Steve G.

New Ron Paul conspiracy theory

In Politics on June 15, 2008 at 6:12 am

Apparently, some incredibly insane Ron Paul fans believe that he hasn’t really bowed out of the presidential race, that his Web site has been hacked, and that everyone has fallen for a big hoax.

Says Lew Rockwell:

A few people are refusing to accept the fact that Ron has dropped out of the presidential race, and are writing me about it. They claim I’ve fallen for an MSM lie, that the ex-campaign website — with its beautiful thank-you message and photo of Ron — has been been hacked, that Ron’s new Campaign for Liberty is not the successor and replacement for his presidential effort. Folks, the presidential campaign office has been closed, the staff let go, the phones, etc. transferred, and the FEC forms filed. The presidential effort is over, through, done, kaput. There is, of course, much exciting work to do for peace, civil liberties, free markets, and sound money, now and in the future. But no more electoral politics!

When the MSM implied that some Ron Paul fans were loony, I thought I knew what they meant.

This “theory” takes the cake as the most ludicrous in the history of human thought.

  1. Disinter – What do you think of Ron Paul’s organziation attempting to “reform’ the GOP? I gave that half a try right after his campaign was over here in MI, and I found it to be a complete waste of time.

  2. What do you think of Ron Paul’s organziation attempting to “reform’ the GOP?

    I think it makes a lot more sense than trying to Repugnacise the LP.

  3. Unfortunately, Repubnacizing the LP is working.

    Ron Paulizing the GOP, in my mind, cannot work.

  4. Repubnacizing the LP is working.

    Really? Last I read the LP is going broke. What other achievements are there?

  5. Ron Paulizing the GOP, in my mind, cannot work.

    Sure it can. If it couldn’t, then there would be need for it to in the first place because it would have never digressed into a party of neocons.

  6. Repubs are good at going broke. Sounds successful to me.

  7. should read: “no need”

  8. Repubs are good at going broke.

    When has the RNC gone broke?

  9. “Digressed” into a party of neocons?

    Neocon is a misnomer. The original neocon was Abe Lincoln. The GOP has always had the same agenda, with a few atypical heroes (and when I say “few” I mean it, like 1 or 2 or 3) in the 50s, and now Ron Paul.

    The Democratic Party has a more glorious history than the GOP.

    My one beef with Ron Paul is that he knows this, and yet, he’s somewhat intellectually dishonest when he sort of asserts that the GOP is anything other than a fascist party from day one.

  10. GE – your ridiculous red herring aside, what makes you think a continually evolving organization can no longer evolve?

  11. “Evolving” from Abraham Lincoln to Theodore Roosevelt to George W. Bush.

    I don’t call that “evolving.”

    “Ridiculous red herring”?

    What red herring?

  12. What red herring?

    The one where you go off about neocons when you know very well the question at hand is whether or not the Repug party can be changed.

  13. I am also still wondering how Repugnacizing the LP is “working”. What is it accomplishing?

  14. It worked in nominating Barr. It worked in ruining the platform, etc. Electoral or financial success have nothing to do with the success of Republicanization. That’s like saying I have no success of painting my house red, when I paint my house red but it doesn’t sell. It’s still red.

    Maybe the GOP can be changed. I have no interest in spending time and attending meetings with people who openly advocate bigotry and mass murder, as my local GOP people do.

  15. It worked in nominating Barr. It worked in ruining the platform, etc.

    Oh, I thought you meant “worked” in a positive tone…

  16. I would have thought more fiscal conservatives would have bolted the GOP in 1996 like I did after hearing Bob Dole saying how much more spending he would do while calling himself a “fiscal conservative.”

  17. Anyone who feels they can change the GOP is completely wasting their time. Infact, I would go so far to say it would be easier to move the Dems towards a Libertarian platform, and to me, even that is next to impossible.

  18. This actually doesn’t surprise me at all. I knew exactly what the MSM meant when they said some RP supporters were loony. It got to the point last year when I stopped saying anything at all about him, simply because I didn’t want to deal with his supporters, many of whom appeared to be mentally unstable.

  19. Infact, I would go so far to say it would be easier to move the Dems towards a Libertarian platform, and to me, even that is next to impossible.

    Agreed. Easier, but “next to impossible.”

  20. Maybe the RNC isn’t broke, but the country certainly is. That’s what I meant. GOP takes over country, country goes ( more) broke. GOP takes over LP, LP goes broke. Shocking.

  21. John C. Jackson – true.

Leave a Reply

