Steve G.

So…what do you think?

In Libertarian on September 28, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Not sure what to make of this. I have multiple copies sent to me by a whole bunch of people, but don’t know anything beyond what’s here. Anyone have a clue?

Oh, yeah, another thing: gas shortages all over the place, 1970s style.

Just how fucked are we? Your thoughts here, please.

  1. Gas Shortages–read The Oil Drum http://theoildrum.com

    In short, small gas stockpiles and two hurricanes one coming through just after the other was being recovered from mean that gas production has been knocked well down, but consumption has not. The in pipelines etc is down to 178 million barrels of gas, and the first 170 million are used to keep pipelines from getting vapor lock (oversimplifiation).

    There is not a local shortage in MA — I omit the odd local station that mostly sells racing gasoline — but the southeast is a different question.

  2. What about the martial law thing? Also overblown, I hope?

    All I know is I got about 50 copies of this in my inbox, haven’t had time to figure out what’s going on. I guess that’s what happens when I get off this freakin’ thing for 12 hours.

  3. I’ve now learned the reference to “martial law” in the above video clip is supposedly Capitol Hill slang for a special expedited approval process for the bailout (rather than literal martial law).

  4. Thanks Brad!

    Where did you learn this?

  5. Maybe it’s a CA thing, I dunno, but right now we are not in shortages and are actually at 3.48/gal (what I filled up for this morning).

    Any ideas why?

    BTW, not gloating here, but I do wonder why the differences and why now CA, which is usually higher than the rest of the nation, is suddenly lower.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

