Steve G.

Liberty Cap Talk Live: Angela Keaton interviews

In Libertarian on June 28, 2008 at 5:49 pm

Todd Andrew Barnett of Liberty Cap Talk Live has conducted a two-part interview (total 110 minutes) with LNC member Angela Keaton.

Click here to listen to part one

Click here to listen to part two

Thanks to Todd Andrew Barnett for forwarding this information for LFV readers!

  1. Wish there were transcripts for these sorts of things – I don’t have time to waste 110 minutes listening to something that I could read in 10 minutes or less… I really don’t like audio other than music…

    ART

  2. Arthur:

    If you want…and I mean this…REALLY want a transcript of the entire interview with me, Angela, and Jim, you should produce it. Knock yourself out! Type out the transcript. If you don’t have time to spend listening to 110 minutes worth of interviewing time, then I suggest you ask someone to do it on your behalf.

    I don’t have the time to transcript my own show, considering there’s no incentive for me to do it. Anyone who wants a transcript is free to spend as much as he or she wants to do it, but that’s not my responsibility; that’s the responsibilty of anyone who wants such things.

    Honestly, if you don’t have the time, MAKE the time. Otherwise, you’re wasting your own time moaning about the lack of transcripts for these things.

    One other thing: if you do a transcript (or recruit someone to do it), it should be placed on a free website or just a site that can be created at the cheapest cost (a domain name, web hosting, etc.).

    Yours in Liberty,

    Todd Andrew Barnett
    Host, Liberty Cap Talk Live
    Host, Liberty Cap Talk Live: The Special Edition

  3. Todd, my comments were in no way intended as an attack on you personally, or your show, etc… I certainly understand that producing a transcript can be a challenge, and hope that Text-to-Speech software will someday get to the point where it’s not an issue.

    I can relate to not having the time – if I don’t have the time to listen to the show, I certainly wouldn’t have the time to transcribe it. I also agree with you on the “scratching the itch” aspects of the people that want them being the ones that need to produce them (although there is the question of rights that might need to be resolved in many cases to avoid copyright problems)

    If ever I were to do a transcript I agree on making it available – probably under some form of Creative Commons or GFDL license…

    Mostly what I’m trying to say is that at least in some degree, there is a “marketplace demand” for written material as opposed to audio – those producing audio might (or might not) want to see if there are ways to satisfy it… (The incentives may differ, but I see little difference between the “marketplace of ideas” and the “marketplace of things” in this regard)

    Those of us that believe in free markets know that the basic theme of the marketplace is “How can I help you (better than my competition)?” – and the biggest way you can help the market is to answer that question – so all I’m doing is telling people… Some folks like “books on tape”, I want “books on dead trees” – (or at least recycled electrons ;-} ) Nothing wrong with either as such, but I spend my attention units on the form factor I prefer, so if you want to “sell” to me, that’s what it takes…

    ART

  4. Arthur:

    I see your point, and I understand completely. As I stated before, you can either make the time or you can recruit someone to do it for you.

    I would be willing to make a transcript of the show, provided that there were some kind of monetary compensation for it. I just don’t have the time to do these things for free; however, I would be willing to do it for a fair price. I don’t volunteer to do things for free, unfortunately.

    If you or anyone else were interested in transcribing the interview, you or anyone else wouldn’t be required to do it under Creative Commons or a GFDL License. Since I own the rights to the show and the episodes archived on NowLive’s site, I am granting you and every interested party permission to transcribe it, provided that you post a copy of it on LFV or some hosted free site’s server.

    Thanks!

    Todd

Leave a Reply

