Steve G.

Sullentrup threatens Angela Keaton

In Libertarian on June 16, 2008 at 4:45 pm

Although he has absolutely no authority whatsoever to do so, LNC Secretary Bill Sullentrup has told elected LNC At-Large Representative Angela Keaton to resign, with a veiled threat that her resignation would “save [her] and the rest of [the LNC] the trouble.”

The trouble of what, Mr. Sullentrup? Do tell.

The following documentation is on Angela Keaton’s blog.

*************************************

Date: Mon, 16 Jun 2008 06:53:07 -0700
From: starrcpa@pacbell.net
To: lnc-discuss@lp.org
Subject: Re: [Lnc-discuss] Mail Ballot, Give-or-Get Program

So, let me get this straight.
If, say, Dan Karlan, Bill Redpath, Jim Lark and several others tell me to go ahead and disclose to others how much we gave and raised, this motion basically prohibits us from doing so.
I wonder if anyone else is as troubled by the philosophical implications of this motion as I am.
Aaron Starr

*************************************

RE: [Lnc-discuss] Mail Ballot, Give-or-Get Program‏
From: Keaton (angelasssskeaton.com)
Sent: Mon 6/16/08 2:19 PM
To: Aaron Starr (starrchamber@pacbell.net); LNC Discuss (lnc-discussssslp.org)

Mr. Starr:

First, no one pays his accountant for philosophical insights. Stick to the matter at hand. Second, the appeals to name dropping don’t work with those us beyond the age of 13. If Messrs. Karlan, Redpath and Lark wish to shave their heads and stick them in ant hills, will we add that to the policy manual? Finally, where was the push for this last term? Oh, of course, we wouldn’t want a radical to outshine the oh so rich and attractive moderates hence the applying of other people’s solicitations to your little friend’s totals.

Really, I’ve had enough. If any of you are qualified to be on an actual board of directors, please knock yourselves out. Don’t diddle the rest of us.

Keaton

************************************

rwsully@charter.net
Sent: Mon 6/16/08 2:29 PM
To: Keaton (angelasdfasdfaangelakeaton.com)

Angela,

<Really, I’ve had enough.>

I gathered as much.

So why don’t you resign? Save yourself and the rest of us the trouble.

  1. That’s one way of reading it, I suppose, but I don’t necessarily think it was a threat. Maybe he meant the trouble of putting up with each other?

  2. Ms. Keaton,

    I did not threaten you.
    I did not tell you to resign.

    I suggested you resign because obviously you are very unhappy with your position on the board and are behaving like a brat.

    Please figure out what it is you can do to advance the cause of Liberty, and then go do it. I submit behaving like a brat is unbecoming, undignifiied and detrimental to both yourself and the cause.

  3. That’s what I thought he meant.

    Personally, I like it when Angela acts like a brat, even though I’m not the one who gets to spank her.

    As for what she can do to advance the cause of liberty, it happens to be her full time job.

  4. We need Angela to remain on the LNC. Period.

  5. Bill– maybe you don’t understand the understandable anger of an empowered woman. I don’t call it “brattiness” Brattiness is my son fussing about being on the Convention floor with no rational reason behind his desire. That’s brattiness. Angela has a reason, darn it.

    It’s correct that she works for Antiwar.com, and works darn hard to make sure that they can continue to deliver a message that American imperialism doesn’t work. Maybe you didn’t know that. Or you didn’t care.

    Let’s see, you would rather what? A compliant little meek churchmouse? Then go work on someone’s campaign to elect then in 2010. Leave Angela be.

  6. Kudos to Angela Keaton for raising the bullshit flag.

    The LNC’s “loyal opposition” has become increasingly and ever more tightly wrapped in the mummy’s rags of a “collegiality at all costs — at least as long as the de facto ‘establishment’ is getting its way” mode of doing things over the years. Those in the middle, also, have been slowly dragged down into said “establishment” through their own benevolent instincts toward friendly and polite conduct.

    Of course, “collegiality” has always gone out the window when the de facto “establishment” hasn’t had its way. It has only been a restraining value for the loyal opposition — said “establishment” always has venom at ready and to spare when questioned in any way. What’s sauce for the goose …

  7. Hey Sullen, if Angela is hitting that much of a nerve, by spreading sunshine on the situation, then it appears that you can’t handle the job except in dark secret, so why don’t YOU resign instead???

    She’s not unhappy with her position on the board. She ran for re-election as at-large, remember? What she is unhappy about is the antics of some people in there, including you.

    The solution is really simple, and Angela is implementing it with a “Damn the torpedos, full speed ahead” approach: exposure.

    Remember who you work for.

    Lidia, remind me to ship her some more LED flashlights and batteries…

  8. It was not a threat.

    I think Angela Keaton does a good job, but I’d get tired of about her menses as well.

  9. It appears from the invective utilized in this forum that Mr. Sullentrup is threatened by strong-willed, empowered females, and thus has a need to “put her in her place”. After all, can you even imagine Mr. Sullentrup calling a male member of the LNC (or any adult male) a “brat”?

    I have encountered this very kind of situation repeatedly in my career, because I rocked the boat as well. Most men are smart enough to not put that kind of insult in writing, though.

  10. ENM, you may be right.

    Empowered women don’t bother me at all, mainly because they usually think like I do–no bullshit, straight-up, like-it-or-lump-it. I wish more people were like that, especially in politics.

