Steve G.

Just For Fun

In Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Libertarian Politics on May 26, 2008 at 1:28 pm
  1. Bwahahahaha!!

    That movie was hilarious. If anyone hasn’t seen it, you need to make it a point to do so.

  2. Ironic, considering fringe candidate Alan Keyes was also interviewed.

  3. That’s the first laugh I’ve had since yesterday. I was dreaming last night about how we can keep the LP from turning into the republican party. I still don’t have the answers, and I wish it wasn’t on my mind constantly.

    Somebody make me forget what happened yesterday!!!!

  4. Yeah I woke up this morning and the light bulb went off in my head.

    “There has to be a Bob Barr/Borat clip on you tube.”

    TG-I was hoping this would give some comic relief🙂

    ENM-I’m probably the last person to say this to you considering our conversations, but don’t give up on the LP. We need people like you for the future battles.

  5. Titaniumgirl: there is plenty you can do to prevent the LP from becoming the GOP!

    1. Don’t quit and be sure to vote a straight LP ticket in November.

    2. Form or join and internal pressure group, such as a caucus that represents your views.

    3. Be active in your local LP affiliate.

    4. Find common cause with groups outside the LP, such as the ACLU (I am a card-carrying member) and antiwar groups. Encourage them to join.

  6. Yeah, I gotta agree with Gene here with points 2-4 and part of point #1. It is very important to support local LP candidates this year. Reach out to the “Ron Paul” crowd and convince them to continue the “revolution” by voting Libertarian.

    As for our national ticket, I’m not sure 24 hours later what I may do. Again, Barr/Root will not get my money or my time, but ultimately, they may get my vote. Its just too soon to say right now.

  7. Gene,
    Good advice, but I just don’t see myself casting a vote for Barr/Root. I have not voted that way in quite some time. Last time I voted for Prez I proudly voted for Badnarik. I have been able to be proud of that since the day I casted the vote. I take principle very seriously and never vote for a lesser of 2 evils or in this case it may be 3 evils.

    I voted for Ron Paul in our last primary, that felt good too.

    I’m not about winning, I’m about doing what I think is right, and what I can live with.
    One day I can tell my grandkids – hey that Ron Paul guy that you think is so cool – I voted for him and I rallied for him. I know I will still be proud 30 years from now about that.

    That’s a story I look forward to telling.

  8. Titaniumgirl: there is plenty you can do to prevent the LP from becoming the GOP!

    Most importantly: don’t vote for or otherwise support Bob Barf.

  9. I saw Barr on CNN this morning, already being a two-faced liar.

    He defended DOMA, blatantly contradicting all the apologies and expressions of sympathy and understanding he

    offered at the debate in Denver. He also said that DOMA only protected states from having to recognize gay

    marriages made in other states, ignoring the provision against federal recognition of gay marriages and civil

    unions.

    It’s time to start organizing Libertarians Against Barr.

    — Via David Tomlin on Bob Barf Watch.

  10. When I first made mention of this on ThirdPartyWatch.com — back when I was a regular contributor — I was literally thrown to the lions.

    It was kinda funny, but let the record show that Joey Dauben first brought the Barr-Borat clip to everyone’s attention first😉

    It’s still funny, though.

    But I’m backing Barr/Root in 2008. The best LP ticket in history.

  11. But I’m backing Barr/Root in 2008. The best LP ticket in history.

    Well, you ARE are Republican. Color me surprised.

  12. Well Joey, I saw the video on many political blogs, but if you want to lay claim to being first, be my guest. I simply dusted it off for a cheap laugh.

  13. Joey,
    You are a Repbublican and you had (or still have) a podcast with Eric Dondero, so yeah, I can see why you are happy.

  14. “That’s the first laugh I’ve had since yesterday. I was dreaming last night about how we can keep the LP from turning into the republican party. I still don’t have the answers, and I wish it wasn’t on my mind constantly.

    Somebody make me forget what happened yesterday!!!!”

    My sentiments exactly.

  15. For any of you who speak Russian, this is how the ex-USSR press is covering the Barr nomination.

    Жертва Бората (Borat’s victim)—about Barr’s candidacy

    http://gazeta.ru/politics/election_usa_2008/2008/05/26_a_2735420.shtml

    My dad emailed me the link this morning. He is having a field day mocking me for being an LP member with this.

