Steve G.

This is a limited time offer. Operators are standing by….

In Economics, Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics, Politics on July 30, 2008 at 3:11 am

Via disinter

Susan Davis reports:

In perhaps the most desperate sounding e-mail solicitation yet this election cycle, third party Libertarian candidate Bob Barr’s campaign manager sent out a plea today to supporters to raise $15,000 each day this week—or else.

Under the subject line, “Have I said or done something to offend you?” Russ Verney writes, “You see, I have to report that unless we receive and immediate cash infusion of $85,000, our progress will stop dead in its tracks. To be very blunt, I am presently faced with bills equaling our bank account balance, and I know there are many more expenses on the horizon.”

According to the latest report with the Federal Election Commission, Barr’s campaign had just $69,000 cash on hand at the end of June, and he raised just under $200,000 last month.

If you donate in the next 15 seconds, you can get a Bob Barr bumpersticker at no charge!

  1. LNC, Install a fusion ticket with great public debate & fanfare & you will get msm, curiousity & interest, bump in polling & support/donations.

  2. Answer to Russ Verney – yes, you have offended me. You ran a candidate that is NOT a libertarian in a Libertarian race… Misrepresentation always annoys me…

    (I’ve never asked off their list, and they used to send me stuff, but it appears they have now stopped as I didn’t get that one (yet?) perhaps they realized I don’t like Barr?)

    ART
    LPMA Operations Facilitator
    LPMA Presidential Elector – NOT voting for Barr
    Elected Libertarian
    Speaking for myself

  3. Funny, now that you mention it – I seem to have been dropped off the list as well.

    Less funny – I also apparently have been dropped off the list for LP News, which is no longer available online, even though I am a life member of the party and have called to make them aware of this situation.

  4. I donated twice to the Barr campaign, in $100 installments, but after the comments on Helms and Barr coming out for the Fannie/Freddie bailout, I am holding further contributions.

    The latter especially irked me because bailing out private enterprise is without a doubt 0% Libertarian. At a time when we needed more people speaking out to let the market take its course, our chief spokesman took a statist line. Fail.

    I think this last message may have been just for people who have already donated? I’m not sure.

  5. Yep, done a bunch of things to offend me. List is at reasontofreedom.

    http://www.reasontofreedom.com/blog/jim_davidson/rotting_carcass_lp_national.html

    Hubba hubba.

Leave a Reply

