Steve G.

LibertyMix: 2 Years Has Passed & Still No Answers

In Libertarian on June 14, 2008 at 3:54 pm

June 6 should go down in Libertarian history as LibertyMix Day — the day Libertarians remember that not all the crooks are in the major parties.

I just read an interesting post by Greg Dirasian over at smallgov.org written on the 2 month Anniversary of – “The Release of the Beast”. Meg used to post about this frequently here at LFV and many thought she was being too harsh, but I think she was just being vigilant. It has been 2 years now, and still no answers. Do recent events make this look even more questionable?  Hell yeah they do. Read Greg’s analysis here.

  1. To me it seemed like a stupid project at the time, which is why I didn’t donate. So I stand by my 2 year stance that anyone stupid enough to donate money to what clearly looked like a stupid project, deserves what they got.

    I’ve been burned on Ebay. I don’t continue to complain about it.

    There are SEVERAL awesome Libertarian news sources out there who do it for FREE…*caugh* last free voice *caugh*

  2. I was just wondering about this the other day.

  3. Jason,
    I didn’t think it ever sounded stupid, and there were a lot of people who donated, I’m sure they were not all stupid.

    It’s about more than losing money, it’s about dishonesty. I could care less about my money at this time, I just want to know what really happened. But most of all, WHO has the money and failed to come through?

  4. I used to respect Gordon, however the fact that he is nothing more than a fraud is becoming obvious.

  5. Don’t EVEN think of asking for a refund – the money’s all been spent.

    As for when/if LM will debut – heck, I still haven’t even started the “development blog” I promised you guys so long ago, let alone Libertymix itself.

    So basically what I’m saying is don’t hold your breath on the site OR a refund.

    If it makes you feel any better, Steve Gordon and I had lots of fun spending all the money you tools gave us!

  6. I was a daily reader of Hammer of Truth for a long time and had chatted with SvD several times over e-mail. Like so many I was excited about his new project and wanted to help.

    SvD obviously had the best intentions at the time. He was building a kickass website and wanted a little financial support for his efforts. But like so many other slackers out there, he got bored of the project. He had already collected 12k and had only did a little coding. Who knows where his interests turned to, but as time went on he got more and more bored of the project, until he finally disappeared from the internet all together. Pathetic.

    Stephen didn’t start off a scammer, but eventually turned into one.

  7. There are lessons here to be taken away. Some people are not to be trusted with money. But, as Jason points out, there are lots of sites that have been developed by good people which do important work. Rational Review News being one that I like, and ISIL.org being another. Finding good people who won’t screw you over is the key.

    Which is why I’ve never been disappointed with ISIL.org and bostontea.us. When it comes right down to it, people who are ethical choose wisely. Scammers may get a pile of money at one point, but they also get ostracised – deservedly.

Leave a Reply