  16. titaniumgirl Says:
    May 26, 2008 at 3:43 pm edit

    That’s the first laugh I’ve had since yesterday. I was dreaming last night about how we can keep the LP from turning into the republican party. I still don’t have the answers, and I wish it wasn’t on my mind constantly.

    Kubby has a new “take back our party” list.

  17. LNC election results
    http://www.independentpoliticalreport.com/2008/05/lnc-election-results
    May 26th, 2008 · 31 Comments

    Bill Redpath was re-elected chairman after two rounds of balloting. He led the first round with 183 votes vs. 113 for Ruth Bennett and 70 for Ernie Hancock. Most predicted Hancock supporters would rally behind Ms. Bennett, but that was not the case. Redpath won the second round 204-147.

    The race for vice-chair included a surprise entrant, Mike Jingozian. He defeated the previously unopposed incumbent, Chuck Moulton, by a vote count of 224-147.

    The candidates elected at-large members of the LNC were Mary Ruwart (221 votes), Lee Wrights (196), Pat Dixon (194), Michael Colley (191), and Angela Keaton (188).

    Bob Sullentrup and Aaron Starr were elected secretary and treasurer, respectively.

  18. Barr/Root=Boor/Ratt (pronounced Borat)

  19. Titaniumgirl: there is plenty you can do to prevent the LP from becoming the GOP!

    1. Don’t quit and be sure to vote a straight LP ticket in November.

    Yes on “don’t quit”, but consider a non-vote, write-in vote, or voting for McKinney in the presidential slot. If you write in, make sure you know the rules in your state for properly marking and counting write in votes.


    2. Form or join and internal pressure group, such as a caucus that represents your views.

    3. Be active in your local LP affiliate.

    4. Find common cause with groups outside the LP, such as the ACLU (I am a card-carrying member) and antiwar groups. Encourage them to join.

    Exactly.

  20. # Jason Gatties Says:
    May 26, 2008 at 4:15 pm edit

    Yeah, I gotta agree with Gene here with points 2-4 and part of point #1. It is very important to support local LP candidates this year. Reach out to the “Ron Paul” crowd and convince them to continue the “revolution” by voting Libertarian.

    As for our national ticket, I’m not sure 24 hours later what I may do. Again, Barr/Root will not get my money or my time, but ultimately, they may get my vote. Its just too soon to say right now.

    My sentiments exactly. I’ll watch and see what kind of campaign Barr/Root run. I might vote for them if I like what I hear.

  21. Ron Paul clearly stated he would also have voted for DOMA in 1996 (he joined
    congress again in 1997). Paul is one of the most stable and reliable congressmen, yet he has also changed policy about the death sentence and also switched parties from Republican to Libertarian to Republican (he is a member of three parties, I think). Does this make him a flip flopper? Is he evil?

    The aim of the LP should be to convince people to change positions. If you find a candidate you agree with 80% on the issues, then you have found an ideal candidate. But it seem that some in the LP want to critify every convert about past positions. It is easy for someone that never had the responsibility of being in congress dealing with different strategies and pressures etc. to say he or she took the right decision. In 2003 Bush enjoyed about a 80% popularity and most people approved the Iraq war (I was strongly against it) and most congress representatives from either party voted for it. 6 Republican congressmen among Paul had the courage and wisdom to take the right decision, which was very unpopular at the time. Barr did not conveniently change his position over the war and Patriot Act only a few months ago, no from own insight and persuasion, he changed his position AND actively worked towards repealing the Patriot Act, e.g. not only speaking and writing against it, but also using all his legal skills to rally against it. You DO have to give him credit for that, where it is due. And he did apologize, I can see a youtube on his website and they would not post it for all to see. it take courage to admit that you were wrong.

    Apropo the DOMA issue and idea, only in a few countries, Belgium, Spain, SOuth Africa, Canada etc. is gay/lesbian marriage recognized. In other Western European countries (which are socially much more liberal than in the US), they accept civil unions, but not marriages for homosexual people
    In most African and Asian countries there is a STRONG resistance against
    understanding marriage other than between a man and a woman. Does this mean all these countries and their governments are fascists??? Hardly

    Also, do some “radicals” really think they are always correct with every statement? Are they also prepared tot ake a hard look at their positions? or are they always right? (Sounds like hubris/arrogance to me, which is one reason why the US is not liked in many other countries). Politics is a human sciences, there is sometimes more than one valid answer.

Leave a Reply