    But I’m not most men, either.🙂

    And I can’t picture Angela “in her place” as Sullen would have her, because let’s face it, she’s not the apron-wearing, kitchen-scrubbing type, and this ain’t no “Leave it to Beaver” episode, either.

    Angela, you are woman, let us hear you ROAR!😀

  11. In addition to trying to parse the Sullen Trollop’s, er, Sullentrup’s words, which Paulie was able to do successfully, I think someone should expand a bit on what Angela means when she says she’s had enough. I know that tone in her voice and that gleam in her eye. She’s ready for a fight.

    She’s had enough of the garbage that passes for civility and the hiding their heads in the sand that excuses the lack of progress they would be able to see if they took their heads out — of whatever dark, viscous stuff they’re hidden in – which the Bloody Path, Spar, and Sullen ones seem to think is working. The LP is failing. It is failing to raise money. It is hemorrhaging existing members and failing to attract new ones. And it is not just me or Angela or some other “radical” noticing. David Nolan made his thoughts public in his flyer at the Denver convention, and elsewhere.

    There is nothing to be done to save the LPNC trouble. The only question is how much trouble, and from which direction, do they want at one time.

    There is an operation for recto-cranial inversion. And if you don’t like the diagnosis….

  12. After all, can you even imagine Mr. Sullentrup calling a male member of the LNC (or any adult male) a “brat”?

    Yes.

  13. By the way, what’s wrong with being a brat?

    I can be one too. So there.

  14. It’s the LP’s job to discomfort the Establishment.

    And when the LP fails its job, it’s the Radicals’ job to discomfort the LP.

    Glad to see Angela is doing her job!

  15. It appears from the invective utilized in this forum that Mr. Sullentrup is threatened by strong-willed, empowered females, and thus has a need to “put her in her place”.

    Bingo.

    Angela’s being an “uppity woman.” Middle aged white guys HATE that. Women are supposed to be polite, submissive people who allow the men to flex their muscles and say their piece.

    Angela breaks that mold by shining a spotlight on the bullshit machinations and being as frank and combative as any man who has ever sat on the LNC. That’s driving a lot of them nuts, which means she’s doing her job — a job she was elected to do by actual Libertarians.

    LNC members need to learn that they represent us and are accountable to us — not in a position to be the “bosses” who “impose from on high” and pressure out the elected representatives who annoy them for being “uppity women.”

  16. Angela’s being an “uppity woman.” Middle aged white guys HATE that.

    Now, don’t you go stereotyping, Brian,🙂

    I’m a middle-aged white guy, and I don’t hate uppity women. I only hate uppity, stupid women. I like uppity, smart women just fine.

  17. I’m not sure if I’m middle aged yet or not.

    I like uppity women, as long as they’re hot🙂

  18. Laurel Thatcher Ulrich:
    “Well behaved women rarely make history.”

  19. I think it is time to raise a lot of trouble, especially for conventional twits like Bobby Billy Sullen.

  20. I’m a middle-aged white guy, and I don’t hate uppity women.

    Thomas, you’re not a middle-aged white guy. You’re a seasoned rabble-rouser!

  21. Rabble, rabble, rabble!

    (Sorry, I was having a Hamburglar moment…)

  22. The headline, with the word ‘threat’, is clearly from the person who posted the piece here, not from Ms. Keaton.

  23. George, that’s absolutely correct, but ENM does ask a legitimate question as well: “Save us the trouble” of what?

  24. See my first comment

  25. Paulie you might be right, but then why didn’t he say that? Sullen left it open, and it acn easily be interpretted many ways, some of which violate the Statement of Principles.

    IOW, Sullen needs to clarify his own comments, and retract and apologize for them as well.

  26. Bob “Bill” Sullentrup Says:
    June 16, 2008 at 5:48 pm edit

    Ms. Keaton,

    I did not threaten you.
    I did not tell you to resign.

    More in the second comment.

  27. That’s just a backpedal when he realized he stepped in it.

  28. IOW, spin.

  29. Yes, I wrote that. Had Ms. Keaton written it, then it would have been in quotation marks.

    I stand by my characterization of it as a threat, as well as the question posed by his statement: resigning will save her and the LNC the trouble of what?

    “Trouble”, of course, clearly suggests that there will be negative consequences if she fails to comply with his “suggestion” that she resign. He then continues in this forum to suggest once again that she resign, by telling her to find something else to do, and to “go do it”. He also characterizes her – not once, but twice – as a “brat”.

    Mr. Sullentrup is an educated and assumably intelligent man. He should therefore have had no problem whatsoever in explaining his statement, yet for some reason in explaining his statement, he managed to dig yet another hole for himself. This belies any explanation which suggests harmless intent.

  30. Not that I want to get in the middle of the mudslinging, but “save us the trouble” is a common phrase that doesn’t imply a threat. I’ve heard the phrase used in place of exasperation. For example, “trouble” in this context would mean “the trouble that you cause by being a ‘brat’ (Sully’s word, not mine). In other words, “save us the trouble of the headache your actions are causing me.” I’ve heard in used in parent-child relationships. It’s not always a threat, just a phrase.

    It’s really a shame to see dirty laundry aired in public like this. Can we get back to issues?

  31. I tend to go with the presumption of innocence. I don’t think it’s a threat unless I see more evidence that it is.

    By the way, Angela is so being a brat, and she’s marvelous at it.

