Steve G.

New addition to the blogroll: anarchy is not a dirty word

In Libertarian on June 19, 2008 at 2:32 am

http://freemarketanarchist.wordpress.com/

From republican to libertarian to anarchist- a natural progression for the somewhat intelligent

I’ve long questioned man’s desire to control another through governmental coercion. Right, left, up or down on the political spectrum matters for nothing as representatives on all sides attempt, albeit in different ways, to control their fellow men by theft and regulation. For several years I associated with the Libertarian Party because I thought it might be a group working toward the dissolution of such coercion. But, after watching some of my fellow party members be corrupted into becoming that which we were supposed to be fighting, I recognized that any person or group attempting to change the system from the inside will undoubtedly sell out to play the political game. Nowhere was that more evident than the Libertarian Party national convention hosted in May in the fine city of Denver.

It was not without a little heartache that I concluded that political parties- even the LP- are the antithesis of a free heart and mind and I left. Of course, I didn’t leave the many friends that I made over the years; I just left behind the silliness of ballot access fund raising drives and water board/ dog catcher electoral successes.

My time within the LP wasn’t wasted though. I evolved to my present position because of those years of reading and study and today understand that the ideal world would be one of free market anarchy. Please don’t misunderstand me. I fully recognize that some people would want some sort of governing and I support the right to that through a voluntary association. But, it is a violation of my right to live in liberty if you force your form of government upon me and I just can’t live with that contradiction anymore.

So, here I am with a new blog. I may still write from time to time at my old libertarian site because I do believe that libertarianism and anarchism are not incompatible. (If you knew how many people to whom I explained anarchy after they researched the beginning of the LP…) I hope you enjoy it here and visit often but it won’t be something I write my congressman over.

1.
pauliecannoli said, on June 18th, 2008 at 9:22 pm

I’ve been an anarchist since 2000.

I might have left the LP long before now except for two things

1) I became a life member in 2000 (a few months before becoming an anarchist)

2) It’s a major client for work.

Between those two things, I keep getting dragged back to try to make it better, and am continuously disappointed.

I had a pretty evolved plan to concentrate my efforts in what I thought would be a more productive direction, but they fell through right after Denver.

Those two more or less simultaneous disappointments had me in a pretty bad funk for a few weeks. I’m just now getting back to the point where I can even work.

  1. With all respect, how do you reconcile “it’s a major client for work” with your thinking that the LP and all political parties are engaged in evil activities?

  2. Years ago I saw this movie, maby it was Airport 30, or something like that. Anyhow there is a character in it seen sitiing in a chair at an airport somewhere. I think this guy was a cop and he is reading a newspaper which has the headlines “Better Government thru Intimidation”. I always thought that would make a great bumper sticker. Regardless that is what it is all about.

    MHW

  3. So THAT is why the LP is such a failure… those with half a brain eventually figure it all out and bail while the retarded lemmings stay Republicrats and the really, really retarded (retard caucus) stay in the LP either trying to transform it into another Republicrat party or… what was Einstein’s definition of insanity again?

  4. With all respect, how do you reconcile “it’s a major client for work” with your thinking that the LP and all political parties are engaged in evil activities?

    Where did I say I thought so?

    And, if I do, it’s simply a matter of dealing with reality. For instance, I may not like that the government owns the roads but I have to deal with it.

    Still, I never recall saying what you seem to think I said.

Leave a Reply

