Steve G.

George Phillies concession speech with notations

In Libertarian on June 8, 2008 at 1:01 am

There has been some disagreement regarding what Dr. George Phillies did and did not say during his concession speech. To put an end to those disagreements, I am providing two versions.  The first is a transcript of his words, while the second is a transcript with Dr. Phillies’ notations regarding intent.

First, here is the verbiage of George Phillies’ concession speech:

Fellow libertarians!

Thank you very much for the last two years. It’s been a wonderful time.

I’ve already given you my advice.

I’m disappointed to note that not one person has asked me to endorse someone they wanted to lose.

Well, that’s true.

I will not speak ill of a fellow Libertarian.

I will thank and acknowledge Senator Mike Gravel who, when he was a Democrat, gave our *party* the courtesy of debating a Libertarian. I will thank Wayne Allyn Root for entering and giving you time to take his measure and see if he was good or bad.

I will express — I think it’s the gratitude of many of us — very good things to Mary Ruwart and to Bob Barr for entering the race to do what they thought was best for the party.

Now, I have two things to say, one as state chair, and one to the audience as much as to anyone else.

And the thing I must say as state chair, because I would be remiss not to say it, is that a voting majority of my state committee is neopagan. I have to make that point. Those of you who know why, know why I have to do it.

Now I want to make the important point:

The enemy is not here. The enemy is out there.

The enemy is not our fellow Libertarians.

The enemy is the far left Democratic Party of Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama, and — let’s get it right for once — Lyndon LaRouche.

The enemy is not our fellow Libertarians.

The enemy is the conservative death policy of George Bush, George Wallace, John Sununu, and Lester Maddox, the conservative bigotry philosophy that is against our country.

We are the Libertarians. We are the party of the future.

Here is the same speech, with Dr. Phillies’ notations in italics and parenthesis.

Fellow libertarians!

Thank you very much for the last two years. It’s been a wonderful time.

I’ve already given you my advice. (Which you did not take.)

I’m disappointed to note that not one person has asked me to endorse someone they wanted to lose. (After all, we just established that Libertarians listen to my advice and do something else. No one tried to profit from this pattern.)

Well, that’s true.

I will not speak ill of a fellow Libertarian. (That is a statement about the next few paragraphs of the speech, no more, no less. I say something nice about each of my four surviving opponents. Contrast is meant with the prior concession speech of Christine Smith, who was pointedly critical of one of her opponents. Note also that I did say something nice about all four of my opponents, contrary to claims in a certain historically anti-Libertarian news source that I ignored two of them.)

I will thank and acknowledge Senator Mike Gravel who, when he was a Democrat, gave our *party* the courtesy of debating a Libertarian. I will thank Wayne Allyn Root for entering and giving you time to take his measure and see if he was good or bad.

I will express — I think it’s the gratitude of many of us — very good things to Mary Ruwart and to Bob Barr for entering the race to do what they thought was best for the party.

(Now I have in fact said something about equally nice about each opponent.)

Now, I have two things to say, one as state chair, and one to the audience as much as to anyone else.  (‘The audience’ is the television audience.)

And the thing I must say as state chair, because I would be remiss not to say it, is that a voting majority of my state committee is neopagan. I have to make that point. Those of you who know why, know why I have to do it.

(Note that I said State Committee, not Delegation. And at this point I do remind delegates that if they nominate a candidate who ten years ago tried to organize an Army pogrom against the Wiccans, they will face consequences.)

Now I want to make the important point:

The enemy is not here. The enemy is out there.

The enemy is not our fellow libertarians.

(I should have said ‘my fellow libertarians’, because I am speaking to the video audience, but I did not.)

The enemy is the far left Democratic Party of Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama, and — let’s get it right for once — Lyndon LaRouche.

The enemy is not our fellow libertarians.

(And now as a closer the core message of my speech, because the last words are the most remembered)

The enemy is the conservative death policy of George Bush, George Wallace, John Sununu, and Lester Maddox, the conservative bigotry philosophy that is against our country.

We are the Libertarians. We are the party of the future.

  1. I disagree strongly with George on several important policy points, however, one thing I have always disagree with his detractors over is George’s speaking ability. I think he was an adequate (at worst) speaker when I began following him last summer, and I think by the time of the convention, he was unquestionably a top-tier speaker and arguably THE best.

  2. Meanwhile, Bob Barf sends his goon squad of lawyers after websites that expose his record:

    http://disinter.wordpress.com/2008/06/07/bob-barr-censors-his-own-record/

  3. I’d merely ask– is this available in video?

  4. I have the video. It is not on the CNN site. The video is of also interest because it has scenes that most delegates did not hear, such as Mary Ruwart turning down an apparently legitimate offer to be Barr’s VP. If you listen very carefully, you can watch me tell my delegation chair where my next vote was going, and express my opinion of what was about to happen.

    I will see about getting it up on my site, which is still in operation.

  5. Thanks, and blessings.

  6. Good words George and thank you for all the efforts you and your team put into the campaign. We can all learn from it.

    MHW

  7. I’m curious why run-of-the-mill Republican John Sununu was included in the list of baddies. Was it a dig at Barr, who contributed to Sununu’s campaign?

  8. Peter,
    I have a friend running against Sununu in the neighboring state of New Hampshire. A complete list of Republicans who are not vaguely libertarian who were supported by Barr’s PAC would go on for a paragraph.
    George

  9. I too, don’t agree with Dr. Phillies on all the issues, there is noone alive I agree with 100 % on all the issues. I’ve learned through the decades not to agree with myself 100% of the time !

    If anyone was truly paying attention, Phillies is a heck of a debater. He impressed me more than once and I only got to hear three LP debates total, if he would have had a shot at Barr for six months in regular debates Barr never would have been the nominee, He was the only one who even landed a solid glove on Barr in the C-SPAN forum. I was most impressed with the lady who nominated Phillies. Think her name was Carolyn Marbury (sic?)! The Party would do well to use this lady as a spokesperson, officer or even a candidate. I could tell, she’s got it together!

    The truth is the enemies are out there ! We all need to unite to (for like of a better word) ATTACK the Ds and Rs as we never have for five months. This country is in trouble and many people will listen to us this time ! We need to GET our message out to the masses.

    Don’t hesitate to push the message with co-workers, family, friends, even people you run into in grocery stores, bars and anywhere you converse with strangers, etc. The Ds and Rs put us in this mess ! It is INSANITY to expect them to lead us out of the mess they created. Our policies WILL WORK ! They sure will be better than the Ds and Rs.

    I haven’t ran for office since ’92, but wouldn’t mind it this year. I feel 2008 is perhaps the best year for third parties in our lifetimes. Hope the down ticket”freedom” candidates can take advantage of it! Give the Ds and Rs teatotal H E L L and most importantly HAVE FUN doing it! They have nowhere to hid !

  10. George is much improved as a speaker over the course of this last campaign.

  11. […] did not say during his concession speech. To put an end to those disagreements, I am providing two vhttps://lastfreevoice.wordpress.com/2008/06/08/george-phillies-concession-speech-with-notations/Sununu launches re-election effort The Nashua TelegraphCONCORD — New Hampshire Republican Sen. John […]

Leave a Reply