    It’s really a shame to see dirty laundry aired in public like this. Can we get back to issues?

    Speak for yourself – let’s have some more dirty laundry!🙂

  32. This is not a parent-child relationship, Jeff. These are two adults, and more to the point, two adults who hold high-ranking elected positions in the third-largest political party in the United States.

    As for getting back to issues, feel free to post what you want in your own thread. As far as I’m concerned, when two members of the newly-elected LNC have this level of dispute and air it publicly, it is an issue, especially when they hail from different factions given the recent infighting.

    Paulie, “brat” is an insulting term, intended to infantilize. It therefore is highly inappropriate for a male to use that term to characterize a female.

  33. Why the culture of insult from LRC? What do you expect?

  34. Member, Libertarian Brat PAC.

  35. The flaw in Aaron Starr’s approach is that he fails to realize that while his efforts to shame Libertarians who aren’t fund raising or donating to the LP while he does himself might raise his personal share of the revenue pie, he dampens enthusiasm and prevents the pie from growing as much as it could with his condescending attitude.

    Aaron Starr is a competent Treasurer. I voted for him. Bob Sullentrup is an outstanding Secretary. I voted for him.

    Both Aaron and Bob have their inspirational moments, but they both also have de-motivating moments.

  36. I like what Angela is doing. Yeah, shake things up, wake people up,get people to think and react! Oftentimes this is way more important than the workaday business tasks at hand.

  37. Criticizing ideas being considered is one thing.

    (Case in point from Angela’s blog: I do hope that the suggested Hawaii location for a convention is swiftly dismissed, as it is a bad idea. )

    But the “selections from the LNC mailing list” parsing of conversations in Angela’s blog is beginning to look more like a personality conflict being dragged out into a broader stage. It really seems unbecoming,

    Outside of the stirring up of gossip and ill will, this isn’t going to achieve anything.

    Someone above cited the quote : “Well behaved women rarely make history.”

    Do not make the logical fallacy that this means that misbehavior will lead to making history. All to often it’s just misbehavior, whatever the gender of the person in question may be.

    I’m sure being snarky towards each other makes for great sport. Lord knows I’ve done it enough myself in blogs and comments. But such behavior is poisonous to a group that is supposed to be working together, such as the LNC.

    Mr. Starr, Ms. Keaton and whoever else gets sucked into this little kerfuffle, needs to remember that despite the factions and differences, need to remember that they have to find a way to work together. We have entrusted you with running the national party. Act like professionals, in spite of your differences.

    I know passions can run hot when dealing with people you don’t agree with. But one should be able to express ones positions or disagreement with other’s opinions without boiling over into personality conflicts. I don’t expect everyone to be the best of friends or even like each other, just to put those emotions. aside when it comes time to do business, and talking about that business in public.

    I’m not expecting perfection. Again, I’ve found myself making stray snarky comments a few too many times on the convention floor for comfort. I’m sure a few people really wished I kept a lid on it (myself included). I only ask that everyone try.

    To everyone else: Lets not add fuel to these sparks. Engaging in gossip about who doesn’t like who is something we all should have left behind in Junior High. Lets try to act more professionally too.

    Okay, I’m getting WAY too preachy here. So, I’ll leave it at that.

  38. (Yipes… I also need to work on editing down my long winded comments.😉 )

  39. Paulie, “brat” is an insulting term, intended to infantilize. It therefore is highly inappropriate for a male to use that term to characterize a female.

    I think it’s an acronym for Beautiful, Resourceful, Articulate, and Talented. Angela is a B.R.A.T., and yes, I’m a brat for pointing that out (even though I’m not so beautiful, which, I guess, would just make me a RAT). I’m even an award winning brat: Angela gave me her Icon of Smart-Assery last year.

    Member, Libertarian Brat PAC.

    I’d like to join. But I’m not sure I want to be part of any organization that would allow me to be a member.

    This is not a parent-child relationship, Jeff.

    True. According to Angela’s blog,

    http://angelakeaton.com/2008/06/16/muddy-and-ladygaura-are-correct/

    Aaron Starr is actually her father. Although, if Heather can have two mommies, why can’t Angela have two daddies?

    By the way, although that entry is very bratty and mean, it had me literally laughing out loud. And although I did not actually roll on the floor, that was only because I was in a community college library. My sides still hurt.

    Lets not add fuel to these sparks. Engaging in gossip about who doesn’t like who is something we all should have left behind in Junior High.

    Bah, humbug. I’m much better at it now. Besides, I was busy running several international businesses at the time, so I missed out on most of junior high, and I’m making up for it now.

    I also need to work on editing down my long winded comments.

    Shawn, I know Andy. Andy is my friend. And you, sir, are no Andy.

  40. Hey Paulie: Change “Beautiful” to “Brilliant” and you can still be a B.R.A.T.

    I know why Angela calls herself the B.I.T.C.H. though: Brilliant Individual That Can Hell-raise.

    Since Paulie quoted Groucho, I’ll quote Connery: “A little revolution from time to time can be a healthy thing, don’t you think, Ryan?”

  41. Shawn, Starr needs to stick to his books. There’s a deficit to cover. Sullen needs to stick to his Secretarial duties, as many as they are. He has plenty to do. Redpath needs to stick to learning how to run things. His convention gaveling (more like lack thereof) showed that. Let the Convention Committee do their job without interference.

