Steve G.

Press Release: Todd Andrew Barnett now only candidate in BTP Vice Chair race; Barnett thanks Jason Gatties for his brief run

In Libertarian on July 23, 2008 at 7:06 pm

The following is a press release from the Todd Andrew Barnett campaign for BTP Vice Chair.

For Immediate Release
POC, Todd Andrew Barnett, BTP Vice-Chair
ToddAndrewBarnett@gmail.com
(586) 725-9218

New Baltimore, MI – Todd Andrew Barnett, who currently serves as the national Boston Tea Party’s Vice Chair, is announcing that Boston Tea Party Vice Chair candidate Jason Gatties has dropped out of the BTP Vice Chair race. In a private email that was sent to Barnett, Gatties has expressly told him that he is withdrawing his bid to run for the seat to focus on his Lake Michigan College Board of Trustee race.

Gatties, who currently also serves as Secretary of the Boston Tea Party of Michigan, says that a new candidate has entered the Board of Trustee race. “Even though this is a ‘elect 3′ situation, it looks like I will need to beat this new opponent should I have any chance at winning in November,” he wrote. “She has very strong ties to the school, so I will really need to focus on her if I am to win.”

He continues, “So, with that in mind, I will kindly withdraw my previous announcement that I will seek the BTP Vice Chair seat. This new development in my race for LMC Board of Trustees must now dominate my focus.”

Gatties’ announcement of his decision to withdraw his Vice-Chair bid has become both a complete surprise and disappointment for Barnett. However, despite those sentiments, he is saddened by the decision and supports his respected colleague for it. “I am deeply shocked and disappointed by Jason’s decision to withdraw from this race,” said Barnett. “But I do understand and respect it. He has to do what’s in the best interest of his college board race, and I, for one, would have done the same thing if I were in his shoes. His local, non-partisan race is more paramount than this race, and I praise him for doing what is right.”

But there appears to be a future in Gatties’ party office prospects. “I may seek the Vice Chair or Chair seat with the Michigan BTP, a move which may help lighten Todd’s load since I do have the most ‘political experience’ within our group, especially when it comes to election law & petitioning,” Gatties wrote.

“Whatever Jason decides to do after this, he has my full support,” said Barnett. “I truly mean that.”

Gatties has also indicated his support for Barnett as Vice-Chair, especially with the Party’s second national convention coming up on October 24. “When it comes time to nominate a Vice Chair for the BTP National, I will nominate & endorse Todd for that position,” he wrote.

“Jason is a great man of wisdom and strength in this Party,” said Barnett. “I welcome his support wholeheartedly and accept it in advance.” Thanking him for his Vice-Chair bid, Barnett notes, “He deserves my thanks and respect for his interest and enthusiasm that he brought into this race. The BTP is stronger and more united than ever, thanks to good and honorable people like him. He’s a good and decent American and a patriot. I urge my fellow BTP members to thank Jason for his run and support his race, as he will need it now more than ever.”

The Boston Tea Party, which was formed in 2006, is the fastest growing libertarian alternative, having successfully chartered more than nine affiliates. It has the World’s Smallest Political Platform, which reads as the following:

The Boston Tea Party supports reducing the size, scope and power of government at all levels and on all issues, and opposes increasing the size, scope and power of government at any level, for any purpose.

  1. Well it would be hard to be Vice Chair while being Trustee. Which he will be elected.😀

  2. Can’t we come up with a couple more spliter parties to split the Libertarian vote? If we’re not careful, the Libertarians could break 10% this year, and be on future ballots without petitions!

  3. “Can’t we come up with a couple more spliter parties to split the Libertarian vote?”

    I can think of about two. With more to come! MUAHAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

