Steve G.

Todd Andrew Barnett to seek re-election as BTP Vice Chair

In Libertarian on July 21, 2008 at 11:55 pm

The following is a press release issued by or on behalf of Todd Andrew Barnett.

For Immediate Release
POC, Todd Andrew Barnett, BTP Vice-Chair
ToddAndrewBarnett@gmail.com
(586) 725-9218

New Baltimore, MI — Boston Tea Party Vice-Chairman Todd Andrew Barnett has announced that he will seek re-election to the office of the Boston Tea Party Vice-Chair. The National Boston Tea Party’s convention, which will hold elections for all seven seats of the Boston Tea National Committee, will be held on this upcoming October 24.

Barnett, who is also the Chair of the Boston Tea Party of Michigan, announces his run hours after Boston Tea Party member and Boston Tea Party of Michigan Secretary Jason Gatties has declared his intention to run for the same seat hours ago. Barnett was appointed to the post after the recent resignation of Dr. Tom Stevens, who also resigned from the Party shortly after that.

“I am surprised but also elated to hear that my good friend Jason Gatties is launching his bid for my seat in the Party,” said Barnett. “I’m elated because I love a good debate and challenge with my friend. If he sticks with his campaign, it will surely be the most contentious yet most exciting race in the history of the BTP. That I promise you.”

Barnett, who had told a couple of his friends of his intention to run for re-election to the seat, says that his work on the National Committee isn’t done. “There’s more to do as the Vice-Chair of the BTP,” he said. “Membership needs to continue to grow, assist the next chairman with organizing more state affiliates, and build the Party from the ground up. This is a grass-roots endeavor, and my work is cut out for me.”

Citing his record on the Committee as having paved the way for party growth and success, he believes that his top priority is to ensure that the Party will be a force to be reckoned with by 2012. “My job as the Vice-Chair isn’t done,” said the vice-chairman. “I believe that fostering a good rapport with the next chair as I have done with Chairman Jim Davidson and future state affiliates is the key to the Party’s success. There’s more work to be done. We’ve barely scratched the surface this election season, but we have made a lot of excellent progress along the way. I believe that I am qualified to make sure that we are the Party that accomplishes that.”

The Boston Tea Party was formed in July of 2006 on the heels of the disastrous Libertarian National Convention in Portland, Oregon, in which over 80 percent of that party’s platform was shredded. It is the fastest growing libertarian alternative, having the World’s Smallest Political Platform which reads as the following:

The Boston Tea Party supports reducing the size, scope and power of government at all levels and on all issues, and opposes increasing the size, scope and power of government at any level, for any purpose.

  1. I like Todd and wish him well. However in the coming weeks, I will state my case as to why I feel I will be a more competent Vice Chairman. That’s not a knock on Todd per say, but the BTP needs a Vice Chairman who is well versed in all aspects of politics, not just activism.

    In the coming weeks, I will prove why I am the wise choice for the members of the Boston Tea Party.

    On another note, I’m currently negotiating 2 debates with Todd. I know he will be willing to do it. It would be set well enough in advance to allow members to come up with questions, and well enough in advanced so that should another candidate pop up, he/she will have enough time to prepare as well.

  2. Who, if anyone, is running for chairman?

  3. Rumor has it that Chris Bennett is considering.

  4. […] chairman Jim Davidson will not be seeking re-election. Rumor has it that Chris Bennett — who has publicly stated his intention to leave the LP in November […]

  5. I am not going to stay actively involved with the BTP right now, but I wish all of the members and candidates luck with their efforts.

Leave a Reply