    And if certain members are scared of having OUR LNC’s discussions made public after the fact, then perhaps they need to better consider their actions before the fact.

    And that damn sure better not use Executive Session to run down other highly-respected party members, either!

  42. “they have to find a way to work together”

    Really, they don’t. They might choose to work together, but they might not. Nobody has to make the LP work for you. And, evidently, y’all can’t make it work for yourselves.

  43. Hey Paulie: Change “Beautiful” to “Brilliant” and you can still be a B.R.A.T.

    Awesome, thanks!

  44. Your insights are all much appreciated and necessary if we are going to be the change we wish to see. I’m too introverted to address each of you here in this forum but I will (after a stiff drink and a valium) appear on Last Free Voice this Friday 4:30Pacific/7:30Eastern.

    Shawn and Jeff, listen in so you can get a fuller picture of the some of the characters and character flaws, mine included, who are making decisions on your behalf. We represent you. We work on your behalf.

    Mr. and Mrs. Seebeck, ENM and Mr. Wilson, bravo on bringing feminism to the discussion. This movement was built by Rose Wilder Lane, Isabel Patterson and possibly the most influential female author of the 20th Century, Ayn Rand. Women have lead and will lead again.

    I love middle aged white men. Some of my best friends are middle aged white men but I represent that minority of one. The individual. In our zeal to be a “real” party, we forgot why we came to the party. I know why I’m here. Now Bill Redpath, Bob Sullentrup and Aaron Starr need to explain why they are here.

    So far, I’m not impressed by the answers.

  45. The question is does Angela love middle aged black guys? I love middle aged white women myself especially those who still have a little spunk left in the tank. Keep up the good work!

  46. Shawn,

    You write:

    “But the ‘selections from the LNC mailing list’ parsing of conversations in Angela’s blog is beginning to look more like a personality conflict being dragged out into a broader stage. It really seems unbecoming,”

    I disagree. This is not a personality conflict. It’s a personality TYPE conflict. I hate to resort to Ayn Rand allusions, but they’re apropos:

    The LP “establishment” is a gaggle of Mr. Thompsons, Kip Chalmerses, et al. They want what they want, and if what they want isn’t available in reality, well, it’s someone else’s job to change reality for them.

    Angela is one of the strikers … she has declared that she’s no longer interested in making their increasingly absurd fairy tale demands come true for them. And nobody is as venomous as a brat (to use Mr. Sullentrup’s word) who has been told that it won’t rain candy just because he’s screaming for it to do so any more.

  47. When did this deal about showing how much each LNC member raises come about? Who’s decision was it? Is there a post somewhere that someone could refer me to to get some insight?

    I have a feeling that the Libertarian caucus LNC members will be able to raise far more than the retard caucus. Where do I donate to ensure it happens? That is, if the money isn’t going to end up in Barf’s pocket.

  48. I suggested you resign because obviously you are very unhappy with your position on the board and are behaving like a brat.

    Pot. Kettle. Black.

  49. Feminism? Hmm, I actually wasn’t thinking in that direction (at least not intentionally); it was more along the lines of, “You go, girl!” and “Let the sun shine in” (apologies to Salt N Pepa and Pebbles and Bamm-Bamm!).

    IMNSHO, I’d rather see some more female leaders. Most of the male leaders throughout history have been the proverbial screwups, and I consider it a consequence of the backwards idea of a patriarchial society not treating equals as equals. That’s not to say no female leaders are screwups, because some are (Clinton, Boxer, Feinstein, Waters, McKinney, Rice, just to name a few), but there are a lot less of them and some good gender balance will provide better dialogues and perspectives.

    Of course, I grew up as the only guy in a house with three females, so I had to adapt some as well. I like to call myself a lesbian trapped in a man’s body (thanks to LP member, LTC Biff Baker, WP, USA (ret.) for that one!).

    But I will still stand by a longtime oath: I have not read Rand, and I never will. The closest I’ve come to that was reading her gravestone back in October at Kensico when I was there to bury my great-aunt in the family plot there.

  50. One yeah, one other thing: Hell hath no fury…

    And I know Angela likes middle-aged white guys, as I sorta resemble that remark, and she hangs around me a lot!🙂

  51. I’m trying to imagine your Aunt Millie and Ayn Rand in anything resembling the same space together. I’m not sure it’s working.

    Ummm, Mike you’re not a feminist in the Z. Budapest frame of mind, but you are something of a natural feminist in that you don’t really play the gender card of male territoriality. Beyond your occasional bouts of Broncomania and Rockies fandom and Cub-aholism in the rest of your life you’re not such a typical male and you don’t treat the women in your life with a me first attitude, whether that’s me, Cheryl (of Cable’s Corners), Mia, Shirley, various LP’ers, Sylvianna, Doria, Shalai, etc etc etc. Instead, you treat things more on a meeting-of-souls level. (well usually anyhow)

    (Here’s an even bet that he’s going to break into an eighties song at this point)

    PS, have you forgotten already that Biff got his doctorate finally?

  52. Lidia, it’s a big cemetary. Hell, Rachmaninoff and the Dorsey Brothers are in there, and so is Lou Gehrig and Danny Kaye, so it’s a big tent kind of place.

    Besides, to me, male territorialism extends only to certain things that have to be territorial, like with gender plumbing.

