Steve G.

Ready to go to jail? Sign up now!

In Green Party, Iran on July 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm
From the Green Party’s Gregg Jocoy:
Taking the idea of non-violent direct action to it’s logical conclusion, a small (so far) group of people has announced their intention to fill the jails the day George Bush (or the next president) attacks Iran.

The group, organized at FaceBook, goes by the name Iran Pledge of Resistance.
The group issued this statement:

Should the U.S. strike the nation of Iran we will engage in dramatic nonviolent direct action, risking arrest, and hopefully filling up the jails. At 5 p.m. on the same day, or at 9 a.m. the following day (whichever happens sooner) we will go to our nearest places of government (state or federal buildings), and block all entrances until removed by law enforcement. We will make our appearance and the action itself as dramatic as possible.

The founder of the group also maintains a blog which is linked right here.

I’ve joined the group and will keep my eye peeled to see if any of the Presidential candidates agrees to be tossed in jail for opposing an attack on Iran.

  1. Not long ago, I placed myself under “24 house arrest” and prayed for Aung San Suu Kyi.

    Unfortunately, in my line of business, I can’t afford to get arrested for real. There are licensing issues and I could end up jobless. I’d be outraged, but my son needs to eat.

  2. *should have read “24 hour house arrest”

  3. I’ll join if any of my facebook friends send me an invite.

  4. Invitation sent Paulie!

    Rocky

  5. “24 house arrest”

    Is like like a “24” Marathon?

    Was Jack Bauer involved?
    😀

Leave a Reply

