Steve G.

Gene Trosper’s “Bouquets for Bureaucrats”

In Libertarian on June 23, 2008 at 2:42 am

From Libertarian Action:

Politicians and bureaucrats aren’t exactly known as harbingers of happiness. So why not send them a little happiness instead, coupled with a simple message from their constituents?

Libertarians in California, lend me your ears for a moment on this proposition.

Currently, the California State Senate is considering SB 1499, What is this bill, you ask? It would effectively ban those cheerful and colorful mylar balloons that we give to our children and others whom we love during special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries and graduations. Dour kill joys such as bill sponsor Jack Scott want to take away just one more slice of happiness out of our already stressful lives! You know what I say? Let’s give Senator Jack Scott and his bureaucratic buddies a message by sending a little taste of happiness to their offices with a nice, colorful mylar balloon bouquet!

It won’t cost much to do this. One person can easily send a small mylar balloon arrangement to their State senator — and maybe a bonus bouquet to the ever special Jack Scott! If you like, share the expense among your local LP activists!

Although it’s always nice to bring a little sunshine into someone’s life, this action is not without some seriousness. Each balloon bouquet should be accompanied by a statement as to who the bouquet is from and why it is sent:

Dear Senator X,This is sent to give you a little happiness today, but to also remind you of the happiness you will deny many children and others within California if you vote to ban balloons such as the ones you see right now. We strongly urge you to oppose SB1499.

An alternative message could simply read: “Thank you for opposing SB 1499″, accompanied with a nice “thank you” mylar balloon (H/T to Lady Gaura for the “thank you” suggestion!).

Of course, LP affiliates should also send out a news release announcing this action a few days in advance. If delivering this bouquet locally, be certain to have media presence, because this is a wonderful photo op!

For more information on S(ad) B(ill) 1499, please visit here.

As always, I am glad to assist in any way I am possible to, so feel free to contact me.

–Gene Trosper

UPDATE FROM LADY GAURA IN COMMENTS: “Gene was unfortunately looking at an non-updated website and thought the bill was still in the Senate. In reality it goes before ASSEMBLY Business and Professions Committee on TUESDAY.

“Sorry if that’s short notice– unfortunately I didn’t make it too clear in my blog that inspired Gene with his idea.”

  1. I am thinking about sending a big fat turd to Bob Barf.

  2. Please be aware!

    Gene was unfortunately looking at an non-updated website and thought the bill was still in the Senate. In reality it goes before ASSEMBLY Business and Professions Committee on TUESDAY.

    Sorry if that’s short notice– unfortunately I didn’t make it too clear in my blog that inspired Gene with his idea.

  3. disinter Says:
    June 23, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I am thinking about sending a big fat turd to Bob Barf.

    Have fun with your scatalogical project, Disinter.

  4. LadyGaura is CORRECT. It’s my bad that I got the wrong info. Seems that I have fallen out of practice the past few years when I dropped all political activity. Getting back in the saddle again has been rather brutal in reminding me just how rusty I had become! I have my blog updated to reflect the new information!

    By the way, thanks for posting this info. I came over to see what the deal was when LadyGuara said something about LFV.

  5. You’re welcome, Libertarian Action. If you have anything else you want posted on LFV, feel free to send it to me. 🙂

  6. As a comment, one thing that I didn’t really find in either Gene’s article, or in the Balloon Council website he linked to, was a clear explanation of WHY they are attempting to ban the balloons…

    From the scatterred references, I’m guessing that they are concerned about the possibility of escaped balloons shorting out power lines, but it really could be a LOT clearer, and preferably on an easily found part of the site.

    I’d like to see a much clearer statement as to “Proponents say X, but in fact Y”…. Maybe I’m over-generous, but I really don’t think the legislators are motivated by a desire to ruin little kid’s days, so it would have been nice if there were a more clear and readily found motivation about WHY they are doing it – I thought of a few off hand, hadn’t guessed about the electrical issue – but are popped balloons a choking hazard? Do they pose a threat of some sort to the environment? etc…

    More idle curiosity than anything, I have to admit this one doesn’t make me feel terribly motivated…

    ART

  7. Yes, the power companies are freaking out about the balloons causing power outages.

    Never mind that the balloons, when they do tangle, tend to cause an extremely minor outage, less than $20k to fix.

    Out here, you always try and find a “for the children” angle, because they WILL hook on that. It’s a Cali thing, Art. New England (and my mom’s family is from Ludlow, MA, so I DO know your area) is a very different frame of mind.

  8. PS I have no idea how to link my blog in the way Gene did, but I do have an essay up at ladygaura.wordpress.com

  9. Yup, Burbank is complaining about power failures from the balloons.

    Never mind that the same thing an be done with a latex balloon with a wet string. Or even a kite with a wet string–ask Ben Franklin on that one. No bans on wet strings or latex balloons being attempted–that’d never fly either.

    Mylar balloons don’t “pop” like latex ones do. They are more rigid, and all they do is slowly deflate when punctured–they don’t even fly around the room backwards blowing a long raspberry at you. And, no, they’re not a choking hazard, either.

    What this bill is about is a solution in search of a problem, and a bunch of hysterics by the lazy folks at the Burbank power companies, PG&E, or whomever.

Leave a Reply