    80’s song? Not sure which one that would be, unless it’d be Duran Duran’s “Ordinary World”…

    And no, I haven’t forgotten that Biff got his doctorate. The problem is that I can never remember if it’s proper to put the colonel first or the doctor first.

  53. Geesh, Mike, you must not be feeling well.

    The Police, spirits in the material world… hello?

    OMGs, this has got to be a first, Mike flunks an 80’s song snark.

  54. Oh, it that what you meant? Sorry, The Police are on my B-list for 80s tunes.

    Although in the case of the LNC situation, perhaps the better song would be “Closer to the Heart” by Rush…

  55. If we’re going with 80s Rush, I’d suggest “Distant Early Warning” as the LP anthem.

  56. How about “Witch Hunt” for Barr? LOL!

  57. Did I just go there? Yeah, I guess I did. How about “Crazy Train” by Ozzy for the LP?

  58. Witch Hunt isn’t bad– somehow “Dirty Deeds” sounds even better

  59. Ok, not precisely eighties, but how about “Farewell to Kings” for a Rush based theme song for the LP?

  60. disinter Says:

    Where do I donate to ensure it happens? That is, if the money isn’t going to end up in Barf’s pocket.

    And Rachel replies . . .

    Make the check out to the LNC, if you please, and mail it to me . . .

    Rachel H. @ LPWA
    10522 Lake City Way #C-103
    Seattle, WA 98125

    Gotta make those numbers, ya know! :o)

  61. I was thinking “Trapped under ice” (Metallica)

  62. For Angela, “We’re Not Gonna take It” by Dee and the boys…

  63. Ice T – Mind Over Matter

  64. NOFX – The Idiots are Taking Over

  65. Beck — “I’m a loser baby … so why don’t you kill me?”

  66. It’s All Over Now
    (Bobby Womack/Shirley Womack)

    Transcription taken from Ed Bick’s Tab Site

    Well now, baby used to stay out all night long,
    Made me cry, Lord she done me wrong.
    Hurt my eyes open, and that’s no lie,
    Tables turnin’, now it’s her turn to cry,
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.

    Well I used to wake the morning, get my breakfast in bed,
    When I got worried, you know she eased my achin’ head,
    But now she’s here and there with every man in town’
    Still tryin’ to take for that same old clown.
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.

    Well she used to run around with every man in town,
    Spend all my money, Lord, play her high class games
    Put me out, it was a pity how I cried,
    Table’s turnin’, now it’s her turn to cry,
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.
    Because I used to love her, but it’s all over now.
    Yes and I used to love her, but it’s all over now.

  67. Berry/Buck/Mills/Stipe

    Oh, life is bigger
    It’s bigger than you
    And you are not me
    The lengths that I will go to
    The distance in your eyes
    Oh no, I’ve said too much
    I set it up

    (chorus)
    That’s me in the corner
    That’s me in the spotlight, I’m
    Losing my religion
    Trying to keep up with you
    And I don’t know if I can do it
    Oh no, I’ve said too much
    I haven’t said enough
    I thought that I heard you laughing
    I thought that I heard you sing
    I think I thought I saw you try

    Every whisper
    Of every waking hour I’m
    Choosing my confessions
    Trying to keep an eye on you
    Like a hurt lost and blinded fool, fool
    Oh no, I’ve said too much
    I set it up
    Consider this
    Consider this
    The hint of the century
    Consider this
    The slip that brought me
    To my knees failed
    What if all these fantasies
    Come flailing around
    Now I’ve said too much
    I thought that I heard you laughing
    I thought that I heard you sing
    I think I thought I saw you try

    But that was just a dream
    That was just a dream

    (repeat chorus)

    But that was just a dream
    Try, cry, why try?
    That was just a dream
    Just a dream, just a dream
    Dream

  68. Gwen Stefani – Don’t Speak

    You and me
    We used to be together
    Every day together always

    I really feel
    I’m losing my best friend
    I can’t believe this could be the end

    It looks as though you’re letting go
    And if it’s real
    Well I don’t want to know

    Don’t speak
    I know what you’re saying
    So please stop explaning
    Don’t tell me ’cause it hurts
    Don’t speak I know what you’re thinking
    I don’t need your reasons
    Don’t tell me ’cause it hurts

    Our memories
    They can be inviting
    But some are altogether
    Mighty frightening

    As we die both you and I
    With my head in my hands I sit and cry

    Chrous

    It’s all ending
    I gotta stop pretending who we are…
    You and me
    I can se us dying…are we?

  69. Ice T – Escape From The Killing Fields Lyrics

    Here we go
    I’m movin’ off death row
    Ya gotta keep up hops
    Ya can’t be slow
    Cuse their towers are high
    They got the hype gaats
    Check the perimeters good
    Read the maps
    It’s night
    They might not see us
    Cuse if they catch us out there
    They’ll bleed us
    Shoot us kill us
    Dump us in a dark ditch
    Clean it up call it a gang hit
    I gotta make my move
    Cause I’m a renegade
    I recognize
    when mind techniques
    Are being played
    It’s a plot they use
    To keep down another
    Here comes another
    Brainwashed brother

    Shut up do you know
    How dumb you sound?
    That mentality
    What keeps my people down
    No one wants to
    Live in an urban war
    You live there cause
    Your parents were poor
    They live there because
    Theirs were also
    Get yourself together
    Hit the gates bro!

