Steve G.

Humble request of Barr/Root backers

In Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics on May 28, 2008 at 8:27 pm

I’ve been hired to write an article about the convention, but I don’t have any pictures of Barr or Root. If you snapped some pics of decent quality (i.e. not from your cell phone) and wouldn’t mind them being used, please let me know.

Secondly, the article I’m writing is about the monetary policy of the candidates. I’ve heard nothing about monetary policy from Barr or Root — have they made any statements? I don’t want to mischaracterize their positions as “pro-Fed” if they are in fact not.

Thank you

  1. I don’t think Barf even knows where he stands. You will have to wait until Gordon tells him what to tell you.

  2. Bob Barr understands the deep financial crisis facing America. That’s why he wants to devote more resources to South America to fight the drug war.

  3. Myself and some members of We Are Change Colorado managed to get a short interview with Wayne Root at the Convention. Wayne said that he favors getting rid of the Federal Reserve System.

    We also asked him about 9/11 and he wouldn’t talk about it. He said that he was neither for us or against us in regaurds to 9/11. He wouldn’t take the 9/11 DVD that we tried to give him.

    This interview was video taped so hopefully it will appear on-line (as far as I know they haven’t posted it yet).

  4. I think he briefly mentioned the Fed in his economics video, but he didn’t really say anything about it.

  5. A couple of years ago Professor of Economics Bill Woolsey wrote an excellent article about “where money comes from” which was specifically intended to demystify the fed…The article was originally published by Liberty.

    http://www.libertyunbound.com/archive/2004_10/woolsey-fed.html

    Comments frequently made by some libertarians, some Ron Paul supporters, some who suggest that Barr/Root might not be on the right track and one whole hell of alot of international banking conspiracy theorists suggest more people ought to read Woolsey’s article. It explains the view generally accepted by libertarian economists and succinctly debunks some favored myths.

  6. I am not a conspiracy theorist and I think I’m on the same page as Bill Woolsey. Thanks for the link, though.

  7. I am not a conspiracy theorist

    GE, I have a great deal of respect for you, which is why I want to point out the flaw in that line of thinking: EVERYONE is a conspiracy theorist. To suggest otherwise is highly dishonest.

  8. disinter – I meant that I don’t believe in the “conspiracy theories” I know he’s referring to in regards to the Federal Reserve. They’re just not true. The truth is bad enough, and people obfuscate that dim reality when they talk about the Fed’s mystical profits, etc. Most of those “conspiracy theorists” actually want a central bank that’s directly controlled by the government, instead of a free-market currency.

    Sorry. I did not mean to offend you and I agree with you on the misuse of “conspiracy theorist” as a smear.

  9. I’ve heard Root make the “abolish the Fed” pitch before. I don’t think I’ve ever heard Barr say anything about monetary policy one way or the other. His main bread-and-butter are civil liberties, 2nd Amendment, and making a “withdraw from Iraq” argument sound a bit more credible than the way Ron Paul pitches it.

  10. GE – for your article:

    Its important to note that Bob Barr’s VP Wayne Allyn Root has also endorsed a McCain-Lieberman ticket for the GOP race and also called Lieberman a “Conservative Democrat”(see the bottom for proof).

    Bob Barr’s VP who’s endorsed and supported by Ron Paul’s smearer Eric Dondero also donated to 2 other NeoCon Republicans.

    http://www.dailypaul.com/node/50663

  11. Steve Perkins Says:
    May 29, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I’ve heard Root make the “abolish the Fed” pitch before.

    I’ve heard W.A.R. say he’s for a gold standard AND a fiat money standard!

    W.A.R. – Lightweight on free market/free banking economics, lightweight on libertarianism.

Leave a Reply

