Steve G.

LNC Election Results

In Libertarian, Libertarian Convention, Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics 2008 on May 26, 2008 at 10:02 pm

I’m not going to break down all the numbers. If you want to see the round by round results, CLICK HERE.

Chair-Bill Redpath

Vice Chair- Michael Jingozian

Secretary- Bob Sullentrup

Treasurer- Aaron Starr

LNC At-Large

Mary Ruwart

Angela Keaton

Pat Dixon

Lee Wrights

Michael Colley

Not sure who all the regional reps are yet.

  1. Congrats to Keaton, Ruwart and Wrights!

  2. Yay! Finally something to be happy about — that is convention related.

    It doesn’t surprise me that Junglezian is now Vice Chair either. Yuck.

    I sure wish Hancock won.

  3. Who replaced Barr on the LNC?

  4. My understanding is that Barr was re-elected to the LNC a couple days back.

  5. Sounds like Barr is trying to double-dip.

  6. Sounds like Barr is trying to double-dip.

    He probably wants to to keep his LNC seat to finish the party off after he begins the destruction process by telling the world how Republican he thinks we are.

  7. Does anyone know what resolutions got passed?

  8. Similarly, does anyone know who was elected to the judicial committee? The convention adjourned before the results were announced.

  9. Barr backed out of the LNC regional seat, probably for the best since he’s the Presidential nominee.

    My heart goes out to Chuck Moulton. The poor guy wasn’t a “reformer” or a “radical”… just a really nice guy who tried to stay above the fray, be fair to everybody, and work hard to do a great job furthering the Party. He unfortunately got caught in the crossfire of a fight that he wasn’t a part of. After the first few days went so lopsided in favor of the reformers on Platform an the Barr/Root folks on nomination, the other factions needed a win somewhere… and Chuck took the hit. He seemed a bit hurt from the stage, but I don’t there was any malice involved… it was just politics. I think everyone at the convention and in the Party overall has deep respect for Chuck, and I hope we see him back on the national stage in the future.

    Personally, I was glad to see that many of the radicals who vowed not to attend after last night did show up this morning. I’m okay with the new LNC, and wish them the best in the work they have to do.

    By the way, the Georgia delegation voted for Ruwart unanimously.

  10. Perkins cut the Barf unity bullshit. If Barf was really interested in unity, then he wouldn’t be financially supporting big government republicans that are running against Libertarian candidates.

  11. He unfortunately got caught in the crossfire of a fight that he wasn’t a part of. After the first few days went so lopsided in favor of the reformers on Platform an the Barr/Root folks on nomination, the other factions needed a win somewhere… and Chuck took the hit.

    Wait just a minute. This really irks me. Fortunately I know that Chuck knows better than this nonsense, but _someone_ might believe it, so let me, as one of the coordinators of the Radical Caucus, set the record straight.

    Radicals did NOT ‘hit’ Chuck. While he is not part of our caucus, he has been a friend to it. I was _stunned_ at the slap in the face so many delegates gave him for all his dedication and his ability to speak to all sides.

    From my *radical* perspective, Jingozian is an unknown quantity, and there’s *no way* the Radical Caucus would have supported him in some pathetic attempt to ‘get a win somewhere’. Moulton’s loss was, in my opinion, a big *loss* for the radicals.

    Please be more careful of superficial ‘analysis’ of this sort, Perkins.

  12. I’m a radical and I voted for Chuck Moulton without hesitation: he is an extremely decent and honorable man whose soundness as a libertarian is unquestionable. When I saw the count, I was flabbergasted and extremely saddened, and never heard any radical express the slightest hostility or dislike for him.

  13. There was, by the way, some magnificent news during the LNC At-Large nominations: Kubby, at the start of his nomination speech for Ruwart, mentioned that he’d just received word that morning that all government charges pending against him related to his use of marijuana to control his cancer had been dismissed, and his record expunged. Since I was, at the time, going over remarks of my own on behalf of another candidate (Susan something-or-other, I forget her name), I wasn’t paying close attention to what he was saying, but the audience exploded in applause at his words, and I’m pretty sure he did say that it appeared the government’s harassment of him and his family had finally come to end. Let’s hope so.

  14. I’m really saddened that Jingo took Chucks place. I also find it weird too…wonder if Jingo had planned this all along?

  15. # disinter Says:
    May 26, 2008 at 10:08 pm edit

    Congrats to Keaton, Ruwart and Wrights!

    +1

  16. # Hugh Jass Says:
    May 26, 2008 at 11:01 pm edit

    Who replaced Barr on the LNC?