    CHORUS
    Ya gotta get out!
    Ya gotta get out! Why?
    Ya gotta get out!
    Ya gotta get out! Why?
    Ya gotta get out!
    Ya gotta get out! Why?
    Cause the fields
    Are where you die!

    Escape from
    The killing fields
    You try to keep us
    Running and running faster
    But I ain’t runnin’ from ya
    I’m runnin’ at ya
    and my posse’s thick
    About a mil strong
    Too late to make up now
    Cause it’s on
    I’m the one that’s got ya
    In constant fear
    I’m the nigga
    You shoulda killed last yeaar
    But you played yourself
    You let me gain wealth
    Now I can change the wy
    The cards are dealt
    I’ve schooled my homeboys
    Made ’em all understand
    The tricks nd twists
    Inflicted on the Black man
    How ya make me think
    to be down
    I gotta stay around
    Down in the motherfuckin’
    Battleground
    There’ll never be any good
    Schools in the hood
    There’ll never be any cops
    That are any good
    The hospital is a great place
    To go to die
    Real estate’s cheap
    Let me tell ya why?
    The man’s got a
    Sure fire system
    A economic prison!

    CHORUS

    Escape from
    The killing fields!

  70. Bobby McFerrin

    Don’t Worry, Be Happy Lyrics

    Don’t Worry, Be Happy
    From the Movie “Cocktails”
    Performed by Bobby McFerrin

    Here is a little song I wrote
    You might want to sing it note for note
    Don’t worry be happy
    In every life we have some trouble
    When you worry you make it double
    Don’t worry, be happy……

    Ain’t got no place to lay your head
    Somebody came and took your bed
    Don’t worry, be happy
    The land lord say your rent is late
    He may have to litigate
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Lood at me I am happy
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Here I give you my phone number
    When you worry call me
    I make you happy
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Ain’t got no cash, ain’t got no style
    Ain’t got not girl to make you smile
    But don’t worry be happy
    Cause when you worry
    Your face will frown
    And that will bring everybody down
    So don’t worry, be happy (now)…..

    There is this little song I wrote
    I hope you learn it note for note
    Like good little children
    Don’t worry, be happy
    Listen to what I say
    In your life expect some trouble
    But when you worry
    You make it double
    Don’t worry, be happy……
    Don’t worry don’t do it, be happy
    Put a smile on your face
    Don’t bring everybody down like this
    Don’t worry, it will soon past
    Whatever it is
    Don’t worry, be happy

  71. Soft Cell

    Tainted Love Lyrics

    Sometimes I feel I’ve got to
    Run away I’ve got to
    Get away
    From the pain that you drive into the heart of me
    The love we share
    Seems to go nowhere
    And I’ve lost my light
    For I toss and turn I can’t sleep at night

    (chorus)
    Once I ran to you (I ran)
    Now I’ll run from you
    This tainted love you’ve given
    I give you all a boy could give you
    Take my tears and that’s not nearly all
    Oh…tainted love
    Tainted love

    Now I know I’ve got to
    Run away I’ve got to
    Get away
    You don’t really want IT any more from me
    To make things right
    You need someone to hold you tight
    And you’LL think love is to pray
    But I’m sorry I don’t pray that way

    (chorus…)

    Don’t touch me please
    I cannot stand the way you tease
    I love you though you hurt me so
    Now I’m going to pack my things and go
    Tainted love, tainted love (x2)
    Touch me baby, tainted love (x2)
    Tainted love (x3)

  72. Clash | Should I Stay Or Should I Go

    Darling you gotta let me know
    Should I stay or should I go?
    If you say that you are mine
    Ill be here til the end of time
    So you got to let know
    Should I stay or should I go?

    Always tease tease tease
    Siempre – coqetiando y enganyando
    Youre happy when Im on my knees
    Me arrodilla y estas feliz
    One day is fine, next is black
    Un dias bien el otro negro
    So if you want me off your back
    Al rededar en tu espalda
    Well come on and let me know
    Me tienes que desir
    Should I stay or should I go?
    Me debo ir o que darme

    Should I stay or should I go now?
    Should I stay or should I go now?
    If I go there will be trouble
    An if I stay it will be double
    So come on and let me know

    This indecisions bugging me
    Esta undecision me molesta
    If you dont want me, set me free
    Si no me quieres, librame
    Exactly whom Im supposed to be
    Diga me que tengo ser
    Dont you know which clothes even fit me?
    saves que robas me querda?
    Come on and let me know
    Me tienes que desir
    Should I cool it or should I blow?
    me debo ir o quedarme?

    Should I stay or should I go now?
    yo me frio o lo sophlo?
    If I go there will be trouble
    Si me voi – va ver peligro
    And if I stay it will be double
    Si me quedo es doble
    So you gotta let me know
    Me tienes que decir
    Should I stay or should I go?
    yo me frio o lo sophlo?

