Steve G.

Attempting To Kick A Bad Habit

In Health, Personal Responsibility on May 23, 2008 at 3:13 pm

I have so much respect for anyone who can quit smoking or quit whatever it is you may be addicted to. I use to smoke and I was given some advice. If you want to quit smoking, start chewing tobacco (or “snuff” in my case) and you can get off that very easily. Well 10 years later, instead of a pack a day smoker, I’m now a can a day “dipper”.

I’ve tried to quit a few times cold turkey but that didn’t last very long. My wife has always been pretty supportive of me and wants me to quit, but she understands how tough it is. Anyways, this week I decided to quit again, this time with a different method. I bought some “Hooch Herbal Snuff” online because someone told me it helped him kick the habit. I was a bit skeptical because I’ve tried “mint snuff” before and it tasted like ass. But, anything is worth a shot.

The 12 cans I ordered arrived yesterday. I tried it out and let me say this, this stuff tastes like the same tobacco I chew. Thats great actually, tricking the mind is half the battle. It has a bit of cayenne pepper as well, so it gives it a bit of a kick. You can even work up a good spit with this stuff!

Anyways, my plan is to alternate between the real stuff and fake stuff for awhile and slowly ween myself off. The only problem is, the guy who recommended this to me has been hooked on the fake stuff for like 3 years now. Guess the oral addiction is hard to break as well. But if I end up only chewing this fake stuff for 10 years, hell, I’d be willing to do that if it means extending the time I get to spend with my wife in the years to come.

I’m a bit jittery, but I think I can do this. Much respect to anyone who has kicked a bad habit, it’s not easy at all.

  1. The problem many people have with tobacco addiction is the need to find a viable alternative. I have tried to quit smoking. My problem with quitting smoking is finding a different way to calm my nerves and killing a little bit of time.

  2. I quit smoking once, when I realized I was pregnant with Elf. That was easy, relatively speaking, because obviously continuing to smoke would be extremely harmful to my then-unborn child.

    The worst mistake I ever made was starting to smoke again, when Elf was a few months old. I didn’t smoke in the house or around him, but even sneaking an occasional smoke on the patio was enough to get me hooked again. It’s especially hard to quit because I’m used to smoking while I write, and of course writing is how I pay the bills. Strangely, I can sit and read a book for hours on end, and never even have it occur to me to smoke.

    So I feel your pain, and I’m definitely rooting for you.🙂

  3. I’ve never been a tobacco user myself but I’ve heard that there are now prescription drugs on the market that work remarkably well.

  4. People usually say “ewww” when they hear I chew. But as my wife said, I’m only harming myself, not others.

  5. Chantix worked for me.

  6. I also am free from nicotine after 30+ years thanks to the prescription Chantix. Ask your medical professional about it. You also need the support of family, friends, or an addiction recovery group. Research sites on the Internet for a start. This is not a do-it-yourself project, but it is absolutely doable. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