    Stewart Flood. Improvement.

  17. # John Schultz Says:
    May 26, 2008 at 11:11 pm edit

    My understanding is that Barr was re-elected to the LNC a couple days back.

    Originally, our region caucused and became a super-region with the addition of Texas and Louisiana, and Stewart (originally the alternate) and Barr were both elected as reps. Then, Florida withdrew from the region, many Florida members alleging that they were not informed of the time/place of the original caucus, and formed a “wormhole” region with the pacific northwest states.

    At this point, having received less votes than Flood, Barr was off the LNC.

  18. # disinter Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 12:39 am edit

    Libertarian Party DEAD at age 37

    http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?t=164025

    Not yet. Kubby is starting a “take back our party” list.

  19. # Arthur DiBianca Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 2:00 am edit

    Does anyone know what resolutions got passed?

    The only ones I remember passing were 1) Withdraw from Iraq 2) Moment of silence ..others may have passed but I was talking to people and in and out of the hall at that time.

  20. # Seth Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 2:35 am edit

    Similarly, does anyone know who was elected to the judicial committee? The convention adjourned before the results were announced.

    I don’t remember the whole list. Joe Cobb, David Nolan and Ruth Bennett are on it, but so is Allen Hacker. I think Nick Sarwark made it, but I could be wrong. Michelle did not make it – she also surprised me by saying she voted for Hacker.

    I’ll ask Joe when he wakes up.

  21. My heart goes out to Chuck Moulton. The poor guy wasn’t a “reformer” or a “radical”… just a really nice guy who tried to stay above the fray, be fair to everybody, and work hard to do a great job furthering the Party.

    My sentiments exactly.

    After the first few days went so lopsided in favor of the reformers on Platform an the Barr/Root folks on nomination, the other factions needed a win somewhere… and Chuck took the hit.

    That part is incorrect. The radicals I know supported Chuck, including me.
    Nothing against Jingo, I have no idea where he will fall in his LNC votes. But Chuck was one of the best LNC members. However, radicals are happy with how at large and region rep elections moved the voting power on the LNC more to our side. And the Judicial Committee at first glance has a radical majority as well.

    He seemed a bit hurt from the stage, but I don’t there was any malice involved… it was just politics.

    I agree. I asked a few people why they voted for Jingozian, and they said it was because he is a successful business owner and Chuck is a student. That does not sound like a radical sentiment to me. I voted for Chuck.


    I think everyone at the convention and in the Party overall has deep respect for Chuck, and I hope we see him back on the national stage in the future.

    I agree.


    Personally, I was glad to see that many of the radicals who vowed not to attend after last night did show up this morning.

    Kubby pulled of a miracle and held it together. Otherwise a big chunk of the party would have walked.


    By the way, the Georgia delegation voted for Ruwart unanimously.

    Awesome!

  22. # Susan Hogarth Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 6:55 am edit

    He unfortunately got caught in the crossfire of a fight that he wasn’t a part of. After the first few days went so lopsided in favor of the reformers on Platform an the Barr/Root folks on nomination, the other factions needed a win somewhere… and Chuck took the hit.

    Wait just a minute. This really irks me. Fortunately I know that Chuck knows better than this nonsense, but _someone_ might believe it, so let me, as one of the coordinators of the Radical Caucus, set the record straight.

    Radicals did NOT ‘hit’ Chuck. While he is not part of our caucus, he has been a friend to it. I was _stunned_ at the slap in the face so many delegates gave him for all his dedication and his ability to speak to all sides.

    From my *radical* perspective, Jingozian is an unknown quantity, and there’s *no way* the Radical Caucus would have supported him in some pathetic attempt to ‘get a win somewhere’. Moulton’s loss was, in my opinion, a big *loss* for the radicals.

    Please be more careful of superficial ‘analysis’ of this sort, Perkins.

    Exactly!

  23. # Less Antman Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 10:58 am edit

    There was, by the way, some magnificent news during the LNC At-Large nominations: Kubby, at the start of his nomination speech for Ruwart, mentioned that he’d just received word that morning that all government charges pending against him related to his use of marijuana to control his cancer had been dismissed, and his record expunged. Since I was, at the time, going over remarks of my own on behalf of another candidate (Susan something-or-other, I forget her name), I wasn’t paying close attention to what he was saying, but the audience exploded in applause at his words, and I’m pretty sure he did say that it appeared the government’s harassment of him and his family had finally come to end. Let’s hope so.

    Best news I’ve heard in a week

    Congrats to Steve!