  73. Song Lyrics: “The Future’s So Bright,
    I Gotta Wear Shades”
    Recorded by: “Timbuk 3”
    Written by: (Pat McDonald)
    Album: “Greetings From Timbuk 3” – 1989

    nuTsie

    I study nuclear science
    I love my classes
    I got a crazy teacher, he wears dark glasses
    Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
    I’m doing all right, getting good grades
    The future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades,
    I gotta wear shades

    I’ve got a job waiting for my graduation
    Fifty thou a year — buys a lot of beer
    Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
    I’m doing all right, getting good grades
    The future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades
    I gotta wear shades

    Well I’m heavenly blessed and worldly wise
    I’m a peeping-tom techie with x-ray eyes
    Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
    I’m doing all right, getting good grades
    The future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades
    I gotta wear shades

    (instrumental break)

    I study nuclear science
    I love my classes
    I got a crazy teacher, he wears dark glasses
    Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
    I’m doing all right, getting good grades
    The future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades
    I gotta wear shades
    I gotta wear shades
    I gotta wear shades

  74. Bob Dylan: Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

    It ain’t no use to sit and wonder why, babe
    It don’t matter, anyhow
    An’ it ain’t no use to sit and wonder why, babe
    If you don’t know by now
    When your rooster crows at the break of dawn
    Look out your window and I’ll be gone
    You’re the reason I’m trav’lin’ on
    Don’t think twice, it’s all right

    It ain’t no use in turnin’ on your light, babe
    That light I never knowed
    An’ it ain’t no use in turnin’ on your light, babe
    I’m on the dark side of the road
    Still I wish there was somethin’ you would do or say
    To try and make me change my mind and stay
    We never did too much talkin’ anyway
    So don’t think twice, it’s all right

    It ain’t no use in callin’ out my name, gal
    Like you never did before
    It ain’t no use in callin’ out my name, gal
    I can’t hear you any more
    I’m a-thinkin’ and a-wond’rin’ all the way down the road
    I once loved a woman, a child I’m told
    I give her my heart but she wanted my soul
    But don’t think twice, it’s all right

    I’m walkin’ down that long, lonesome road, babe
    Where I’m bound, I can’t tell
    But goodbye’s too good a word, gal
    So I’ll just say fare thee well
    I ain’t sayin’ you treated me unkind
    You could have done better but I don’t mind
    You just kinda wasted my precious time
    But don’t think twice, it’s all right

  75. u2 – one

    Is it getting better
    Or do you feel the same
    Will it make it easier on you now
    You got someone to blame
    You say…

    One love
    One life
    When it’s one need
    In the night
    One love
    We get to share it
    Leaves you baby if you
    Don’t care for it

    Did I disappoint you
    Or leave a bad taste in your mouth
    You act like you never had love
    And you want me to go without
    Well it’s…

    Too late
    Tonight
    To drag the past out into the light
    We’re one, but we’re not the same
    We get to
    Carry each other
    Carry each other
    One…

    Have you come here for forgiveness
    Have you come to raise the dead
    Have you come here to play Jesus
    To the lepers in your head

    Did I ask too much
    More than a lot
    You gave me nothing
    Now it’s all I got

    We’re one
    But we’re not the same
    Well we
    Hurt each other
    Then we do it again
    You say
    Love is a temple
    Love a higher law
    Love is a temple
    Love the higher law
    You ask me to enter
    But then you make me crawl
    And I can’t be holding on
    To what you got
    When all you got is hurt

    One love
    One blood
    One life
    You got to do what you should
    One life
    With each other
    Sisters
    Brothers
    One life
    But we’re not the same
    We get to
    Carry each other
    Carry each other

    One…life

    One

  76. Byrds – I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better
    Written by gene clark

    The reason why, oh I can say
    I have to let you go babe, and right away
    After what you did, I cant stay on
    And Ill probably feel a whole lot better
    When youre gone

    Baby for a long time, you had me believe
    That your love was all mine, and thats the way it would be
    But I didnt know, that you were putting me on
    And Ill probably feel a whole lot better
    When youre gone

    Now Ive got to say, that its not like before
    And Im not gonna play, your games anymore
    After what you did, I cant stay on
    And Ill probably feel a whole lot better
    When youre gone
    Oh when youre gone
    Oh when youre gone
    Oh when youre gone

  77. Turn down the lights, turn down the bed
    Bonnie Raitt – I Can’t Make You Love Me (5:34)

    Turn down these voices inside my head
    Lay down with me, tell me no lies
    Just hold me close, dont patronize – dont patronize me

    Chorus: cause I cant make you love me if you dont
    You cant make your heart feel something it wont
    Here in the dark, in these lonely hours
    I will lay down my heart and Ill feel the power
    But you wont, no you wont
    cause I cant make you love me, if you dont

    Ill close my eyes, then I wont see
    The love you dont feel when youre holding me
    Morning will come and Ill do whats right
    Just give me till then to give up this fight
    And I will give up this fight
    Chorus: cause I cant make you love me if you dont
    You cant make your heart feel something it wont
    Here in the dark, in these lonely hours
    I will lay down my heart and Ill feel the power
    But you wont, no you wont
    cause I cant make you love me, if you dont

  78. Scandal, Goodbye To You

  79. EAGLES LYRICS

    “Already Gone”

    Well, I heard some people talkin’ just the other day
    And they said you were gonna put me on a shelf
    But let me tell you I got some news for you
    And you’ll soon find out it’s true
    And then you’ll have to eat your lunch all by yourself
    ‘Cause I’m already gone
    And I’m feelin’ strong
    I will sing this vict’ry song, woo, hoo,hoo,woo,hoo,hoo

    The letter that you wrote me made me stop and wonder why
    But I guess you felt like you had to set things right
    Just remember this, my girl, when you look up in the sky
    You can see the stars and still not see the light (that’s right)

