrong? Wasn’t it September 17, 1787?

  5. Yes, the date is wrong. Relevant dates were adopted in convention, 17 September 1787; ratified by the 9th state (New Hampshire) on 21 June 1788.

    I think the electoral college was selected in November 1788 and unanimously elected George Washington in 1789. By the time Barr’s people have the constitution adopted in 1789, Washington had been president under the constitution since April of 1789 – about six month.

    North Carolina ratified in November 1789. Rhode Island’s ratification was coerced in 1790.

  6. Having some Irish blood as well, I thought the mascot should be holding a Guinness or a Magners Cider bottle🙂

    And Jim, thanks for the explanation. Could have been a bit nicer about it, but I get it.

  7. Please, your majesty, the date is mistaken? What wasn’t nice about it?

  8. I think Jason’s comment was supposed to be in another thread, where the Fighting Irish mascot was being discussed.

  9. Jim…I said I understood. I’m not here to fight with you or anyone else.

    You explained what you meant…I get it.

  10. He probably was referring to the “judenrat” comments.

  11. hahaha…yeah, I’m in the wrong thread!

  12. Well, get the hell out!

    (j/k)

  13. I will

    I feel like a dumbass

    haha

    Carry on with your Bill of Rights discussion!

  14. Has anyone contacted the Barr campaign about the factual error issue? That will detract from whatever they are hoping to accomplish with this, assuming it’s anything other than building up their mailing list.

  15. Jason, oh, okay, now I understand. Glad we’re all on different pages.

    Paulie, I dare not help the Barr campaign.

  16. I did not mean you, necessarily.

  17. […] Last Free Voice, Arthur DiBianca and Boston Tea Party chair Jim Davidson point out the dates in Barr’s […]

  18. […] Bob Barr's Stop the Bill of Rights Black […]

  19. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  20. I used to be suggested this web site by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this submit is written by way of him as no one else know such exact approximately my difficulty.

    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  21. I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, many thanks for permitting
    me to comment!

Leave a Reply