  24. # titaniumgirl Says:
    May 27, 2008 at 11:23 am edit

    I’m really saddened that Jingo took Chucks place. I also find it weird too…wonder if Jingo had planned this all along?

    I don’t know which way Jingo will vote, so I am not pro or anti Jingo on LNC yet. But I’m sad to see Chuck go. I hope he runs for chair in 2010 or 12.

  25. About the resolutions, I can tell you one that didn’t pass: NOTHING on the drug war. Sarwark attempted to bring it up more than once and in different forms only to be shot down each time.

    And about Judicial Comm., I voted for Hacker because I heard that he’s not terrible. I also voted for people I thought very principled- you know, Nolan, Bennett, Sarwark, Cobb and myself. In retrospect, it’s probably good that I didn’t get on because there may be some issues that come up that I’m not ready to handle. Better to have more experienced party members fighting for us right now, I think.

  26. I felt terrible for Chuck but he had my radical vote.

  27. wonder if Jingo had planned this all along?

    Considering he had planned the stunt with Gravel for two months before the convention, I wouldn’t put it past him.

    There are few in the LP who has the dedication Chuck does. The Vice-Chair results are a loss for the Libertarian Party.

  28. I also find it weird too…wonder if Jingo had planned this all along?

    Considering that Jingozian had planned his lame stunt with Gravel for at least a couple months, I wouldn’t be surprised.

    I can’t say how Jingozian will do as Vice-Chair, but I can say that few in the LP has as much dedication and intelligence as Chuck. Chuck’s loss is a loss for the LP. I hope he stays active and runs for a leadership position in 2010.

  29. I am happy to see so many good folks take seats on the LNC. The next few years will be interesting ones, to say the least.

    I like Jingozian, but just like his aiming for presidency, aiming for an LNC leadership post seems a bit much to start. And Chuck Moulton is a fine fellow.

  30. BTW, I will be contributing at http://letlibertyring.blogspot.com/ if anyone cares.

  31. Brian Holtz reports at Libertarian Intelligence

    Radicals won three of the five LNC at-large seats, as Dr. Mary Ruwart and R. Lee Wrights join returning incumbents Angela Keaton, Admiral Michael Colley, and Pat Dixon. Well-known and principled Libertarians were elected to fill the seven Judicial Committee seats: Ruth Bennett (subsequently elected Chair), David Nolan, Nick Sarwark, Allen Hacker, Tom Stevens, Travis Nicks, and Joe Cobb. Thus the LNC and Judicial Committee seemed well-prepared to ensure that our new presidential ticket will hew to the comprehensive principles of our repaired Platform.

    The convention passed one substantive resolution, a brief one offered by Bruce Dovner citing Bush’s lies and cronies and demanding immediate withdrawal from Iraq.

    (Holtz had lies and cronies in scare quotes, but I happen to agree with the resolution).

  32. No telling how “planned” the Jingozian run was.

    Considering the fact that he had been planning his stunt with Gravel for months, there’s no telling what Jingozian had calculated.

    However, one thing is certain: there are few in the LP who have as much dedication as Chuck Moulton. His loss is a loss for the entire Libertarian Party. I hope he’ll stay active.

  33. Add me to the list of people who are disappointed that Chuck did not win re-election to the Vice Chair. Chuck is a hard-working, fair-minded gentleman who has busted his butt working to keep the party united and to build bonds between Libertarians — even in the midst of severe strains between factions. I will definitely be working to ensure that he gets any leadership position in the LP that he strives for in the future.

  34. Holtz reports

    LNC Re-Constitutes APRC

    At the Libertarian National Committee meeting today, Mary Ruwart moved to reconstitute the Advertising and Publications Review Committee, seconded by R. Lee Wrights. Ruwart said “We recently had a press release that recommended more government, and if it had been reviewed it probably wouldn’t have gone out.” Secretary Bob Sullentrup pointed out that the APRC has been created and abolished multiple times, and said that if it gets reconstituted it should be done in a way that won’t require abolishing it yet again.

    Ruwart suggested that the APRC be created and then its chartering language be improved. Wrights objected to hearing from staff about potential problems in the operational details of the APRC, and said “This committee does the business of the party, not staff.” LP Media Director Andrew Davis said that even a 12-hour turnaround time can miss a news cycle. Redpath said he had a policy of reviewing “anything that might be controversial”, but he admitted it did not happen with the recent controversial press release. The APRC was re-created, with Aaron Starr and Pat Dixon voting no. Its members will be Wrights, Ruwart, Starr, Jingozian, Flood, and they will have no authority until they create and win approval for new chartering language for it.