    And I’m already gone
    And I’m feelin’ strong
    I will sing this vict’ry song, woo, hoo,hoo,woo, hoo,hoo

    Well I know it wasn’t you who held me down
    Heaven knows it wasn’t you who set me free
    So often times it happens that we live our lives in chains
    And we never even know we have the key

    But me, I’m already gone
    And I’m feelin’ strong
    I will sing this vict’ry song
    ‘Cause I’m already gone
    Yes, I’m already gone
    And I’m feelin’ strong
    I will sing this vict’ry song
    ‘Cause I’m already gone
    Yes, I’m already gone
    Already gone
    All right, nighty-night

  80. Madonna – You’ll see

    You think that you are strong, but you are weak
    Youll see,
    It takes more strength to cry, admit defeat.
    I have truth on my side,
    You only have deceit
    Youll see, somehow, someday

  81. In The End
    Linkin Park
    _____

    One thing / I don’t know why
    It doesn’t even matter how hard you try
    Keep that in mind / I designed this rhyme
    To explain in due time
    All I know
    time is a valuable thing
    Watch it fly by as the pendulum swings
    Watch it count down to the end of the day
    The clock ticks life away
    It’s so unreal
    Didn’t look out below
    Watch the time go right out the window
    Trying to hold on / but didn’t even know
    Wasted it all just to
    Watch you go
    I kept everything inside and even though I tried / it all fell apart
    What it meant to me / will eventually / be a memory / of a time when I tried
    so hard
    And got so far
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter
    I had to fall
    To lose it all
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter
    One thing / I don’t know why
    It doesn’t even matter how hard you try
    Keep that in mind / I designed this rhyme
    To remind myself how
    I tried so hard
    In spite of the way you were mocking me
    Acting like I was part of your property
    Remembering all the times you fought with me
    I’m surprised it got so (far)
    Things aren’t the way they were before
    You wouldn’t even recognize me anymore
    Not that you knew me back then
    But it all comes back to me
    In the end
    You kept everything inside and even though I tried / it all fell apart
    What it meant to me / will eventually / be a memory / of a time when I
    I tried so hard
    And got so far
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter
    I had to fall
    To lose it all
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter
    I’ve put my trust in you
    Pushed as far as I can go
    And for all this
    There’s only one thing you should know
    I’ve put my trust in you
    Pushed as far as I can go
    And for all this
    There’s only one thing you should know
    I tried so hard
    And got so far
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter
    I had to fall
    And lose it all
    But in the end
    It doesn’t even matter

  82. Expanding to 90s, eh? Cool ….. this gives me an excuse to go on a Layne Staley spree! 🙂

    “River of Deceit” by Mad Season

    My pain is self-chosen
    At least, so The Prophet says
    I could either burn
    Or cut off my pride and buy some time
    A head full of lies is the weight, tied to my waist

    The River of Deceit pulls down
    The only direction we flow is down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down

    My pain is self-chosen
    At least I believe it to be
    I could either drown
    Or pull off my skin and swim to shore
    Now I can grow a beautiful shell for all to see

    The River of Deceit pulls down
    The only direction we flow is down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down
    Down, oh down

    The pain is self-chosen
    Our pain is self-chosen

  83. “Over Now” by Alice In Chains

    Yeah, it’s over now, but I can breathe somehow
    When it’s all worn out, I’d rather go without

    You know its been on my mind
    Could you stand right there
    Look me straight in the eye and say
    That it’s over now

    We pay our debt sometime

    Well it’s over now, yet I can see somehow
    When it’s all gone wrong, it’s hard to be so strong

    You know its been on my mind
    Could you stand right there
    Look me straight in the eye and say
    That it’s over now

    We pay our debt sometime
    Yeah, we pay our debt sometime
    We pay our debt sometime
    Yeah, we pay our debt sometime

    Guess it’s over now, I seem alive somehow
    When it’s out of sight, just wait and do your time

    You know its been on my mind
    Could I stand right here
    Look myself in the eye and say
    That it’s over now

    We pay our debt sometime
    Yeah, we pay our debt sometime
    We pay our debt sometime
    Yeah, we pay our debt sometime

  84. Sludge Factory by Alice In Chains

    You insult me in my home, you’re forgiven this time
    Things go well, your eyes dilate, you shake, and I’m high?
    Look in my eyes deep and watch the clouds change with time
    20 hours won’t print my picture milk carton size
    Carton size, carton size, carton size

    Call me up congratulations ain’t the real why
    There’s no pressure besides brilliance let’s say by day 9
    Endless corporate ignorance lets me control time
    By the way, by the way, by the way, by the way

    Once again you see an in, discolored skin gives you away
    So afraid you kindly gurgle, out a date for me

    Now the body of one soul I adore wants to die
    You have always told me you’d not live past 25
    I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife

    Once again you see an in, discolored skin gives you away
    So afraid you kindly gurgle, out a date for me

    Once again you see an in, discolored skin gives you away
    So afraid you kindly gurgle, out a date for me

    Your weapon is guilt
    Your weapon is guilt
    Your weapon is guilt
    Guilt

  85. Make the check out to the LNC, if you please, and mail it to me . . .

    Do you support Barf? Are you a member of the retard caucus?

    Either way, I would probably donate to Keaton and Ruwart if I could only figure out what the purpose was…

Leave a Reply

