Steve G.

Tucker Carlson to announce last-minute LP presidential candidacy?

In Libertarian, Libertarian Convention, Libertarian Party-US, Media, Politics, Presidential Candidates on May 23, 2008 at 1:58 am

A number of sites, including Reason Hit and Run, are reporting that delegates have received calls from a polling firm today, and the LP options they were offered included Tucker Carlson as a presidential candidate.

Is Tucker going to throw his hat in the ring for the LP presidential nomination?  If so, why did he wait until the convention to do so?

I have criticized Bob Barr for announcing a last-minute candidacy, and I cannot help but also wonder why Tucker would also wait until the last minute to announce, if in fact that is what he is doing.

Can he walk away with the LP presidential nomination?  Given the fighting between factions and Tucker’s name recognition, I think he could.

What do you think?

  1. First off, I think this is just rumor.

    However…

    Given the fact that heading into this weekend, it looks like Root or Barr may win, if nominating Tucker meant losing those two idiots, I’m all for it.

  2. Rumor !

  3. I suspect it has already been arranged for Carlson to be Barr’s running mate and that the “presidential” polling is merely for show. Just a hunch.

  4. Anon: I would be extremely unhappy if the LP ended up with both a presidential and a vice-presidential candidate who announced at the last possible minute.

    I call shenanigans, if that’s the case.

  5. Chuck Baldwin did that with the Constitution Party and won easily. Not sure what the issue is here.

    I mean shit, we’ve had a year of Kubby, Smith, Phillies, Root & to be honest…wasn’t excited.

    Ruwart entered the race fairly late as well and nobody really makes that an issue. (I’m of course a Ruwart supporter at this point but she did enter late)

  6. As far as Tucker being a VP, what exactly is the problem with that ENM? The VP gets voted on after the Presidential nominee is named. VP candidates at the last minute really isn’t all that unusual. Granted most times they don’t win, but it has happened before.

  7. Tucker is goin to come and endorse Barr, imo. This is a push poll. It gets people thinking, “It’d be cool to have Tucker!” and then he comes and endorses Barr, which is good for Barr.

    Another part of the NeoConspiracy.

    Notice I did not call Tucker, nor Stephen Gordon, a neocon. I’m including the disclaimer: “To the best of my knowledge, Stephen Gordon is not a neocon” on all future posts.

  8. It’s a problem because, like Bob Barr, no one had any real opportunity to look into his background. Look at what we found on Bob Barr in just a couple of weeks. In my experience, when someone announces at the last possible minute, it’s because they know they cannot withstand scrutiny.

    That being said, I’d still rather have Tucker Carlson than Bob Barr any day, because it’s hard to believe that Tucker’s background could be any worse than Barr’s.

  9. LOL, GE!

    So has Steve Gordon said anything to you, or does it appear that someone was just trying to stir up trouble by telling you that? I actually woke up this morning wondering about it, hehehe.

    I agree, SteveG is not a “neocon” (whatever the hell that is, LOL) and I don’t recall you ever saying otherwise. I may disagree with Steve’s choice of candidate, but there is also no doubt in my mind that his heart is in the right place.

    I still think Steve is extremely unlikely to become aggressive toward anyone, so I’m curious whether someone is just trying to stir up trouble, and what they would gain from doing that.

  10. Who is Tucker Carlson?

Leave a Reply

