Steve G.

Last (but not least!) Free Voice contributor: Wes Benedict

In Libertarian Party-US on July 7, 2008 at 4:45 am

The mother of ElfNino let me have a login and password.  No longer stuck in the cheap seats, now I get to irritate, agitate, educate, and possibly even fabricate from the front row–at least until my posting privileges get revoked.

Elfninosmom suggested I post “a little something” to tell readers who I am.  Perhaps she read my mind, because talking about myself is one of my favorite topics (bragging about the LP Texas being a close second).

First, let me see if I can insert a big smiling picture:

Yeah, that worked.

More about me.

I serve as the Executive Director of the Libertarian Party of Texas (LPTX). The LPTX has a record 174 candidates on the ballot for the November 2008 elections.  About 175 people attended our June state convention in Fort Worth.  Our preliminary reports show the LPTX raised $81,000 in the first six months of 2008 and we didn’t receive any funds from National for ballot access drives because we don’t have to do one this year.  Did any other states beat $81,000 with or without National help? California?

Any claims that most of that money ended up in my pockets are highly exaggerated.  I have two other members of my staff and I had to pay a lot of that money to them.  Of course postage and printing and convention hotel expenses ate up a lot of it too. None of that money went towards cheesy television commercials.

I served as the Southwest Region 6 representative on the LNC from 2006 to 2008. That experience provided me with enough fodder to gossip about the National Libertarian Party for years to come.

I’m currently a Libertarian Party candidate for County Commissioner.

I ran for Austin City Council in 2003 receiving 35% of the vote in a two-way race, in 2005 placing second out of five with 18%, and 2006 receiving 17% in a three-way race (as a “paper” candidate this time).  These were non-partisan at-large races. I was endorsed by the Travis County Green Party in one or two of those races.

The Libertarian Party of Texas was a big mess in 2003.  Hard work on simple things changed that.

A few more random things:

Resume: http://wesbenedictforlnc.blogspot.com/2006/02/qualifications-resume.html

Favorite restaurant: Wendy’s Hamburgers

Favorite beer: Natural Light

Age: 39

Marital status: single

Waistline: 34 inches and growing

Short-term goals: 32 inches

Where do I see myself in 5 years?: married with a 36 inch waistline

Hobbies: posting snarky comments on blogs

Pet peeves: they’re both from California

Weaknesses: judgment

Sign:  Vote Libertarian

That’s about all I can take about myself and the Libertarian Party of Texas for one day.  I look forward to fighting with all of you!

  1. Wes, for god’s sake if you are going to wear a toupee for these photos at least try to find one that looks decent.

  2. disinter:

    That’s a bona fide comb-over, not a toupee. I haven’t looked into toupee’s or other hair loss deception methods other than baseball caps. I did have a mole burned off my nose recently but nobody knows about that besides me and my dermatologist! I may experiment with shaving my head completely bald again, but that’s a personal issue.

  3. Welcome aboard, I look forward to reading your posts. Especially how the Texas party is doing so well. To what do you attribute this (other than hard work)?

  4. Combovers are cute. Bald is sexy. Wes: the ball (so-to-speak) is in your court🙂

  5. Great job, Wes!

    You’re doing great.

  6. Welcome on board Wes!

  7. (and I hope Mike and I aren’t the two California-related pet peeves!)

    Still stuck in the land of Chinese smog, rolling blackouts, and rapidly withering oranges–

  8. Hmmm? I thought Snarky was the mascot.

    Welcome and Bring It On!

    MHW

  9. That’s it, I’m going to start reading this site.😀

  10. […] Last (but not least!) Free Voice contrib […]

Leave a Reply

