Steve G.

Tom Knapp posts campaign position on immigration

In Congress, Immigration, Libertarian, Libertarian Party-US, Politics on June 28, 2008 at 6:16 pm

Tom Knapp, Libertarian candidate for Congress (and Boston Tea Party Vice Presidential candidate) has posted a position on immigration on his campaign site. Here is an excerpt:

“Know-Nothingism” is a perennial trend in American politics. It’s a convenient tool for drumming up baseless fears and turning those fears into money and votes. Unfortunately, even a few Libertarian candidates for public office have yielded to the temptation to exploit it.

Unlike my opponent, US Representative Todd Akin, I decline to cater to the politics of fear. I support the most “open border” policy possible. Peaceful individuals should be able to cross the border “through the front door” at any port of entry with no more scrutiny than you or I receive when we board a bus or enter a bank (which, if you think about it, is considerable scrutiny — surveillance cameras are endemic to American society now and facial recognition software linked to databases of known criminal suspects is becoming more and more common).

The facts are indisputable. Let’s talk about the things the fearmongers don’t want you to know.

Click here to read his entire issue statement.

  1. Bravo Knapp!

    Now, if you could please verify the following:

    “Their hope is that jobs in the WAR campaign will be followed by jobs in the LP at the national level.

    In his comment posted on the WAR article Stephen Gordon said that both he and Knapp are supported by the same organization. He provides a link to United Liberty. Notice that the site endorses Bob Barr for the nomination. Not only is Barr endorsed he is the only one with a listing. Look at the About US page. You will notice that the rhetoric is so bland as to give no one anything to think about. No solutions are suggested there.”

    http://www.libertyforall.net/?p=1297

  2. Nicely articulated, Tom. I wish more Libertarians were devoted to actual principles like these, than to knee jerk worship of certain politicians or a need to prove themselves iconoclastic.

  3. disinter,

    I’m not sure what you mean by “verify,” because to be honest I can’t figure out what Melinda is trying to say.

    She seems to possibly be implying that I was an employee of Wayne Allyn Root’s presidential nomination campaign, and that my purpose in working for Root’s campaign was to secure a job at LPHQ. If that’s what she means, then she’s wrong on both counts:

    – I was never employed by Root’s campaign. I always vocally and publicly opposed his candidacy for the LP’s presidential nomination. I did do one bit of writing for Root, completely unsolicited, that he used to improve one of his position papers. He didn’t ask me to do it — I just sent him an email with a suggested better phrasing, and he used it. My payment was his “thank you,” which was more than enough.

    – I’ve never applied for employment at LPHQ and have no intention of doing so. Several fellow LP members have encouraged me to apply for known openings in the past, but I don’t want to move to DC and I don’t think my skill set matches LPHQ’s needs.

    The comment that Melinda refers to from Gordon relates to William Lawson, a “Ron Paul Republican” candidate for Congress in North Carolina. It’s located here.

    If you read a few comments down that thread, you’ll find out that I didn’t know United Liberty had been “supporting me” as well as Lawson by linking to my campaign site … and shortly after that comment exchange, they stopped doing so by mutual agreement. I didn’t want to link my campaign to Ron Paul or “Ron Paul Republicans” [1] and neither I nor the folks at United Liberty, on considering the subject, much thought they’d much want their campaigns linked with mine.

    Nothing against United Liberty — I had initially been asked to blog for them and had planned on doing so, but the project quickly took a shape that I just don’t fit into. A sidebar link from a web site is nice, but I don’t think it really qualifies as material support; nor have I received any financial contributions from United Liberty, nor to the best of my knowledge did any of my campaign contributors discover my campaign via the United Liberty site.

    Regards,
    Tom Knapp

    [1] I don’t have anything in particular against libertarians who are seeking office as “Ron Paul Republicans,” although I think they’re wasting their time. The issue for me is hypocrisy. After my harsh (some would say unreasonably so) criticisms of Ron Paul, it would be hypocritical on my part to try to ride his coattails. I welcome the support of Ron Paul supporters who think my campaign deserves their support, but I’m not going to try to snow them into believing that I’m a Paul supporter myself. That would be slimy and dishonest.

  4. Good to see Knapp stands for freedom of movement.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

