Steve G.

LP’s Antiwar Resolution

In Libertarian on May 29, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Whereas the War in Iraq was sold to the American people based upon lies, exaggerations and half-truths,

Whereas the War in Iraq was prosecuted for the private interests of the Administration and its cronies and was not, and is not, in the national security interests of the United States,

We call for the withdrawal of U.S. troops from Iraq as quickly as can be safely accomplished.

Hat tip Thomas Sipos

  1. Was this the full text of the resolution? My recollection, if I am remembering the correct resolution, is that it was much longer and took two to three minutes, if not longer, to read.

  2. Hi, John. I’ll check around and see if I can find a longer version, but Thomas Sipos seems to be saying it hasn’t been posted on the LP website yet.

  3. Great news!

    When people are raising the issues with me, I’ve been pointing out the platform plank on gender/sexuality we voted in this convention, as well as LNC statements such as these.

  4. That same war that Barrbie voted for?

  5. I’d asked the resolution’s author, Bruce Dovner, for the exact language a few minutes after he read it.

    Bruce told me that he’d given the resolution to the LP Secretary, but that he had the “exact wording” in his head.

    I later emailed LP Secretary Bob Sullentrup asking for the language, and he replied that I’d have to wait for the minutes to be approved. And he had no estimate on when that might be.

    So I emailed Bruce, and he sent me the above the language. It’s his exact wording, as he remembers it.

Leave a comment