    The Executive Committee was populated with the four officers and Mark Hinkle, Michael Colley, and Jim Lark.

  35. […] from LFV Comments: Less Antman on Steve Kubby The following was written by Less Antman in the Last Free Voice comments […]

  36. Didn’t Jingozian endorse Gravel after he was eliminated? I’m quite surprised he would be elected as VC.

  37. Susan and Paulie –

    You’re misreading my original comment about Chuck. I didn’t point a finger at “the radicals”, I pointed generally at “other factions”… plural. Jingo benefited from Gravel’s endorsement, and the fact that Jingo and Gravel’s folks turned out in disproportionately large numbers. I did NOT mean to imply that there was an “organized plot” by the Radical Caucus to boot Chuck, but the process did play out organically by various voters disappointed with yesterday. I think Redpath’s endorsement speech for Chuck was ultimately a kiss of death given the mood in the room.

  38. Not yet. Kubby is starting a “take back our party” list.

    One already exists:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lpradicals/

  39. Michelle did not make it – she also surprised me by saying she voted for Hacker.

    Michelle? Weird.

  40. I did vote for Hacker because I learned that he wasn’t the worst thing on the J.C. I don’t regret it even since I learned he trashed me earlier today. I had my reasons for not acting all ready for the role myself, one of which is that I’m having marital discord over my itsy bitsy role in the LP as it is.

  41. Thanks to everyone who supported me for Vice-Chair!

    It looks like a very strong LNC. The winning At-Large candidates are exactly who I would have voted for if I had been able to (although Robert’s Rules allows the acting chair to vote on ballot votes, I was not permitted to vote while presiding). I met all the regional representatives and alternates and they seem very capable as well.

    I supported Bill Redpath for re-election, though I also believe Ruth would have done a very good job as Chair and I think Ernie is a great asset to the Party and the movement in other capacities.

    Bob Sullentrup is the most capable Secretary we’ve ever had. Aaron Starr’s budgets are very clear and detailed.

    I’m confident Jingozian will be good for the Party as Vice-Chair: his marketing and business experience as well as his perspective on the presidential campaign process will serve us well.

    I’m going to focus on school for a few years. I’ll run again for the LNC in 2010 or 2012.

  42. I think Redpath’s endorsement speech for Chuck was ultimately a kiss of death given the mood in the room.

    Just one minor correction to this thread:
    Bill Redpath did not give any of my nominating speeches. My nominators were myself, Dr. Jim Lark, and Angela Keaton. I was very honored to have their support. Several delegates told me they voted for me specifically because “If Jim and Angela support you, that’s good enough for me.”

    But if Bill had nominated me I would have been very proud to have his support, not run from it. I don’t agree with every decision Bill made as Chair, but he is one of the hardest working activists in the Party and I value his opinion.

  43. Chuck, thank you very much for your fine work.

  44. FYI, here are the regional reps (from memory):

    Region 1: Tony Ryan (rep), George Squyres (alt)
    Region 2: Mark Hinkle (rep), Scott Lieberman (alt)
    Region 3: Rebeca Sink-Burris (rep), Bob Jackson (alt)
    Region 4: Stewart Flood (rep), Heather Scott (alt)
    Region 5 (5S): Dr. Jim Lark (rep), Berlie Etzel (alt)
    Region 6: Julie Fox (rep), Jake Porter (alt)
    Region 7 (5N): Dan Karlan (rep), Hardy Macia (alt)

    I’m not certain those will be the final region numberings, but the scheme above preserves existing numbers as much as possible. Because the northeast formed a double region with the mid-Atlantic and used a regional agreement to be autonomous, they might use a North/South numbering.

    Note also that three former presidential candidates are on the LNC: Mary Ruwart, Michael Jingozian, and Bob Jackson.

  45. Oh cool, I’ll have to give congrats to Bob Jackson then. I’m pretty happy to hear that. I might see him next week as I planned on going to our local meeting.

  46. Sorry about that, I got confused. Redpath’s speech came AFTER the vote, thanking Chuck for his work over the past term. I’m still half-exhausted.

  47. Oops, I forgot a region. Sorry.

    Region 8: Rachel Hawkridge (rep), Steve LaBianca (alt)

  48. Not yet. Kubby is starting a “take back our party” list.

    One already exists:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lpradicals/

    (re-posting since this response mysteriously disappeared earlier)

  49. Not yet. Kubby is starting a “take back our party” list.

    One already exists:

    groups.yahoo.com/group/lpradicals/

Leave a Reply

